We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
190
167
49
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
167
49
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree tea and coffeebedouin stylepack a lunchtop floortraditional breakfasthot waterhomely hotelgreat budget hotelvisiting petrawadi rumpacked lunchseven wonders bedouin camproof terracemorning and eveningoverlooking petrahummusrooms are basic
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 423 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We arrived at 2 am (flight into Amman delayed) and were warmly received by their patient driver and driven to Petra.Very kind and flexible staff. Had a great day in Petra and was booked with a great driver to take us on to Aquaba / Red Sea next day. Room was clean. Heater and hot water adequate. Food was tasty and inexpensive. View over Petra excellent. If you want simple, reasonable price, and very friendly and helpful staff, this is your place.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Set aside the prime location, delicious food and rustic atmosphere, Hussein and the crew literally went out of their way to make us feel welcome, accommodated and enthused about our trip to Petra. Hussein even chauffeured us around on a number of occasions. If you're looking for bang for your buck and a place to both rest your head and get a dose of local culture while in town to explore Petra, this place has your name all over it!

Room Tip: triple occupancy available
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Run by a "band of brothers" with no experience in the hotel field, this place came as a shock after check-in. No heat, no hot water, no WiFi in rooms, no TV reception, no daily cleaning of rooms . . . are you kidding me? The bathroom was so small, you had to wiggle sideways between the toilet and sink to get into the moldy shower and find no soap, no hot water 20 hours of the day, and towels that were rags. The bed linens weren't much better and there the floors were bare and cold. In the hallways and the breakfast room, however, there were plenty of rugs to trip over with uneven floors to boot. No telephones in rooms, very little English spoken, lousy breakfast except for the freshly scrambled eggs. We checked out early and went to a much better, civilized hotel. One more thing--my friend hung up some clothes to dry on the patio and someone came and threw them on the dusty floor for no apparent reason.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hdlions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Rocky Mountain, the roof room is very special and we appreciated the free tea and coffee.
However I think the room descriptions on Booking.com are misleading. As someone below mentions the room description states a flat screen TV which is not the case, as we didn't switch a TV on from beginning to end of our trip to Jordan this wasn't an issue, however we were certainly surprised that our "private bathroom" was actually two doors away down the hall.
We mentioned our disappointment the staff and eventually for the third/ last night of our stay we were able to move to a lovely room with en suite.

Room Tip: Room 309 was the 4 bed room that we initially had, this was very cramped (not enough room to walk between the beds) and the bathroom was down the hall. Room 306 which we were moved to for our last night was beautiful, spacious, lovely ethnic furnishings and en suite bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonefielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Rocky Mountain Hotel for the weekend. The lobby was welcoming, and a lot of young travelers in their 20s and 30s hung out there in the evenings to check their email on the free wifi. There's also a computer available for checking email, if you don't have your iphone or laptop with you.

The furnishings and fixtures in the room were a little on the old and worn side, but the mattress on the bed was very comfortable. The room was not the cleanest room I've ever stayed in, but it was clean enough.

The location of the hotel is convenient. It's not right in the center of the tourist area, but you can walk there in about ten minutes. I thought it was nice to be away from all of the activity--the hotel was quieter at night.

There's a great, festively-decorated lounge on the top of the hotel with a beautiful view of the city. They provide a free breakfast there, although the offerings are rather meager. There was no filtered water, the coffee was instant, and the juice was a very sugary mystery drink. You could have yogurt, cucumbers, hummus, bread, Laughing Cow cheese, or eggs to eat. Each evening, they offer a fixed menu with local fare if you are interested in eating dinner there. We had maklouba one night, which was delicious.

Overall, the Rocky Mountain Hotel is a good three-star hotel, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEOleprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews