We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with it; really close, very pleasant host.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was an affordable place just up the hill from Petra; nice view of the entrance to Petra. Older, but pretty clean. The staff, and Jane in particular was very gracious. If you're traveling here from Aqaba (Eilat), I definitely recommend Aref H. Salamen for the taxi. He's also a guide form Aqaba, Wadi Rum, Dead Sea, Madaba. But we found that one of the best parts of the trip was just the ride with him from Aqaba up to Petra—he was very sincere and knew so much about the country and its history/government/etc., that we found it to be a really educational and endearing part of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking across the city and onto Petra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoubleNickelOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 370 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff are very helpful, the beds are very clean and comfortable, location is not great as it is not right in the centre. Food is ok, very simple but good. I think the rooms are quite expensive for what it is but Jordan is very expensive in general for tourist. Overall I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianavelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thank you Jane and the team at Rocky Mountain Hotel, good food, comfortable room with great heating (which was much needed in March).
Believe all the good comments in previous reviews, this hotel is exactly what you need when visiting Petra. Don't worry about being nearer the gate or in town, after walking around Petra you will want to be in bed after dinner, also they will drive you there and pick you up about 5.00pm.
You could not get better service and help with arranging your next move anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel has everything a traveller needs - friendly and helpful staff (especially Jane), comfortable beds with clean bathrooms and hot water and a delicious breakfast. We really appreciated the extras: free tea and coffee available all day, the communal area decorated with comfortable sofas with a magnificent view of the mountains and the sunset, a free shuttle taking us to and from Petra Gate and a chance to taste typical Jordanian meals such as maqluba and kefta (8 JD extra per person). I would recommend this to everyone looking for a a budget hotel without compromising on quality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiziri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A good budget place to use a base for exploring Petra. We stayed in a double room which had air con, TV (with FoxMovies!), comfy bed and a decent size ensuite. Everything was very clean and the views over Wadi Musa were INCREDIBLE! Jane (the British owner) was really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was decent and the free tea and coffee available all day was a nice touch. The best feature to the hotel is the communal area on the top floor (where breakfast is served) which has a panoramic view over Wadi Musa and is the perfect place to rest your feet after a tiring day exploring Petra. The only downside to the property was the location. It's at the top of the hill and so walking to/from the town can be troublesome. They do provide a free shuttle to/from the entrance to Petra but if you decide to eat in town for dinner (ask Jane for some good recommendations) then you need to be prepared to walk up the steep hill!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tplday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

After spending a couple of days in the cold and hiking further north, by the time I got to Wadi Musa I was looking for somewhere quiet, with good food, a comfortable bed and most importantly a decent shower. Travelling on a budget, I also needed somewhere that had rooms at a reasonable price.

I had read about the Rocky Mountain hotel and asked my driver to drop me there. He said it was far away from the Petra gate, but this didn't matter at all in the end. The hotel has a free shuttle in both the morning and the evening to/from Petra. Or you can a taxi there and back for quite cheap.

I got a single room with ensuite at this hotel, and it cost me the price of a single room in a hostel. The shower was hot with good pressure. The bed was comfortable and the room wasn't too hot or cold.

I didn't make a reservation for the hotel, I just turned up and was lucky they had space for me. Unfortunately it meant I couldn't get a room with a view, but you could go and sit or eat in the restaurant upstairs which has views over the town and towards the mountains of Petra.

The staff at the hotel were both friendly and helpful. As I was travelling solo, they spoke with other travellers for me to see who wanted to do similar trips so we could share transport and save costs.

The food at the restaurant upstairs was also very good (bedouin style food) and there was plenty to go round.

A great spot if you are looking for a place to spend a few days in Petra, relax, feel comfortable and don't mind being away from the main centre of town (which is really only a ten-minute walk).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was with my mom and her friend in Petra Dec 2011, for the 3rd time. the other times the hotel was always the only disappointing experience in Petra. So this time we made an effort in finding a good hotel, with warm rooms and hot water! Not only did we get a good room for 3 people with nice heating (it is cold in Petra in the winter) and nice hot water, but we also met lovely people! The owner are amazingly friendly and helpful. I am sure I will go back to Petra again and with out a doubt I will stay at rocky mountain again.
Lotta :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreediveDahabLotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
365 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
914 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $32 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing