We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic budget hotel for Petra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Jane is a fantastic host at this brillant budget hotel in Wadi Musa near Petra.

Rooms are clean and well-maintained and there is an fantastic sheltered roof terrace decorated in Bedouin style serving free coffee & tea all day and all night.

There is a dinner served for a reasonable price at the roof terrace (buffet style) and they are also able to make delicious lunch packs to take to Petra for only 4JD.

It is on the outskirts of Wadi Musa, but they will drive you to Petra and pick you up - or you can always walk (about 15 minutes).

Will happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 379 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just perfect if you want superb views over Petra's mountains(from the folksy lounge/dining room and balconies),helpful staff,excellent hearty local food cooked by Bedouin staff,and comfortable rooms at a very reasonable $40 a night for a single.The owner or her partner personally deliver and pick you up at the main entrance to Petra Gorge daily at prearranged times,and Jane is a fountain of info on Petra and Jordan.Highlight for me was a spectacular lightning and rain storm that dazzled everyone in the hotel as it lit up the Petra Range for hours from our eerie under the hotel roof.The flash floods had receded by the time we splashed through the narrow gorge to the Treasury next morning!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms give you direct access to the spectacular views from each floor at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I highly recommend staying at Rocky Mountain. For a low price of approx $40/night, you get a free breakfast and a free shuttle to Petra's entrance and a very cozy room. The staff is all very cordial and warm and the owner, a Brit/NZ woman, was an absolute delight. She was very knowledgeable and generous and quite funny too. Two thumbs up for the Rocky Mountain hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The stay at Petra, at the Rocky Mountain was a welcome end to a 4 week journey.

It is simple. clean. comfortable. friendly. Everything you need without excess. A a

Jane, is amazing. She arranged travel and outings for us, negotiated cab fares, helped us in every way we asked. She has a stern exterior but is charming, knowledgeable, and will do anything to help make the stay pleasant. By the way, Jane is not British but from New Zealand. I can not imagine how hard it is to run a business there, where a replacement toilet seat is a rare commodity.. Thank you Jane.

Excellent value, great service. Enjoy the quaint uniqueness of the establishment and not dwell upon the little stuff. If you want to stay at the movenpic then go there, it is across town.

The only negative is that somewhere in the neighborhood is a nasty incinerator with a foul odor that kept our windows shut and us off the balcony.

Room Tip: each room is very different and some are unusual in lay out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. We arrived tired (after a great, but tiring day at Petra) but after a hot shower we soon relaxed in their very welcoming and warm relaxation cum dining area. Dinner was great value and as we were so tired it meant we didn't have to go out again. Our room was large and spotlessly clean. A good breakfast and service was provided by a multi-tasking Jane!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshladyItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

+
Great location because of the view, but pretty off.
Great terrace.
The british lady who owned the place was very nice and helpful. And the guy with the long curly hair.
Heaters!
Price

-
Broken toilet seat
Instant coffe and milk poweder for the breakfast (I know, the rent was cheap, but at least the milk could be real)

Despite the cons above I was going to give Rocky Mountain 5/5 BUT....

...We ordered a ride to Aqaba (charge 45 JD). I talked to one of the co-owners the day before about it and told him that there were four of us with a big bag each, "No problem" he said, When the car arrived the day after, both the driver and the same guy from the day before reacted to our luggage and said "it's impossible to fit all that luggage in the trunk". Stil they "would solve it". One of the employees arrived with a pick up and he was going to take us to Aqaba instead. The guy was young and acted like he was on meth! Driving really fast through the dark and bad roads of the mountain texting and talking on the phone all the time. He missed a bump at one place beacuse of texting and one of us hit his head to the ceiling pretty badly. He also landed on the WRONG side of the road for while after that bump, and couldn't come back until a opening in the concrete in the middle of the road. Imagine sitting in a car on the wrong side of the road for 3-400 meters wih no lights litting up the way in mountains of Jordan, I had my pregnant wife in the car and all four of us thought that was the most terrible ride of our life.

So Rocky Mountain; don't be greedy, you can't sell everything to everyone. A simple "sorry we can't help you with that" would get by sometimes,,,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varoojan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymountainhotel, Owner at Rocky Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

I apologise deeply for what was seemingly a ride from hell! - all I can say at this point is the driver will never be used again.

Another apology for the toilet seat - it is now fixed.

Re: beverages - we offer free tea and coffee at all times (with instant coffee and powdered milk) but sell cups of freshly brewed Turkish coffee. I think this is a reasonable arrangement given the fact we are a budget hotel.

I do hope the comment re: the heater was positive! As you know, we have gas heaters at key points through the hotel plus heaters in every room (you were in a tee-shirt when it was 4 degrees outside the hotel). I assume it was a positive!

Once again, many many apologies for the road trip. I am glad you posted the comments because road safety is always a concern. Regards Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great experience staying at this hotel in Petra. Hosts are wonderful, very friendly, helpful, and run a great "camp".
Rooms are very small as are bathrooms, and expect water on the floor after flushing and showering, would have been nice if they offered an upgrade being as it was extremely slow with travellers when we stayed. However the food was delicious, roof terrace homey, beautifully decorated, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Petra is a wonderful, breathtaking sight, don't miss it.

Room Tip: If you can afford to take superior, do it, huge difference in size of room and bathroom, but no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#13 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#22 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $29 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing