We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled at the finish line...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

+
Great location because of the view, but pretty off.
Great terrace.
The british lady who owned the place was very nice and helpful. And the guy with the long curly hair.
Heaters!
Price

-
Broken toilet seat
Instant coffe and milk poweder for the breakfast (I know, the rent was cheap, but at least the milk could be real)

Despite the cons above I was going to give Rocky Mountain 5/5 BUT....

...We ordered a ride to Aqaba (charge 45 JD). I talked to one of the co-owners the day before about it and told him that there were four of us with a big bag each, "No problem" he said, When the car arrived the day after, both the driver and the same guy from the day before reacted to our luggage and said "it's impossible to fit all that luggage in the trunk". Stil they "would solve it". One of the employees arrived with a pick up and he was going to take us to Aqaba instead. The guy was young and acted like he was on meth! Driving really fast through the dark and bad roads of the mountain texting and talking on the phone all the time. He missed a bump at one place beacuse of texting and one of us hit his head to the ceiling pretty badly. He also landed on the WRONG side of the road for while after that bump, and couldn't come back until a opening in the concrete in the middle of the road. Imagine sitting in a car on the wrong side of the road for 3-400 meters wih no lights litting up the way in mountains of Jordan, I had my pregnant wife in the car and all four of us thought that was the most terrible ride of our life.

So Rocky Mountain; don't be greedy, you can't sell everything to everyone. A simple "sorry we can't help you with that" would get by sometimes,,,

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varoojan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymountainhotel, Owner at Rocky Mountain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

I apologise deeply for what was seemingly a ride from hell! - all I can say at this point is the driver will never be used again.

Another apology for the toilet seat - it is now fixed.

Re: beverages - we offer free tea and coffee at all times (with instant coffee and powdered milk) but sell cups of freshly brewed Turkish coffee. I think this is a reasonable arrangement given the fact we are a budget hotel.

I do hope the comment re: the heater was positive! As you know, we have gas heaters at key points through the hotel plus heaters in every room (you were in a tee-shirt when it was 4 degrees outside the hotel). I assume it was a positive!

Once again, many many apologies for the road trip. I am glad you posted the comments because road safety is always a concern. Regards Jane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 391 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Great experience staying at this hotel in Petra. Hosts are wonderful, very friendly, helpful, and run a great "camp".
Rooms are very small as are bathrooms, and expect water on the floor after flushing and showering, would have been nice if they offered an upgrade being as it was extremely slow with travellers when we stayed. However the food was delicious, roof terrace homey, beautifully decorated, and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Petra is a wonderful, breathtaking sight, don't miss it.

Room Tip: If you can afford to take superior, do it, huge difference in size of room and bathroom, but no view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

nice hotel, lots of feminine touches from Jane the owner. lovely enclosed roof terrace with fabulous views over Petra. They served a simple supper each night of soup, meat and vegetables for around 8 JDs. the terrace was great, decked out like a Bedouin tent, with carpets, lounging mattesses, low coffee tables....lovely!! It was located at the top of a hill and although there was a free shuttle bus, the times didnt suit and we had to take a taxi to/from Petra. Their shuttles were 8/9am returning 5/6pm. Jane was very helpful and knowledeable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifestorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here, very good for budget orientated travelers, I got my own room and bathroom for quite cheap price with all the comforts of a higher priced hotel room. All of the staff are very friendly and Jane is super helpful. get the lunchbox they provide to take to Petra as the prices there are quite expensive. the restaurant upstairs is very comfortable, lots of good tasty food. I thought this place is the best I have stayed in the Israel/Jordan region.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room 206 on the first floor behind reception which does get a little noise so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michtravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A nice clean hostel with a great chill out area with amazing views over Petra
The rooms are clean and warm and Jane one of the owners is a fountain of information
And will help you organize you onward travel or tours
The 8JD dinner is a must really good local food and you won't find cheaper in town, also take advantage of the packed lunch for 4JD plenty of food to keep you going all day in Petra.

It's a little way away from Petra but they run a free taxi in the morning and pick up in the evening

All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaillacBNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

this hotel is a perfect place to stay in Petra! clean rooms and bathrooms, magnificent view on Petra in a beautiful restaurant on the roof. The breakfast is a traditional jordanian one and the hotel offers free transfers to Petra and back (5-7 min by car).
Jane and her staff are very friendly and helpful in everything you need!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you are searching for a budget accomodation in Petra I can really recommend you to stay there (20 JOD per night). The rooms are old but clean, nice, and warm. Breakfast is nice, too. The view from the roof of the hotel, where you can get free tea and breakfast is amazing. Wifi is working well, at least if you get a room not far away from the router. Last but not least the owner of the hotel, a very friendly British woman, offers a free shuttle service to and from the Petra visitor's center, what saves you another 3-4 JOD per ride!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
206 reviews
1 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $24 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing