We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great breakfast, great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
“Great service, great breakfast, great rooms”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and had a wonderful time. The bed was new and very comfortable. The room was clean and fairly spacious (the bathroom was small, but really how much time are you going to spend in the bathroom?), and the television had a ridiculous number of channels. We also had a great view. Don't even get me started on how good breakfast was--they could charge the cost of the room just for the food. Jane was also very helpful in advising us on the best route to take through Petra, and she dropped us off their in the morning. They will also hook you up with a Turkish spa experience or a Beduoin dinner, all reasonably priced (I think--I didn't really shop around, but it seemed reasonable to me). I don't think this hotel can be beat in Jordan, or anywhere else in the region.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    140
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
137
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
petra
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

It was Excellent we enjoy it i recomend to stay this hotel. The staffs are friendly and the quality and service was good. Moreover, the view from hotel balcony was very beautiful and good to see the Petra valley. I recomend for everbody to stay this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordanro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were blown away by the great value if this hotel. Jane was fantastic, flexible, understanding & happy to spend time with us. The rooms were the cleanest we have encountered in Jordan, although tge bathrooms are a little onbthe small side. Brekky was awesome and to top off our experience we were driven by Jane to the entrance if Petra at 7am. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidtravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here for one night so we could visit Petra the next day. Jane and her partner were SO helpful; dropping us at petra in the morning and meeting us at the bus station in the afternoon with our bags! The room was ideal for what we wanted and very clean and comfortable. The balcony had incredible views which we enjoyed at sunset and sunrise!

Room Tip: Ours backed onto the balcony which was great for the view but also meant you could hear people chatt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Cranston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a family run hotel in Bedouin style with ecclectic rooms, incredible views and a staff who know all there is to know about Petra. It also takes it's civic responsibility seriously providing hot water at set times (the times you really need...and it's not 'cold' at any other) as there is a water shortage in Wadi Musa.

The location is excellent...5 mins drive from the entrance to Petra...with a free shuttle service at two available time slots there and back. This was one of the highlights...the lads in our group saw our ride was a pick up truck and the joy in jumping in and out of the back pretending to be Indiana Jones was priceless. It is also next door to a supermarket for juice/snacks, but you can always buy cold mineral water at any time from reception and there is 24 hr tea/coffee and sometimes lovely sweet snacks in the Bedouin restsurant. They also have a deal with the turkish bath down the road for a sauna/massage.

Breakfast is excellent-fresh omlette with Arabian salad and dips. For 4JD you can get a substantial packed lunch for your day in Petra, and the home cooked Arabian/Bedouin lunch and/or dinner is authentic and delicious.

Taxis to the border or trips to Wadi Rum, Night Petra or the Bedouin Cave dinner can be arranged and paid for through Jane (co-manager) and her working relationship with the companies means she is able to negotiate and manage the deal financially which avoids any "renegotiations" later on...Jane and Artef take a personal approach in ensuring value for money for all their patrons.

The prices (in a very expensive area) are outanding value. There is free wifi. The rooms are clean, comfortable and en suite with air con and TV...and as I've said, full of character in design...and ours had the most amazing view of the mountains for amazing sunsets and sunrises. The terraces are a great place to relax and if you're lucky you might meet the new hotel kitten that Jane found and adopted. Most of all you feel 'at home'.

The second part of this review is a more personal thank you for the outstanding kindness we were shown...but also serves to highlight the care that Jane and Artef take of their guests as well as the value of people you can trust...as those at Rocky Mountain when relatively alone in a new country.

On the day we were due to check out one of our party suffered from heststroke...it was no problem at all for the staff who had dealt with this all before. Jane arranged for us to keep our rooms and Artef even boiled us fresh sage tea...known to settle the stomach. That night another of our party went down with what was diagnosed as gasterinteritis and Artef drove him to the hospital, spoke with the doctors, stayed with him until he was discharged, made sure all the insurance receipts were in order and drove him back.

I add this not just because we are so grateful but the genuine kindness and care shown...WITHOUT expectation or ulterior motive is the jewel within the Rocky Mountain.

Thank you for everything ON TOP of a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It is a little walk up the hill all the way up the hill from the Petra site but is a cheap cab. At first we couldn't get the a/c to work or the tv and we had missing towels, but once we got all the kinks ironed out, it was great! The hotel staff were amazing the knowledge of the Petra site and what to see was invaluable.

The breakfast was very good, and the staff were very honest and genuine. Organised drivers for us to go to other towns and all. Would recommend this hotel hands down!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holliericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice and cozy hotel with a laid back atmosphere. Wifi in the room, international tv channels, air con, amazing view over wadi musa and a ton of services. For example: lunch boxes are available, dinner can be made, free pick up and drop off at the bus station, free transfer service to Petra (two in the morning and two in the afternoon), free tea, great breakfast and so on. Overall a great stay, we rediscovered hospitality in Jordan. Definitely recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevenNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Property: Rocky Mountain Hotel
Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing