We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Impulsively I hitched a ride down from Amman to Petra with three other backpackers in a taxi and luckily for me it's very quiet in winter and I had no problem finding a room at the Rocky Mountain.
Perched high on the hill overlooking Petra, it isnt within walking distance to the city centre or the park, but they offer free shuttle rides which is a big plus. All the guys in reception were very friendly and helpful, and offered help youself tea and coffee 24/7.
For such a low price per night the small rooms were really clean, like a good three star hotel, and our room had a great view over the valley, if it hadn't been raining. One of the more comfortable beds I enjoyed on my trip, and even used the internet for free, not a given in more expensive hotels.

Check out the seven wonders bedouin camp in Petra, also run by the same people and also very good.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    141
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
50
139
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at the Rocky Mountain hotel. Rooms were cosy with a great view. Very close to Petra. Good breakfast. Jane was very kind and helpful and always happy to arrange trips or other hotel stays. We did have a slight electricity issue during our stay, however Jane swiftly took care of it and gave us a discount in the end. We had a rental car and were able to drive to the gates of Petra within 10 minutes, but Jane also arranges shuttle services to Petra. Overall we can recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franzipanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

A very basic hotel with only the very barest facilities. In February the the public areas were very cold. There was little even warm water and bathroom facilities grim. The view is sensational and staff eager to please.


  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pummuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B29 5sn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We only stayed one night but it was fine. Our twin room was cramped and had a pillar in the middle which was a little awkward. The furniture is old and mismatched but functional. The bathroom was small and the sink dumped the waste water on the floor but the shower was hot. The room windows were old and draughty and in January it made the room chilly but the aircon heater worked well.
What made up for the shortcomings of the room was the helpful attitude of the owner. She met us from the bus station and, when I said we wanted to go straight to Petra, she dropped us off and took our bags to the hotel. She shuttles to Petra at 7am and 8am and back to hotel at 4pm and 5pm. She phoned the Jett bus to reserve seats for us and dropped our bags to the bus for us.
Breakfast is tasty and plentiful with freshly cooked omlette (the only hot breakfast we had in Jordan). For dinner we had to walk down the hill to find a restaurant but it wasn't too far.
All in all, good value for money and a friendly, helpful host.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed two nights. Found the place to be warm and welcoming, The management was very helpful with advice about visiting the area and provided a ride to Petra and back. The breakfast was nice and I appreciated that there was always tea and coffee available. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine_Flowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at the Rocky Mountain Hotel in Wadi Musa, Jordan for 3 nights this December and I don't have anything negative at all to say! Jane was extremely accommodating and helpful including arranging for a member of her staff to take us to Aqaba and from Wadi Rum to Madaba which was made everything so easy for us. She also booked for us to stay in the desert at Wadi Rum and everything went really smoothly. The hotel is clean and very pleasant and the view from the balcony is amazing, especially around sunset and sunrise. The hotel is situated at the back of the town of Wadi Musa up a steep hill but the views make it worth it and Jane often offered to drop us off or pick us up from town. The price was really reasonable too so can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Me and mij boyfriend really enjoyed our stay at the Rocky Mountain Hostel. Jane and her brother were extremely helpfull and friendly bringing us up and down the mountain with their car. The breakfast they served was excellent and the views from the hostel are splendous!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobke_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
516 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
874 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
598 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Property: Rocky Mountain Hotel
Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing