We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Me and mij boyfriend really enjoyed our stay at the Rocky Mountain Hostel. Jane and her brother were extremely helpfull and friendly bringing us up and down the mountain with their car. The breakfast they served was excellent and the views from the hostel are splendous!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobke_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 370 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

I spent 2 nights here in December 2011.

The hotel is run by Jane and her Husband (i believe.) I only met Jane, but she was really lovely and helpful, and went out of her way to make me feel welcome and comfortable in the hotel.
The room were lovely and comfortable aswell as clean. My room come with an ensuite and tv.

Breakfast is served pretty early in order to allow you to get to Petra earlier and spend longer there. I cant remember the times, but Jane runs a complementary shuttle to and from the enterance of Petra in the morning and early evening.

Coffee and tea are served 24/7 and there is a computer that you can use for free.
The views over Wadi Musa and Petra are amazing!

Good price for a good hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelLouiseMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Rocky Mountain Hotel is fairly new, only been open 4 months. Its great value, homely and welcoming. Jane, the owner, goes out of her way to make you feel at home and makes sure you have everything you need. The breakfasts are excellent and there is free tea and coffee at all times - which is very welcome! There are also free shuttles to and from the entrance to Petra - its too far to walk. Being a new hotel - the restaurant and roof terrace were not quite ready, but when they are the views over Petra will be stunning. Home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We spent two nights at this well-located hotel. The price is modest, but we had better 30 JD hotels in Jordan. The charming owner invests a lot of friendliness into giving advice about tours, restaurants etc, but should consider investing more into small but basic and significant improvements of the (very small) bathrooms and the (akwardly furnished) bedrooms, such as toilet paper holders, decent shower heads, hooks, nighttables, a maid to make the beds... The reception area also serves as the breakfast corner. There was plenty of coffee and a good breakfast menu, which we would have enjoyed more if the room temperature had been higher. The owner seems to have plenty of good intentions but not the means to realize them - a reason for you to go there?

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with miniature bathrooms, unless you enjoy stepping over the toilet to reach the sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeuAlSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Room with a fantastic view of Wadi Musa/Petra. Had a few minor issues with bathroom, but room was otherwise very comfortable with airconditioning and cable TV. Breakfast was good, and there was complimentary coffee all day. Very friendly and helpful English owner, who helped organize additional day trips. Free transport to/from Petra site daily. Overall, excellent value for money and would recommend to anyone going to see Petra.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arimfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The rocky mountain hotel is an excellent budget choice. Its quite expensive to travel through Jordan and this place is good value for money. Jane is very helpful and can offer tips and book transport and day trips for you. The breakfast is really good and there is free tea and coffee all day. They also offer free drop offs and pick ups to/from Petra - which is excellent as its a long walk up the hill. The rooms are very small but clean with satellite TV (not that you spend much time in the rooms) and the wifi works really well in common room which is also a nice place to chat with others about their trip. The rooms are warm and the hot water is good (although only on in the mornings and evenings which is fine). Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knights1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Petra. The hotel is - thankfully - away from the main tourist hustle and bustle of Petra / Wadi Musa... up the hill, with a fantastic view over the Petra site and Wadi Musa town.

It is a budget hotel - and, be warned, does not accept credit cards... but the welcome is warm and genuine, the appreciation of your custom obvious and the commitment to providing a value-for-money, clean and comfortable stay very apparent.

The price of the room includes service of a traditional breakfast - the owners also make a couple of runs a morning down to the Petra Visitor Centre if you are not driving yourself.

Highly recommend staying here - just as good as more expensive alternatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you'd like to wake up to dawn over Petra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
914 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $32 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing