We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, with a potential to become a good budget choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We spent two nights at this well-located hotel. The price is modest, but we had better 30 JD hotels in Jordan. The charming owner invests a lot of friendliness into giving advice about tours, restaurants etc, but should consider investing more into small but basic and significant improvements of the (very small) bathrooms and the (akwardly furnished) bedrooms, such as toilet paper holders, decent shower heads, hooks, nighttables, a maid to make the beds... The reception area also serves as the breakfast corner. There was plenty of coffee and a good breakfast menu, which we would have enjoyed more if the room temperature had been higher. The owner seems to have plenty of good intentions but not the means to realize them - a reason for you to go there?

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with miniature bathrooms, unless you enjoy stepping over the toilet to reach the sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeuAlSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 370 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

Room with a fantastic view of Wadi Musa/Petra. Had a few minor issues with bathroom, but room was otherwise very comfortable with airconditioning and cable TV. Breakfast was good, and there was complimentary coffee all day. Very friendly and helpful English owner, who helped organize additional day trips. Free transport to/from Petra site daily. Overall, excellent value for money and would recommend to anyone going to see Petra.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arimfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The rocky mountain hotel is an excellent budget choice. Its quite expensive to travel through Jordan and this place is good value for money. Jane is very helpful and can offer tips and book transport and day trips for you. The breakfast is really good and there is free tea and coffee all day. They also offer free drop offs and pick ups to/from Petra - which is excellent as its a long walk up the hill. The rooms are very small but clean with satellite TV (not that you spend much time in the rooms) and the wifi works really well in common room which is also a nice place to chat with others about their trip. The rooms are warm and the hot water is good (although only on in the mornings and evenings which is fine). Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knights1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Petra. The hotel is - thankfully - away from the main tourist hustle and bustle of Petra / Wadi Musa... up the hill, with a fantastic view over the Petra site and Wadi Musa town.

It is a budget hotel - and, be warned, does not accept credit cards... but the welcome is warm and genuine, the appreciation of your custom obvious and the commitment to providing a value-for-money, clean and comfortable stay very apparent.

The price of the room includes service of a traditional breakfast - the owners also make a couple of runs a morning down to the Petra Visitor Centre if you are not driving yourself.

Highly recommend staying here - just as good as more expensive alternatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if you'd like to wake up to dawn over Petra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My teenage sister and I just came from a chilly night at the Wadi Rum desert and were looking forward to a hot shower and a warm place to stay in. The place didn't disappoint us one bit. Our room was clean and had a fantastic view. Jane was welcoming and accomodating - the atmosphere was very homey. We especially enjoyed the traditional breakfast in the morning. Great stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff! Clean and comfortable room! I like the homey feel during breakfast with great coffee. The terrace offers a good view of the Wadi Musa town and a beautiful sunset over the mountains of Petra.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hg9853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We received a fantastic welcome from Jane upon arrival for our three night stay and nothing was too much trouble. We were served Bedouin tea on the terrace, which has an amazing view over the mountains. The rooms and bathrooms (and also the rest of the hotel) were immaculately clean. The hotel is approximately a 30 minute walk to the Petra visitor centre but Jane or Atef can drop you off in the morning and pick you up in the evening. On our first night there we wandered into town to get some food and Jane offered to pick us up later in the evening if we couldn't face the walk back up the hill. They will also collect you from the bus station when you arrive if necessary. A transfer to Wadi Rum was organised for us at a reasonable price with no problem. Freshly cooked scrambled eggs for breakfast with bread and jam/hoummus/cream cheese and oil and herbs kept us going for our long hikes around Petra. The Rocky Mountain Hotel is excellent value for money, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizmundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
915 reviews
1.7 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Hotel

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $32 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Rocky Mountain Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management (Atef and Jane from Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp), the Rocky Mountain Hotel is an informal and basic family run hotel very close to the town center and offers its guests spectacular views. There is a free shuttle service to the Petra Visitors Centre and free Wi-Fi. Traditional breakfast is included in the price of the room and dinner is available at night on the arabic style rooftop terrace. Snacks are available during the day and lunch boxes need to be ordered the night before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Rocky Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing