We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveler rating
410
143
32
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
410
143
32
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedouin camp communal tent hot water comfortable tents fire pit sweet tea abraham tours plenty of blankets family tent main tent drinking tea on the rocks lit up at night desert experience other guests chicken and rice wonderful evening
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely stay here with good food, and a nice atmosphere. We had problems with our car here and the manager of the camp helped us out! He arranged everything for us to get a new car the same evening and helped us get replacement transport to petra for the day, so for that we are very thankfull. The location of the place is also nice. Would surely recommend this!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 663basm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For those of you electing to stay in beduin camp - few things we wish we knew before the trip (March 2019):
- Get warm clothes. it's getting cold at night, really cold. and WINDY!!!
- Get pajamas!. although beds have sheets and pillow covers they haven't been washed since probably the New Years eve. we found lot of hair from previous tenant(s) all over the bed.. we ended up sleeping with our clothes and hoodies on.
- Get flashlight!! electricity goes off at midnight. restrooms are outside and you'll need flashlight to get there. there are very few lights on premises. luckily for us it was full moon. we found candle under our bed, so candles might be a good idea also!
- Get power strip: there' only ONE SINGLE power outlet in the tent, and you can only change one device at a time. there is a 'charging station' in the main tent where you can hang out after dinner, get free tea (delicious, and very sweet). there's also WiFi access point in the main tent. however WiFi goes OFF at midnight as well.
- Get thermos with hot water if you want to have some tea after midnight.
- Get external battery pack. you leave the camp right after breakfast, and there's nowhere else to charge your phones. Buses don't have charging ports!
- Bring your own towels!! you can get free towels (if you ask for) from the guys, but I wish I had brought our own. you can understand why..
- Bring shower slippers!!! showers and toilets are in a same building in the middle of the camp. the water is hot but not 'VERY' like someone mentioned here. the hangers are inside the shower booth and too close so I had to cover my clothes with one of the towels to prevent them from getting wet.
- No morning shower: electricity comes back around 5:50am, right before the breakfast, but is not enough time to get hot water running, so don't expect to have hot shower in the morning. even cold water is barely there because there's no water pressure (generator is off till 5:50am). BTW, if you need to have #2 try to get up early, as like I mentioned, due to lack of water pressure you can't really flush the toilet properly.

However, there's no regrets and we absolutely enjoyed the stay at the camp! good luck!

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kalebthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved this camp, the guys were super friendly, the camp was impeccably clean, and the food was authentic. Sitting round the fire at the end of the evening being constantly offered tea. Loved the location and the peace.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FamGom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived, coming from Jerash, we saw the beautiful lighted hill and it looked quite romantic. After grabbing lunch, we got taken to our tent. Very small and basic as it should be for the real experience. Double-bed with clean bedsheets, even 3 more blankets (which were not clean) if you feel too cold, but this was not needed as it was August. The tent heated up throughout the day so that we left doors open after returning from Petra the next day so that we could sleep at least some hours. A mosquito net was provided, it was dusty but we still used it. Tents can get closed from the inside and from the outside. Showers in the morning were cold, but was not a problem as we knew that warm water is only available at night. The shared bathrooms were not clean, but this was not only the fault of the staff. Food (breakfast and dinner) was basic but good and the beduins were really nice and welcoming. Our guide said hospitality is very important in Jordan and there we felt it truly is. Nevertheless we have to admit that staying there is probably not for everyone as the tents are feeling quite rustic, but still for us it was a nice experience.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Service
Thank MichaelSchindl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the Luxury camp, rather than the Bedouin camp. Basically all on the same site with some shared facilities, but the Luxury Camp has full electricity, private bathroom and air conditioning! We ended up staying in one of the pods which was amazing! Really comfy, great views and great staff! We also did the 4x4 to the back way into Petra on the morning we left, which is definitely recommended. The only thing I night suggest is to consider turning off the outside lights in the luxury camp when they turn the power off to the rest of the Bedouin camp at midnight, as the view of the stars from the decking area of our pod would have been fantastic!!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tommy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews