We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok stay but a little overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok stay but a little overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at Seven Wonders for 2 nights. It had a nice atmosphere with lots of other travellers around. The campfire at night was a nice touch after a long day of hiking around Petra. The tents were adequate, the beds a bit hard but we didn't expect much after all this is a camp site. The bathrooms were clean enough and had showers. We paid 35JD per person per night, which included an ok breakfast and a well prepared dinner buffet. The location wasn't the best as it was out of town and we had to get shuttled by the camp to and from the entrance to Petra which cost 5 JD each way. All in all it wasn't a bad experience based on the camp itself however, some of the individuals running the place didn't come across as the most trustworthy types. We are both seasoned travellers and know when people are trying to pull a fast one on us. We watched them tell straight out lies about costs for taxis, buses etc. to other travellers including us. The advantage they had was their location as it was out of town and you relied on them to get you into the city centre.
Our plan was to go to Aqaba after Petra. We knew that buses ran daily including weekends from Wada Musa to Aqaba at a 3.50 JD per person. After we told them that we needed a ride to the bus station, he proceeded to tell us that its the weekend and that the buses may not be running. He advised us that the bus cost is 7JD per person. Please note that the cost for the air-conditioned large JET bus from Amman to Aqaba only costs 8.80 JD which is twice the distance. He offered to get us a taxi to Aqaba for 60 JD if he can't get a hold of the "bus company".
So after trying to keep us on our toes and making several phone calls with the "bus company" he told us that there was only 1 bus early in the morning. He also told us that the taxi from Aqaba city centre to south beach will cost us 20JD…it shouldn't cost you more than 5JD.
Until this point we had nothing but good experiences in Jordan and its people however these guys give Jordanians a bad name.
If you stay at this camp please take what they tell you with a grain of salt and use your best judgment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PandIRoadShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janek9, Owner at Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
All I can say is, I have no idea where you have got your prices from because they are incorrect! The staff in camp are correct.

Buses from Wadi Musa to Aqaba run when they are full and they only run in the morning. Quite often, there are only a few people and there may be two buses only (maybe one on Friday). Because it is such an inexact science, I always advise people to be in bus station by 7.30am. The price is usually 5 JD per person but on some days when few people they can ask for 7 JD.

The standard taxi price between Wadi Musa and the Aqaba border and south beach is 55 JD and from camp 60 JD. Sometimes taxis decide to charge less - especially if they HAVE to go to Aqaba anyway and they just want some petrol money.

Taxis from Aqaba town to south beach and the border ARE expensive because they have a monopoly - there is no competition from buses. Even 2 years ago I paid 12 JD to get from Aqaba to border which is a 12 - 15 min trip. Today you can pay 15 JD or more and to the south beach you can pay 20 JD.

And yes - the camp is situated out of town. Bedouin desert camps aren't usually found in town, as far as I know!

If you are going to call people "liars" in a public forum, you should have your facts right.

Sincerely - Jane Sheldon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    91
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
73
135
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Yorks, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Really comfortable tents with great views; immaculately clean shower & toilet block with hot water and a good hairdryer! Dinner was superb (if pricey at £10 a head, although can;t complain at £15 each B&B). Staff are incredibly helpful. It;s amazing how long you can spend lying on your back by the campfire watching the Milky Way and shooting stars in the black desert sky. Close to Petra; very close to Little Petra. We hired horses to walk half way to Petra just past sunrise - fantastic (hiked/clambered rest of the way, which means you go in at the top by the Monastery, so you go DOWN and not UP those 800 steps!). Plentiful hot, sweet sage tea (free) and interesting fellow-travellers. Lights in the hills are spectacular. £5 per car to drive to Petra. Overall, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I was so happy I decided to go with the "rustic" option of staying at a family-owned Bedouin camp in a tent (with beds!). The owners were very accommodating and the environment was casual, friendly and super local.
I ate amazing food, smoked hooka around the fire, climbed up rocks to watch the sunset and was even dropped off at the "back" side of the entrance to Petra so I could avoid crowds.
I felt like I was top priority to the staff / owners and very much appreciated all the personal service offered.
This is a must do for the adventurer at heart.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allisonsnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here while we were visiting Petra. Atif and Jane went out of their way to make our stays both productive and comfortable. The entire group of staff at the Seven Wonders appears to be incredibly close-knit, leading to a kind of a family atmosphere.

The bathroom block is clean and spacious. Our tent was fitted out with a bed and nightstands, as well as a bulb and power outlet for when the generator is turned on (between 7pm to 12pm at the time we stayed there). The tent is almost unbearably hot in the daytime as there is no way to get a cross-breeze, but this isn't a problem if you spend the day at Petra, or enjoy the very excellent central courtyard and lounge.

The courtyard has circular floor-seating surrounding a fireplace. We found this was a great way to meet new people. In addition, free tea is constantly served, giving a real community atmosphere.

At night, the mountain lights up quite spectacularly, and when they turn the lights off, and the campfire up, it's a rather perfect way to watch the stars.

I recommend this place wholeheartedly - if you are visiting Petra, then it is much more than just a place to sleep - it's an experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while doing Petra. The place is amazing! The bathrooms were very clean, and the rooms were like something out of a wonderland movie. They have a campfire at night, and after dinner, everyone sat around drinking tea and mingling; very friendly atmosphere. The dinner was more than enough, and the breakfast was very delicious. The staff was awesome; they went out of their way to help us with anything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is magic. Sammy and his friends are making the stay very enjoyable. Tea over the hill watching the sunset (if you can climb up that is, but they have an alternative for less flexible guests), singing by the fire, they even drove us back and forth to the Turkish baths at night. Wonderfull. The dinner was also very good. Only drawbacks: eggs in the morning are ordinary and some wild dogs woke us up at night. But hey, you're in the desert! It's an experience well worth it. It's easy to miss the sign, so be careful, because it's next to another bedouin camp, but Seven Wonders is the best. This one is in the back of the hill. The wrong one is in front.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulienQc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely setting. Food was excellent. An experience. The staff are very good and help a lot. Thanks for a great stay. The lighting at night is very nice and accommodation units good and functional. Be sure to spend one night in a camp when in Petra if you can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Compton3Golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
2.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
3.4 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp

Property: Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
Address: Little Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
7 Wonders Bedouin Camp
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing