We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional...in a modern day way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

From the moment we pulled up we were greeted with warm smiles and helpful hands. The camp is near Petra but is had a secluded local bedouin feel. The sleep tents were stable and well insulated. They have lots of heavy blankets to keep one warm. The bathrooms were very clean and had plenty of hot water.
The guys at camp were very personable and eager to help with any questions you had about the area or trip into Petra.
Sitting under the stars next to small fire with hot tea in hand made for a great night. It almost made you feel like a local...well sorta

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGirl2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 485 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a semi-fixed "camp" site, out very close to Little Petra where you can spend a wonderful evening looking at the starts and enjoying the company of other tourists and the local people around the fire, drinking very nice Bedouin tea and just relaxing.

The setting is very nice, the young guys who run the camp are great and they make a real effort to ensure that everybody is having a good time, having conversations and sharing good company.

The tents are comfortable and good beds, although you can just sleep next to the fire under the starts if you so prefer, dinner and breakfast were simple but very good.

Important topic for many, specially if you are with family, they have very well set-up modern toilets and showers with hot water and this makes it one of the more civilized and structured camps in the region.

Overall it was a great experience, very comfortable setting and my kids enjoyed it very much. I would definitely recommend this camp if you are thinking of spending one-two nights having such an outdoor experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngutierrez1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the seven wonders during a quick weekend getaway, and loved it!! The guys at camp where nothing but helpful and full of great tips for exploring Petra. Sitting out by the fire with the stars over head and the surrounding rocks lit up with lights, it was beautiful. There are large blankets to cover with if you feel cold, but the beautiful tea with sage was a great help as well. We didn't find it cold at night but that could have been due to the three large heavy blankets that we used:) This campground is not what one would expect, it is clean, spacious and beautiful. When visiting the Petra, I recommend spending at least one night here, you will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShannaB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed just one night at this camp and would happily recommend it, we were very lucky to have a large group staying at the same time as us which really made the atmosphere. Had a hearty meal, rice, chicken and vegetables with lots of additional side dishes to choose from. Followed by free flowing tea to sip afterwards sitting around the fire. Then some of the camp guys started playing and singing traditional songs which started sedately enough then soon became a wonderful night of everyone up dancing and laughing! Crashed into our beds later than planned but slept soundly on fairly firm beds (although probably could have slept standing up after a day touring the sights!) Up early for breakfast which was basic but plentiful. Bathrooms were very clean, as were the rooms. The location worked well for us because we were picked up by our guide and it was around 5-10mins drive from Little Petra where we started our next day.

Overall, it is a campsite, but the welcome is very warm, the amenities are clean, the food is tasty and we had a fabulous stay. It is a family owned business, and they will do their utmost to make sure you enjoy your stay because it is important to them personally as well as to their business. If you are cold just tell them and they will get you more blankets, nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

When we were planning our trip ti Petra we didn't really want to stay at a hotel and made a decision to stay for two night at Seven Wonders. It was the right choice! The place is charming especially at the sunset and when they lit lights in the evening. Conditions are simple but what should you expect from a place in the middle of the dessert. Bathroom is a separate building, water pressure isn't very strong but we survived and were able to wash ourselves. There was no electricity after 11pm but we found it quite romantic to use candles and to listen to the silence of the dessert at night or sometimes to a local donkey too. We loved the service from the time when we were picked up till the moment when we had to say good bye. Friendly, social, hard-working people who will make sure that you will enjoy Petra, give you advice and tips where to go and what to see, tell about their culture, share stories, offer tea and even climb a hill with you to show sunset in the dessert. It was unforgettable. Dinner in the evening was always fresh and delicious. It was a 5 star hospitality with heart that we appreciated and told our friends about. They chose Seven Wonders too and liked it a lot. Thank you for wonderful memories about Petra.

Room Tip: If you are adventurous, ok with simple conditions, want to learn more about Bedouin culture and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I'll start with the good things. the decoration is perfect, and the atmosphere reflects the bedouin desert life style in a very good way. All the place- including the rooms- is clean, and the food is delicious and well served.
On the other hand, you can say that the tents are a little bit cold which is a disadvantage, and the place is located 15 mins driving from the city of Petra, which makes it impossible to get there without a car. Also, and this is the worst thing, the owner of the place tried to make a deal with a tourist guide so they'll win some extra money from me and my brother. I got the feeling he is trying to rip us off ,and I got the feeling he does that a lot, especially with the non-arab tourists, who don't know the eastern mentality and can't reveal his tricks.
To sum it up, for a european tourists who want to live the beduoin life for a few days, it is a good experience as long as he doesn't rip you off. But for me and my brother- arabs who live in the east and know the beduoin life style, it didn't provide us the new experience we wanted.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ndakwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We didn't sleep in the camp, we just went for dinner. They charge JD 15 for outside guests. We arrived around 6pm, was a bit cold. They gave us extra blankets, sat around the fire sipping tea. They started serving dinner on time. Bathrooms are very clean. We checked out the tents, and seemed spacious and secure and Not far from the bathrooms. The camp is about 10-15 minutes from Petra. This is just information about the place, but the whole experience is magical, probably needs another review. The people who runs the place are the most genuine I've met in Jordan , so kind and friendly. They seem to care only about how to make you comfortable. Ali played wonderful tunes on Oud after a delicious fresh dinner. The lights they put outside are so beautiful. And on top of all that, they arranged a nice surprise birthday cake for my sister in a very short notice. Diffinetly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
2.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,689 reviews
4.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,076 reviews
3.4 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
My Home Hotel- Petra
My Home Hotel- Petra
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
80 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
443 reviews
3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#8 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp

Address: Little Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $46 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Wonders Bedouin Camp
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Seven Wonders Bedouin Camp Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing