We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate”
Review of Petra Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petra Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed for one night when visiting Petra. It was perfectly adequate. The location was unbeatable and service excellent. The breakfast and dinner buffets were very god. And the Cave Bar was great fun the night I stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteMissingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    395
    101
    27
    18
See reviews for
164
371
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay very much. We spent 8 hours at Petra, so were very glad that the hotel was immediately outside the entrance. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The dinner and breakfast buffets were very good. Although wifi was not free, I only paid about $1.40 for one hour of internet. After climbing around Petra all day, we were happy to rest in a pleasant place. If I were to return to Petra, I would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights here whilst visiting Petra. The hotel is perfectly placed right next to the entrance to the Petra site, and this is most welcome as you tend to be quite tired after a hard day of sightseeing. 'Guesthouse' is a bit misleading, it is Crowne Plaza hotel, with the comfort and quality you would expect. Our room (339) was spacious and well equipped with good air-con. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We arrived back one morning after our 7 am visit to the high place of sacrifice to avoid the heat and crowds, getting back with only two minutes to spare before breakfast finished. We were made very welcome, and assured that we should take our time over our meal. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Davmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have just returned from Jordan and had a fabulous stay at this hotel. Its true that it doesn't have a pool, but it offers so much more. The location is right at the gates to Petra and after a long day looking around the ancient city, it was a godsend to reach the hotel as soon as we passed through the gate. While there are some restaurants nearby, we preferred to stay in the hotel and although the menu is limited, the food was excellent. We had a great room on the upper level with a terrace which looked over Wadi Musa. When we first arrived, we relaxed at our little patio table outside the room. Each room had one with four chairs.
However, our favourite aspect of the hotel was the Cave Bar. In the day we sat outside and at night we snuggled into the Bar, carved out of the rock just as Petra itself.
I see that one reviewer talked of no free wifi, but this is not what we found. Indeed, the reception assistant put the password into the phone for us. We had free internet from then on, allowing us to upload pics into Facebook for our envious friends.
All in all, the hotel staff were very welcoming and we had a great stay. We will definitely go back again.
One final piece of advice - the nearest little shop to the hotel, just outside its patio, is run by a nice old man. He gave us lots of advice on Petra and there was not a hint of being ripped off. We bought some small items from him, but he seemed more genuinely interested in us having a nice time.
Great holiday and a good base for Petra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were deciding either Movenpick or Petra Guest House, at last we chose Petra Guest House based on the reviews here and the price, and we are so glad that we have chosen this hotel.
There is free parking and the bell captain Zayed helped us to unload the luggage and assisted us to check in. On the way he chatted with us and gave us some info about Petra. He is very friendly and nice. We were given welcome drinks, check in was fast and we were upgraded to a better room with terrace. Zayed guided us to our room and introduced to us the facilities in room.
Our room is not very big but its very clean and comfortable. (not enough socket plugs in room since we had to charge our cameras, and cell phones) Bathroom is also very nice and clean. (however they didn't refill our shower gel even it was empty.)Terrace is big and has a view of the entrance to Petra. It's also very quite at night time so we could have a good sleep.
Dinner buffet is good, have variety of choices, but didn't have much fresh fruit; breakfast was nice too, we liked their omelette.
The hotel is super close to the visitor center and the entrance to Petra, just a few minutes of walking. Also close to some gifts shops and the restaurants area is just 5 minutes walking away.
Cave bar food is good but it came quite slow, and we were disappointed by one particular waiter. He was not very sincere.
In general, we like this hotel, in particular we like the bell captain Zayed. He is very helpful and really cares about the guests! Special thanks to him! He is one of the best hotel staff I have ever met. For sure we will stay in Petra Guest House if we visit Petra again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Petra Guesthouse, which is located at the entrance to Petra. Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a great view of the surrounding area. The buffet meals had sufficient choice to suit most tastes. We enjoyed having a drink outside overlooking Wadi Musa by night but were disappointed by the very slow bar service. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Petra as the location is excellent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a 2 night stay. Very comfortable, friendly staff, ideal location. My wife is a coeliac which means meals have to be gluten free. The restaurant manager took time to identify the dishes she could eat and eliminate those that would be problematical. For us this was a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaibachLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
0.8 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Guesthouse

Property: Petra Guesthouse
Address: | Petra Gate Area, Petra - Wadi Musa 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#6 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Guesthouse Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Guesthouse Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing