We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad”
Review of Petra Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petra Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

For position this is A1, the staff were on the whole very friendly and even suggested that he two rooms which I had booked for my family were unnecessary. The buffet was a little lack lustre but the food in the Cave Bar was good with large portions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TornadoF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    395
    101
    27
    18
See reviews for
164
371
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Its a very comfortable hotel and couldn't be better located. We were able to tour the Petra site long before the crowds of tourists appeared. The "chalet" is separated from the main building by steps and a terrace, but the view and the privacy makes it a very worthwhile choice. My only criticism is that wifi is only available in the lobby area of the hotel. A bit of an inconvenience, but a minor one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosahNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Located at the gates to Petra itself (you don't want to walk any more than you need). Nice layout. Cool bar (in an old tomb) nice rooms. Ours overlooked the Petra entrance from a large terass, very nice. Nothing to complain about, but we had a quick stay , so can't say to much either way.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the terass area and can be rather far from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CU_Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is only steps away from the entrance of Petra so you can't beat the location. As for the customer service, I emailed the manager Khaled a week before we arrived and told him that during our stay we would be celebrating our one year wedding anniversary. I asked him to help me make it a special evening and he created a lovely 3 course menu for us served in our room. He also ordered a floral bouquet from a local flower store for me and asked me what he should write on the card. I emailed him what I wanted and he actually wrote the card for me. They also upgraded our room to a lovely chalet at no charge. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. It was a fantastic stay and thanks to the staff for going above and beyond for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcn5195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weedsport, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from our Jordan adventure and we spent 3 nights here at the Guest House. We were very pleased with everything about it. We had a chalet room which I believe are newer than the rooms that are located right in the hotel. The only bad thing about it was it was just a few extra steps to get to our room but it was quiet and the room was very nice with a nice view so we had no complaints. Our room was very large too with a nice couch and chair in addition to the beds and small table and chairs in the corner. Bathroom was fine and included a hair dryer ... although none of the hair dryers in any of the hotels were very powerful but it worked fine for me.

We got the buffet 2 nights and it was good. It was 14 dinars which worked out to about $20US. A little pricey but I think it was comparable to any place else you'd eat. We were very satisfied with the selection and quality of food ... especially the dessert buffet!!! The breakfast, which was included with our room, was also very good with quite a few choices and an omelette and pancake chef.

I never tried the wi-fi. I know you had to pay for it and I did see a lot of people in the lobby on their smart phones so I'm guessing it worked fine.

All in all, we were VERY pleased with this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The chalet rooms are newer but there are no elevators to them so you do have to walk a bit more and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

You can't stay any closer to Petra. The hotel's entrance is right next to it so it was easy to go to Petra early in the morning and avoid the crowd or nip back to the hotel to wash off the dust from the day and rest the legs. It also has the famous cave bar. We stayed in one of the motel like rooms outside the main buildings - what they call the chalets. The room was spacious and clean and the bed comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to petra.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
195 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location, the setting, the staff, the rooms, and the overall feel of this excellent excellent place makes visit to Petra really nice and uplifting. To complete my visit to Petra, I will stay in this place again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SureshDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Guesthouse

Property: Petra Guesthouse
Address: | Petra Gate Area, Petra - Wadi Musa 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#6 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Guesthouse Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Guesthouse Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing