We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option by the park gate!”
Review of Petra Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petra Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you are looking for a decent hotel just few seconds walking by Petra Park gate, this is the place. Although is an old hotel, the rooms are very well conserved and you can have a pleasant night of sleeping before/after a long walking in the park.

The cave bar in the entrance is also amazing and can anticipate the atmosphere of Petra. It is a very nice place for the evening.

But the location is really the great advantage of the place. You can find the ticket booth just 10 steps from the hotel reception and the park entrance less than 50 meters.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victorsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 966 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is located immediately next to the ticket office and entrance to the Petra site. This is important if you intend making an early start on your long day of exploration. We stayed in a bungalow chalet room adjacent to the main building. Both the bedroom and bathroom were large and very comfortable providing a quiet and comfortable nights sleep. The only criticism was that there was no hot water, it was barely warm and even a request to reception staff made no difference. On the face of it this seems to be a minor point but after a hot and sticky day exploring Petra what we really needed was a good hot shower! The breakfast selection was far better than other 4 star hotels in Jordan.

Room Tip: Avoid the main hotel building and go for a bungalow chalet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastalchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Right next to the entrance to the site at Petra - you can't get any closer!

Room was v spacious (we had one of the chalet rooms).

We didn't eat there apart from breakfast, but food was good.

Great 'cave' to have sheesha in / have a drink, as well as an outdoor courtyard to eat/drink/relax in.

Lovely little kittens surrounding the place - please be kind to them!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MLRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed 2 nights in Petra Guest House. It is not possible to be closer to the entry of the site.
Very nice place with a bar in a cave. Nice room with a huge bed. Some rooms have a view on the site, other (mine) have a view on a sandwall and a fence.
Buffet for breakfast and dinner are ok.
Friendly staff but not very efficient. The second evening , I noticed that the minibar was put in the middle of the entry of the room. I thought some repair was made and it was forgotten there. I went to the reception to inform them. It seemed they were not suprized. They told me they will fix it. One hour later, when i came back, the minibar was still at the same place. Nobody came. The day after, when I left, nothing changed.
No wifi available in the bedrooms. Only in the lobby. It is not free: about 15 JD per day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FREDERIC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have somewhat mixed feelings about the hotel. It's really well situated, rates are excellent, the accommodation well outfitted, fabulous views over Wadi Musa, and steps to the gate of Petra.

That much being said, it really rings of the touristic nature of Petra, and staff seem to want to capitalize on that, in a somewhat non-straightforward manner. Food is fine, but seems to want to cater to North American and European tastes.

Lovely bar, fabulous views -- just need to get over somewhat cloying service and the overwhelming need to arrange everything. Some people may like that -- I like to discover things on my own and get help when I need or want it.

Other than that -- I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenM465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Excellent location, just next to the PETRA entrance. The room is small but very clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, except the waiter in the restaurant. For 2 mornings,we asked for tea, the waiter just pointed to our friend’s(he came earlier) teapot and went away. The breakfast was very limited, but the pancake and omelette were very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueginger118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Guest House is a nice hotel with comfortable rooms. The Hotel is located close to the archeological site of Petra. Restaurant is ok even if a bit expensive. Rooms are cleans. The only bad think was internet that is expensive and extremely slow.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Free F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,669 reviews
1.4 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
220 reviews
1 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Guesthouse

Address: | Petra Gate Area, Petra - Wadi Musa 77110, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#6 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $92 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petra Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Guesthouse Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Guesthouse Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing