We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Petra By Night
from $2,051.29
More Info
from $380.00
More Info
Reviews (2,538)
Filter reviews
2,538 results
Traveler rating
750
492
526
367
403
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
750
492
526
367
403
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional music full moon bring a flashlight hot tea magical experience night tour bedouin tea take photos visit petra candlelight hundreds siq tripod moonlight luminaries introduction canyon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,538 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Petra by night is a different activity which is open after sunset. You walk through the grounds, the Siq and stop at the main facade. The path is illuminated by flickering lamps on the ground. It's interesting to see ghost shadows and mountain silhouettes in the dark but often the path is uneven and tripping is a real risk. Mobile lights are the way out! Finally getting to the Treasury seems worth it, with a bit of music. The cups of tea were really welcome (since I was traveling in late December : it was freezing cold).
Cold was a dampener so be prepared for it.
Elderly and small kids should refrain.

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank rajesh u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Its quite a long walk to the Treasury and the lanterns are not very bright so take a torch but the walk is well worth the reward

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank weekender12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Too short and expensive in my opinion, it started late and didn't last for more than 20 minutes. It might be nicer to see it from above (since there's a way to get there) but going up and down at night is tricky. We felt kind of cheated when it all ended and people using flash and even tablets to take pictures kind of ruined it for us.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank MarijaM929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

We almost didn't go to this because of negative reviews and our guide warning that it had been overtaken by tourists. Actually we loved walking through the candlelit Siq with the accompanying music and to just see The Treasury at night was joyous. If you are going to turn up, talk through the simple Jordanian music performance and even laugh as some tourists do, please do not do the tour as you will spoil it for others who are more considerate and spiritually inclined. Sure, the show is pretty short and it gets busy and the walk is very long. But to miss the beauty of Petra by night would be a mistake in my opinion.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Londoner016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020

I loved this experience. Walking between the rocks, the path iluminated by candles, it really makes you feel like you are some hundreds of years ago. Unfortunatelly there are a lot of people that spoil this effect using the light from their cell phones, it is a pitty. Don't expect to see a show like those you see at Disneyworld. The actors are bedouins, simple jordanian people.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank ketnak2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews