We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated & Under New professional Management”
Review of Moon Valley Hotel

Moon Valley Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petra - Wadi Musa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moon Valley Hotel
Negril, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Newly Renovated & Under New professional Management”
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Because of the over booking in Petra hotels , I was worry to book at this place because of the previous reviews , the idea has been totally changed when I checked in this hotel to find it very nice with very friendly staff .

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janteena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    0
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long beach
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We moved to Moon Valley Hotel after a bad night at a different hotel the night before. But actually, the Mood Valley Hotel was not much better. Worst was our bed did not have a full set of sheets--it was a queen size bed and there was one twin set of sheets up by our heads and another twin sheet down by our feet and no top sheet at all. I asked for a top sheet and it took them 45 minutes to find a sheet. Also, the toilet leaked constantly all over the floor (we had the same problem at the first hotel) and there was terrible cigarette smoke coming in from under the door and from the room next door through a hole in the bathroom wall--we had to stuff towels under the doors. Breakfast was fine--basic--a hard boiled egg and pita bread. The staff was very friendly BUT we noticed everyone was getting charged a variety of rates for the rooms from reasonable to very expensive. Unfortunately, unless you are going to spend a lot of money, the budget hotels in Wadi Musa are not very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

petra,jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2009

Moon valley hotel in Petra , Jordan
The 2 nights i spent in the hotel was perfect the room was clean ,stuff is very helpful and kind ,location is perfect because its in the middle of the road between the market and the sight of Petra city .

When i left the hotel they where in the middle of mountains and fixing anew furniture in the hotel in general

IF YOU LIKE TO BOOK ACCOMMODATION IN THAT HOTEL THESE IS THE INFORMATION TO CONTACT THEM
MOON VALLEY HOTEL (PETRA .JORDAN )
[--]

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asre_petra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gooka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I stayed at Valley Moon with my wife just a few nights back. The stay was littered with positives and negatives.

First, the positives:

- Mohammed, the owner, was very nice and friendly. After what had been a very trying day travelling from Damascus to Wadi Musa, we'd just about had enough. The locals at Wadi Musa had been extremely unhelpful towards us when we were trying to glean information on how to get back to Amman the next afternoon. Mohammed was able to organise a service taxi for us for 35JD, which was about 1/2 of all the other quotes we'd been given.
- The other staff are friendly, although speak little English
- They have internet (1JD/hr) which many of the places we stayed in Syria/Jordan didn't.
- The location is very handy (10min walk) to the entrance of Petra - although most other hotels offer free transfers to/from Petra. The walk uphill to the hotel after a day in Petra does take it out of you though.

Now the negatives:
- The room we stayed in was dirty. The sheets felt unclean, and looked worse - there were stains of some description (possibly blood? or pen - hopefully!) on them. The pillow cases also felt dirty, so we slept with the towels we were given over the pillows - the towels appeared to be clean.
- The fridge had leaked all over the floor, leaving a massive wet patch, and in turn causing a bit of a smell.
- There was no hot water.
- We were charged 30JD for one night, whilst another person we met paid only 11JD for his room - while discrepancies no doubt are regular and can come down to your negotiation ability, we're quite sure this one is because the two guys we paid for a lift from Amman to Wadi Musa we given a cut for bringing us to the hotel. The room definitely wasn't worth 30JD.
- We'd asked for breakfast to be ready at 6am so we could get going early and to Petra first thing, but when we awoke there was no breakfast, only staff sleeping on the sofas in the reception.

It pains me to give the hotel a 'poor' rating, as Mohammed was very helpful and I very much appreciate him getting us a driver, however the hotel itself really needs work done.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

After one night in Rose City Hotel (see other review) up the road checked into this one for three nights. At first all seemed OK. Owner appeared friendly and helpful. I had a nice single room on first floor with view down towards Petra. However this was a mixed blessing as there was a lot of traffic noise from the road below as well as the inevitable wake up call to prayer at 0400, although you would get this wherever you were in Wadi. Comfortable bed and ensuite bathroom. First night was fine. However on second day there, having spent long tiring day in Petra, I returned to find that radiator had leaked badly onto carpet (the thing was hanging off the wall anyway) and no heat coming from it. Then had freezing cold shower. Mentioned this to owner who said that he hadn’t put heating or water on as I was the only guest and it was too expensive !!! Then he attacked radiator with an adjustable spanner to no avail as valves were so badly corroded. He did at least offer me another room for the other two nights stay which was better – a twin for the same price. One slight advantage to location is that it is the closest hotel in Wadi to Petra – believe me those you will appreciate those few less metres after slogging up the hill at the end of the day !!

See review on Rose City Hotel for comments on Wadi and Petra.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ali1221, Owner at Moon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2009
In response to this review, Moon Valley Hotel, under the foresight of new management, has newly and fully renovated its whole facilities. This includes new beds, refurnished rooms, and of course new radiators. With this in mind, and our close proximity to the gates of Petra, we hope you will find our hotel quite accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#6 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3,152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saba'a Hotel
Saba'a Hotel
#4 of 11 in Petra - Wadi Musa
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Valley Hotel

Property: Moon Valley Hotel
Address: Tourist Road, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moon Valley hotel 10 minutes from the main entrance to the Nabatian city of Petra. All our rooms with private bathroom, mini bar and TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moon Valley Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing