We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Petra (Watch out, no heating in winter)”
Review of Sun Set Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Set Hotel
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Having been to Petra once before I knew not to expect much from budget options in Wadi Musa. As things go this place is great. VVVVV close to the site. Don't stay further up hill in main part of town - you will spend too much in taxis or waste time on long uninteresting walks to the hotel (better to save your legs for Petra itself). The carpets are a bit rank. Just wear slippers or old socks. The beds are comfortable. There is wifi downstairs. Free wifi. We left a day early coz it was just too cold at night - no heating and there was a problem with hot water. So we took the money we saved from staying here over Amra palace or other place and headed straight for a posh hotel on the Dead Sea! Stay here but beware the cold in winter. Owners - consider turning the heating on!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 163 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed in this "hotel" for two nights because all other better reasonable hotels were fully booked. We now know why this "hotel" still had availability. It was the worst "hotel" we've ever stayed in. The rooms were old, dated and dirty. The floor carpet was filthy and the beds cheap and uncomfortable. The bottom of our daughter's single bed even fell off while she was sleeping. In addition, the bedsheets and towels were old and looked like the former were not changed and laundered in a long time. The bathroom was tiny and the sink especially was minuscule. Hot water was only available at certain times. Breakfast was very basic at the most. The worst is that it was very cold (being the winter there) and the management of the hotel decided that they only wanted to put the heaters in the room and all around the hotel for FOUR HOURS A DAY (from 8pm-midnight)!!! This meant that you were freezing most of the time in the hotel and you would wake up freezing in the middle of the night in your room. Because of that, we could only take showers during that time as outside of that four hour span, it was so cold in the room that we could not bring ourselves to take off our clothes let alone shower. As a result, our daughter came down with bronchitis after our two night-stay there. All in all, this was a horrible experience for us and this place is definitely more of a low end, filthy hostel backpacker place than a hotel. The ONLY positive thing going for it is its location which is close to the Petra entrance. However, had we known what this place was all about, we would have traded that and paid much more for a better, cleaner hotel which at least provided permanent heat and hot water in their rooms. Stay away from this hotel if you do not want to be disappointed and pay a bit more to stay in a more decent place. We would not stay here ever again even for free.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed two nights in a delux room. The room was large with a king sized bed and an ensuite bathroom. The bathroom was poorly finished and the bath appeared to leak, but we could not work out why this was happening. The bedsheets were too small and could not be tucked in so the mattress was exposed when we lay on the bed. Breakfast was limited but had good yogurt and biscuits. The main feature of this establishment is its proximity to the entrance to Petra and the small cafes nearby. It is really a backpackers rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Nice place, breakfast buffet, free internet but had no hot water. They let me use another room to shower that had hot water. 3 other people had the same problem. Also they only have it hot early morning and after 5pm

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udailady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

The rooms are basic with comfy beds and hot showers. Beware-lots of stairs at this hotel. The breakfast is fine; consistent with any other budget hotel in Jordan. I like that the beds had a wall next to them away from window so easy to sleep in a bit. The proximity to Petra is excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulrebel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Helpful people at the hotel who bring the suitcase al the way up.
Small rooms with no tv or telephone. It was very basic but good enough.
300 meters walk from Petra so that was great. You can take a breakfast at 6:00. It was a very dissapointing breakfast but for € 31 you cant say much.

We slept very well and it was good for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I'm not sure if we booked at a busy time, but we paid 53 JD's (towards £50) a night for a double room for three nights. At that rate I expected a little better, as the room was basic with new but very cheap furniture, and a very basic, old and roughly finished bathroom. The smell of kerrosene early morning and late afternoon also put us off. The air con worked fine, although in a country like Jordan I prefer not to use up their resources and you acclimitise better without it.

However, I loved that we could just wander a few minutes to and from the entrance to Petra without the hassle of arranging taxis, and there is the best eating to be had in Wadi Musa at that bottom end of town.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, breakfast was fine and Jordanian (hummus and bread for breakfast with cucumber and tomato if you want it), although there isn't a huge amount of choice. The free wi-fi was also rather nice, and the free use of 3 PC's in the reception area. Certainly book the packed lunch for 4 JD as it is huge and imaginitive. As well as feed us, the local Petra cats also did pretty well...

So, overall, yes I'd recommend the Sunset for a couple of nights, but it's not a "must go to" place to me.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slug01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Candles Hotel
Candles Hotel
#13 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
#18 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#14 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peace Way Hotel
Peace Way Hotel
#12 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Set Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Set Hotel

Address: Main Tourist St. | PO Box 59, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan (Formerly Petra Sun Set Hotel)
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $31 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sun Set Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Sun Set Hotel is located in the main tourist street of Wadi Musa and only three minute walk from the main gate of the Nabatean City of Petra. Petra Sun Set Hotel rooms are spacious, with private bath/showers Remote control TV and satellite channels and direct dial telephones. We can offer our clients two choices of hotel accommodation, budget and luxury room type.Petra Sunset Hotel has panoramic mountain views of the town of Wadi Musa and convenient placed for shops and restaurants. The Jordanian hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sun Set Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Set Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing