We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and fair price”
Review of Sun Set Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Set Hotel
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I ended up here as a taxi driver recommendation (not something I normally give in to, but I was very tired), but remarkably it turned out to be a much better choice than the guidebook-recommended option I had intended to take.

This hotel is clean and no-fuss, with a decent breakfast. Fair value in this rather expensive country. It is excellently situated just a couple of minutes' walk from the entrance to the Petra archaeological area, and that is its trump card: the guidebooks seem to suggest it might be better to stay further up the Wadi Musa, nearer the centre of the modern town, rather than close to the achaeological site.

For anyone who really wants to maximise their time in the ancient site, the guidebooks' advice is poor. There are plenty of restauarants, mini-markets, change places, and internet connections in the immediate couple of hundred yards before the start of the ancient site, so there is absolutely no reason not to stay in this part of town in preference to the upper Wadi Musa.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Bielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 163 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

I mentioned " Sun Set" Hotel in my " There is Petra and there are Petra's " review regarding such an undescribeable, take your time - instead of rushing going nowhere let's open one's mind and heart to the .- passionate location in the Jordan deser that Petra, is. More than a touristy destination Petra is also a journey into the human spirit. I was lucky to have stayed at the "Sun Set" Hotel, and have met Bilal, the genial ( tough looking bur hearty to the marrow) owner.

Bilal and the hotel's staff were just great. "Sun Set" Hotel's accomodations are comfy, quite clean, and the bountiful breakfast is great for those who need to start the morning having a lunch of sorts ( but for this one here an apple and tea suffice - keep the breakast in my room or wrapped it up and take it with me to nourish this body-mind while having a break at exploring the quite a few ( demanding ) trails crisscrossing the endless revelations that Petra has to offer - provided that one can walk the walk of course and ignore those guides who mistreat their donkeys and horse - although those about sorrowful practices are being challenged right now by a more conscious approach to treat those working animals with more respect - and care. Still there is work to do about that.

" Sun Set" Hotel's great location and premises are worth to consider while visiting ( or rushing " to do" - sigh...) Petra. For this traveler and wanderlust senior footloosing on a shoe string budget ( as always...) Bilal has been a wonderful help, and here goes to you and to your staff at "Sun Set" Hotel a heartfelt shukran ( thank you) for your kindness, Bilal.

Room Tip: room to the interior - you can a view while waking not necessarily when sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed at the hotel next door, petra palace hotel - rooms are basic, but great service and staff. thanks lubna for the good tips around petra. petra palace serves good spread for breakfast and dinner (JD12).

as for petra sunset hotel, lubna recommended that i speak to belal for tours/transport. belal arranged wadirum with wild wadi rum, which was decently priced for 2D/1N tour around the desert. breakfast at the desert was a tad disappointing. but overall good tour by hussein and eid. the camp was clean and offers a great view both during sunset and sunrise. the best surprise from belal was the driver from wadi rum to queen alia airport (7hours including stops along the way, the likes of dead sea, mount nebo, ghore fifa, etc.). tawfeeq was great fun, with good knowledge of the route along king's highway. thanks. umk fe al daaar.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cekalitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We got a double room with bathroom, really nice breakfast, wi-fi just at the reception and very slow for about US$ 37,50 (25JD). It was clean and tidy. Like always, everybody smokes in the lobby and the TV is always in some arabic channerl, but this is Jordan. The staff is really nice and gave us all the information we needed about Petra and about our next destination. 100 meters from the Petra entrance. Remember if you stay in Wadi Musa (the town where Petra is near) you will have to spend in taxi to go and to return. And believe me you will need a taxi after one day of walking in Petra. This will be US$ 9 (6JD) . The hotel even has a nice lunch box (we pay 4JD) for you to take to Petra since there is only one restaurant there and it is not possible to come back for lunch. Near the hotel there are restaurants at reasonable prices and a market (without prices like always in Jordan). We did not walk till Wadi Musa (the town near) because we were too tired. We bought water from the nearby super.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of my trip with Intrepid Travel. I found this hotel to be quite acceptable and convenient. There is lots of restaurants nearby, a small supermarket below the hotel and even a Turkish bath a few mins away.

The room I had was spacious. I found the mattress to be a little hard for my liking but I did have a comfortable sleep especially after walking around Petra all day.

The shower is a standup but there is a good amount of pressure and hot water. Toilet was fine.

Breakfast that is included is basic Egyptian e.g. bread, jam, yogurt, hard boiled egg, cheese, juices.

Wifi is included but I swear management turned it off when our group arrived as all of us were in the lobby uploading pictures and we must have used up all their bandwidth.

Noise is a slight issue as our bed was beside the door and there's not much sound proofing. Ear plugs fixed this problem easily.

The fan in the room is extremely loud even on the lowest setting. Open the windows instead.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I arrived late night and I paid partly (15%) for the room over the booking site already. However I had to pay all 100% for the room when i got there. It was cheap so I did not argue with the person or anything. The guy also tried to sell me a tour guide which I ended up didn't take.

The room was ok. I was there in January so it was quite cold. Not sure they have heater. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concorde02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We wanted to stay at Petra Moon, but of course, it was booked up. We checked out Sunset on the advice of our driver, and were very happy with the value. Jordan is expensive, and Petra itself costs $80 to enter. The Sunset cost about $50/night and was a mere 7 minute walk to the entrance of Petra (believe me after 12 hours a day wandering through Petra, every step back to the hotel can be a challenge!). Being very budget-conscious, Sunset was perfect- conveniently located and reasonably priced for the area. The room had a slightly grungy carpet but was otherwise very clean (see photos).

Other travellers seemed to have no problem with the hotel's in-house travel agency, but they kept us waiting for hours and seemed disorganized enough that we decided just to go down the street. Nevertheless, staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi was free in the lobby. Breakfast was included and nothing special (but I like boiled eggs and hummus so I was satisfied).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bzchrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Candles Hotel
Candles Hotel
#13 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
442 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#14 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
#18 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peace Way Hotel
Peace Way Hotel
#12 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Set Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Set Hotel

Address: Main Tourist St. | PO Box 59, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan (Formerly Petra Sun Set Hotel)
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $31 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sun Set Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Sun Set Hotel is located in the main tourist street of Wadi Musa and only three minute walk from the main gate of the Nabatean City of Petra. Petra Sun Set Hotel rooms are spacious, with private bath/showers Remote control TV and satellite channels and direct dial telephones. We can offer our clients two choices of hotel accommodation, budget and luxury room type.Petra Sunset Hotel has panoramic mountain views of the town of Wadi Musa and convenient placed for shops and restaurants. The Jordanian hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sun Set Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Set Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing