We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking distance from the archaeological site”
Review of Sun Set Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Set Hotel
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed September 2, 2011

it's a cheap and fairly good hotel, we paid almost € 30,00 a night, breakfast included, for a double room with bathroom.
We went in September 2009 and the fan was enough because it wasn't so hot and sultry. I suggest You to verify if now there are rooms with air conditioning, especially if You plan Your trip in July or August.

Room Tip: ask before if there are rooms with air conditioning instead of a fan
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Sun Set Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

Great location and price.
The staff doesn't bug you but are helpful if you have questions. Clean rooms, basic breakfast and free internet. Last year I stayed at a place up the hill and I have to say - it was nice not having to make the extra trek. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The location is fantastic within minuites walk to Petra gates. Our room was very nice, clean and with the needed amenities that made it a comfortable stay.
Front desk was very helpful in arranging transportation to our next destination.
Breakfast was basic. Computers with internet were availiable for use.
Nothing to complain about for the price or location of this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Just a few minutes walk from the Bus Station - Don't let any taxi driver take you there and charge you.

Just your average three star hotel in Wadi Musa - nice breakfast and average rooms.
Very good location and nice staff

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

The cheap rooms are cheerless, foam pads on the bedsteads, and mine smelled odd. I upgraded (at about twice the cost but still reasonable) and was very happy with my new digs--like night and day. Working frig, wi-fi in the room, etc. The location is near the entrance to Petra, very helpful given the long walk through the Siq. It is above a market where you can pick up water, etc. If you want alcohol, you can get it at the 4* hotel next door in the bar. The shops are not allowed to sell it. There is an ATM in nearby Movenpick 5* hotel, which is worth a trip through their security at the back to see the beautiful decor.

Room Tip: Pay for the higher priced rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_foodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I hadn't booked prior to arrival, but had heard about it from a taxidriver in Madaba, and my Amman hotel driver also recommended it. It is marvellously close to the site, and the room was spacious and cheap [25 JD a night; 20JD if you stay 3 nights]. The fittings are a bit cheap, but everything worked, the shower was hot, the internet free, and the manager happy to arrange a tour on your terms [mine to Wadi Rum involved 2 days and 2 nights based at a temporary camp with female goatherds - not quite the usual setup, I imagine!]. My room was spotless, and the toilet bin was emptied daily. Yes, the sheets are a little small for the bed. Big problem? I think not. My main gripe is that they heated the room too much, and I couldn't turn it down. The review headed "stay away from this dump" was unrecognizable as this hotel. Breakfast was ample, if unexciting, but served at 5.30 the morning I left so I could eat before catching the 6.15 bus. The wake up call was on the dot. The evening meal [western style] was a bit tasteless, but OK. I'd rank this hotel above average, but short of 'very good' as it has no character.[See above]

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ted059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed in this hotel at very last minute's notice, having had a bad experience not getting our reserved rooms in the Cleopetra.
The Sun Set Hotel is clean. The beds are fine. The bathrooms are tiny, but we had hot showers, which was all we needed. The rooms were basic, but comfortable and toasty warm!
Breakfast was more than we expected and we enjoyed the free internet access.
The staff were pleasant and reliable. We left our bags there after checking out, but still needing the day in Petra, and they were so accomodating. Refreshing after the other place.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank NashCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Candles Hotel
Candles Hotel
#14 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Valley Stars Inn
Valley Stars Inn
#21 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Set Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Set Hotel

Address: Main Tourist St. | PO Box 59, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan (Formerly Petra Sun Set Hotel)
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $31 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sun Set Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Sun Set Hotel is located in the main tourist street of Wadi Musa and only three minute walk from the main gate of the Nabatean City of Petra. Petra Sun Set Hotel rooms are spacious, with private bath/showers Remote control TV and satellite channels and direct dial telephones. We can offer our clients two choices of hotel accommodation, budget and luxury room type.Petra Sunset Hotel has panoramic mountain views of the town of Wadi Musa and convenient placed for shops and restaurants. The Jordanian hospitality awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sun Set Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Set Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing