We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun night of cooking near Petra”
Review of Petra Kitchen

Petra Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE PETRA KITCHEN is a delightful way to round out your Jordan travel experiences. Like any home kitchen, THE PETRA KITCHEN is a relaxed, informal atmosphere where you'll gather to prepare an evening meal, working alongside local women under the supervision of our chef. Each evening meal includes soup, cold and hot mezza and salads, and a main course-all typical Jordanian dishes. You will have get an inside glimpse of the secrets behind the famous regional cuisine of the Levant. THE PETRA KITCHEN offers an evening of learning, fun and a very special dining experience, with each dish gaining the special flavor of a reward well-earned. Great care has been taken to make THE PETRA KITCHEN a truly Jordanian experience-right down to the furnishings, all crafted in Jordan, the tableware, all produced by the Iraq al Amir Women's Co-operative, and the aprons and table linens, all hand-embroidered by the Jordan River Foundation. The regular price of 35 JD / per person. includes the cuisine course, meal and all non-alcoholic beverages as well as take-home recipes for all dishes prepared that evening. Special 5-night cuisine classes are also available, where in addition to the nightly sessions you will make shopping trips to the local markets with our chef. The 5-night classes include special arrangements for hotel accommodations, visits to Petra, and discounts on food products and other gift items available at THE PETRA KITCHEN and the MADE IN JORDAN gallery.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun night of cooking near Petra”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was traveling solo and looking for an activity the evening I was in Wadi Musa. As I also love to cook, I decided to spend the evening at Petra Kitchen. There was a group of lively, French tourists and a few other couples. The staff was entertaining and energetic. The food was great. And it was a fun activity!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jwulwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    50
    19
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoy local cuisine in Jordan at the Petra Kitchen!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Loved it! What a wonderful experience to learn about Jordanian cooking and food. They were very professional and friendly. I went with my parents, who are in their mid-70's and foodies. Definitly book in advance as they are popular. I highly recommend The Petra Kitchen. Ample amounts of food were made and the leftovers were then given to local Jordanians, which is good to know that it didn't go to waste.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, TX
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our evening at Petra Kitchen. We learned how to prepare some fascinating and delicious dishes, some general cooking tips and received the recipes. They even took into account our vegetarianism as much as possible. The highlight of the evening was meeting people from around the world, like Italy and France, as well as the Jordanian chefs. This is a great way to spend an evening if you're seeing Petra.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texastential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Discovering Local Cuisine with Petra Kitchen”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was my second trip to Petra. A friend told me about Petra Kitchen and I signed up with my friend who was visiting from the US. We loved it! We're both foodies and were thrilled to have the opportunity to not only eat but assist with the preparation of regional cuisine. It was obvious from the very beginning that Petra Kitchen knows their audience. Ours that night included a group of tourists from France/Canada and a lovely couple from Scotland. The night was organized and orchestrated by Ali and the two chefs. Ali, the host with the most, introduced to the menu, ingredients, and preparation to expect. The chefs, walked us through each step, guiding us expertly along the way. The evening culminated with a beautifully set table where we were able to enjoy the foods we had prepared: Shourbat Adas (Lentil Soup), Fatoosh, Cucumber & Tomato Salad, Magluba (Upside Down) to name a few of the dishes. We were given the recipes at the end of the evening, too!

We had a memorable night! I highly recommend it if you enjoy learning about local cuisine as much as you like eating it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcc0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cook Your Own Fun”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

There is not much to do in Petra in the evening but Petra's Kitchen is a little jewel in the crown. Not only does it supply a great evening out but the food we cooked was excellent. All of the staff were really friendly and entertained us throughout. We met some great people from around the world too and shared our Petra stories. Would definitely recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DASands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petra Kitchen also viewed

Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
Petra - Wadi Musa, Ma'in Governorate
 

Been to Petra Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing