We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Must conquer hill for rest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Hotel

Venus Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venus Hotel
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must conquer hill for rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Like most reviews about this place, It's for people on a tight budget. It's the cheapest place that is 100m from the entrance. Movenpick and Crowne Plaza are pretty close but pricey. The only thing is, to get to this place, you must conquer this steep road. Let me tell you, it's alot of work after walking for hours. If you plan to go see the treasury early in the morning (6am) this place can't be beat. The place is alittle run down but if you plan to be out most of the day and you need a place to sleep, this is it. Sheets are changed everyday and they are clean. I felt like I was on an episode of Seinfeld on how tight the bed spreads were. The rooms are small. You have just enough room to drop your luggage. Our room had a tv and a small fridge. There's a toilet and shower in the room. The toilet seat and toilet cover would not stay up. One night, the shower had no hot water. You have to go down and ask them to turn the water heater on. WIFI is only available downstairs and it's free. Our room had AC which is a must in Jordan and the cold keeps the mosquitos away. There is a restaurant upstairs. We only used it in the morning for the buffet. If you plan to go to see the treasury early, you can ask them to make you breakfast bag. It's a traditional breakfast. you get a cucumber, tomato, bread. Local restaurants are a 5 minute walk from the place. Staff are friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

We moved to the Venus from the Movenpick because we felt like we were wasting money at the Movenpick. The Hotel Venus is right next to the Movenpick with possibly a better view. The Venus is a no frills place but not a bad deal if you are on a budget (Movenpick was $150US, Venus was $45US). The rooms were run down but the sheets were clean. The bathroom was relatively clean. Fortunately, the toilet worked but I will admit that the seat was broken off and you needed to do some balancing. The breakfast at the Venus wasn't worth walking upstairs for, except for free coffee. The guy at the front desk was helpful. The place wasn't great, but not horrible, and better than many of the places up the hill in Wadi Musa.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebruddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with a group on an Intrepid Tour. Yes, it was very run down and the rooms were tatty but we had a bit of a laugh about it - especially when one of our group had a toilet overflow which created a huge waterfall down the stairs! The staff were friendly enough and kindly let us use the internet for no charge, and there was breakfast and it was very good by Jordanian standards - boiled eggs, dukkha, pita bread, halwa etc. Some of the showers didn't work (mine did, so I was very popular!). I wouldn't go back there, and actually wouldn't recommend it unless it was very cheap and you have a sense of humour about it, but I've stayed in worse!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The showers
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

We were on a tour with a small group and were booked into this hotel by the agent last month.

What a disaster. A small poky entrance, broken furniture stacked nearby, unfriendly staff. When we got to the rooms, the situation didn't improve. Some of us found used linen, used soap, and our toilet didn't flush. The agent refused to move us saying there were no other rooms in Petra.

Our group of 12 unanimously walked out and went next door to the Petra Moon, and immediately saw a world of difference. Unsurprisingly, we found lots of availability. I will enter a separate review for that, but suffice to say that we found out the Venus was charging JOD 28 without breakfast for shabby rooms when Petra Moon charged JOD 30 with breakfast and much better accommodation.

I understand that the agency has removed the Venus Hotel from its lists and I recommend that other travellers take this route.

  • Liked — that we left and didn't have to stay
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Candles Hotel
Candles Hotel
#16 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#19 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Home Hotel- Petra
My Home Hotel- Petra
#13 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edom Hotel Petra
Edom Hotel Petra
#12 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Property: Venus Hotel
Address: Wadi Mousa Torsim Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 00962, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing