We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, helpful staff, basic facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silk Road Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Silk Road Hotel to your Saves list
Silk Road Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Near visitor Center | PO Box 101, Petra - Wadi Musa 71811, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Well located, helpful staff, basic facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel located just next to the Movenpick, around 100 meters from the visitor center which allowed us to join the boring Petra by Night (not recommended) without even using a taxi! Rooms are quite big & bed is comfortable, The furniture are quite old & not modern at all however in a good condition...Dinner was excellent, breakfast quite basic (no salads, no olives etc...)

Bottom line, very good hotel to stay at for those need basic accommodation with excellent location!

Room Tip: It's all about service & location, those both at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfir s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
13
22
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel shuts off the water heater for most of the day and all night. I begged, I pleaded, I was denied. I find a cold shower an unpleasant experience in January in Petra.

Wifi is available in the rooms, for 1 JOD/hour. A very indifferent breakfast is included.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trachaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

Lod, Israel
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This is the second time i visit Petra and as always its magnificent.The hotel is really nice and pretty,stuff is pleasant and helpful and speaking good English,rooms are specious and clean,we didn't quite manage to switch on the TV,but its not for viewing TV we came for. And the food is really really good-and great choice of different salads,meats,rice.We had the supper and the breakfast included and then we came back for dinner as well,only 15 $ a person,the fish was especially tasty. And of course the greatest plus the entrance to Petra is couple of minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tensi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We arrived there last weekend in the middle of a snow storm just a little while after the roads opened for access to Wadi Musa. We were received in a very friendly way and reached our room to rest after quite a wild trip to get there. I happens to be the second time we go there and the rooms were good as usual and the food very tasty. The hotel might not be a big and luxurious place but the attitude of the people that work there made our stay really nice.

Room Tip: The important thing about the hotel is that it is so close to Petra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived in Wadi Musa without a hotel booking, and the Silk Road was the first we tried with a room available in the Petra gate area. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the older gentleman who appeared to be the head honcho and having checked the room we negotiated a suitable rate for the three bed room bearing in mind we only needed two beds. The room was really large and had air-con, not that we needed it. The beds were extremely comfortable and bedding clean. There is a TV and amongst the hundreds of Arabic channels you should find BBC World & CNN (I chanced upon camel racing whilst channel hopping) The bathroom was also quite large and has a bath. I fancied a soak after a very long day in Petra but by the time I had stripped down, I discovered there was no bath plug. I would imagine one is available but with water being a precious commodity they possibly don't encourage the use of the bath ? My partner had taken the option of the Turkish bath and body scrub etc. in the women's hammam downstairs from the hotel (the men's hammam is on the ground floor at street level. Breakfast was buffet style offering a wide selection of the usual fare. On the second day there were even some hot sausages on offer.

Although the Silk Road is on the road leading to Petra visitor centre (less than five minute walk) it is actually the back of the hotel, the main entrance and reception is at the back(?) of the hotel. You can however access the hotel from the main street using stairs or the lift. On the main street under Silk Road is Petra's Kitchen a restaurant / cooking school where you can learn how to cook and eat your own Jordanian dishes. We didn't try it but it appeared to be very popular the two evenings we were there. If like me you enjoy a beer after a long hot day you will not get one at the Silk Road however there are a couple of options quite close. The Wrangler bar (?) is in the Petra Palace Hotel a couple of minutes walk on the main street away fro Petra gate. You can't miss the Guinness sign protruding from the front of the bar. On our visit you needed to enter via main hotel entrance. It is a small bar serving beer, wine and spirits. The price of the beer ranged from 4.5JD to 5JD (actual price) about the same as most café bars we used during our tour of Jordan.

Your other option. the Cave Bar in the Petra Gate Guest house complex is a different matter. Located down main street and through Petra visitor centre, the bar is built into a cave with ancient columns outside. They had draught Amstel which at first glance at the menu seemed to be priced a touch high at 5.5JD for 500ml. HOWEVER look closely at the bottom of the menu and you will find that this price excludes a 10% service charge AND the 16% government tax and you end up paying 7JD !!! The exclusion of these two hidden charges was fairly common in touristy type restaurants so be aware. But if you're gagging after a long day in Petra it is conveniently located next to the gate on your way out !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was in this hotel with my wife for 2 nights, every thing was good, room was clean, breakfast was good, and most important is the location, it is only 150 meters from petra visitor center which makes the trip easy.
internet service is available , but you need to know that they charge JOD 1 for each hour - not bad
I do highly recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1952nasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have spent there 1 night during our 2 days visit to Jordan. In general the place was quite Ok, but you shouldn't expect too much.
Our room was quite big,bed were too soft, linen was crumpled but clean. Internet was available in the lobby, they asked 1 JOD for 1 hour.
Both dinner and breakfast were edible, not big selection however.
The hotel's location is perfect: it's around 300 meters from the main entrance to the Petra park. There are also some restaurants and stores around.
I think If the price is reasonable (I booked a package tour so I don't know how much the hotel rate was) you can stay there.

Room Tip: If you don't like a heavy tobacco smell, ask for non-smoking room while checking in. Check your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al-Grin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra - Wadi Musa
0.0 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#4 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#2 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
BelleVue Hotel
BelleVue Hotel
#38 of 138 in Amman
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Road Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Road Hotel

Property: Silk Road Hotel
Address: Near visitor Center | PO Box 101, Petra - Wadi Musa 71811, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silk Road Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Silk Road Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silk Road Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing