We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent hotel for a good price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petra Diamond Hotel
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for a good price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Rooms were pretty clean and comfortable, although our toilet didn't flush consistently. The shower was adequate. The lobby was nice and had free Wi-Fi.. It was quite empty (our first night we were the only people staying there, the following night another group of 3 were there). Had a nice patio and the workers always offered us some tea.
Breakfast was less than thrilling, as was the lunch packed for us for Petra.
Also, be aware that VERY FEW taxi drivers and residents knew where the hotel was. It was only about 3-4 minutes from the town area but kind of in a back road of a residential area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catchmeifucan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
6
9
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Location and budget are the main attractions. Within easy walking distance of Petra and much cheaper compared with other hotels. Fairly basic but made a budget friendly base for sightseeing. nice view from the roof .

Room Tip: higher room prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaklenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

First Impressions: The façade was made to look like Petra's Al-Khazneh (Treasury), down to its colour and texture. If you didn't know that, you'd think it's quaint; otherwise, it's a tacky marketing ploy.

PROS: The rooms are clean and decent, although the furnishings are spartan and dated. There is complimentary breakfast, parking and WiFi. The staff was friendly and helpful (especially Mohammed at the desk); they will greet you with a glass of cold orange juice. And they can book tours or arrange rides for you.

CONS: Location is not its best asset. It is perched atop a hill, about 2 km from Petra's entrance. Walking down may not pose a problem, but getting back might be. And there's nothing much around the hotel, maybe a tiny store here and there. Averaging about £24 pp per night, it is slightly expensive for a one-star rated hotel, even by Jordanian standards. The amenities are very basic and rudimentary. Not much of a view and some rooms are small. The plumbing can be noisy at times, especially at lower floors, what with all that flushing and showering.

Liked: The front and rooftop patio

Disliked: The location

Verdict: Look, I'm not a fussy traveler. And I do not visit a place only to veg out in my hotel room. This place is adequate for an overnight stay, especially in a pinch but, for longer stays, there are better offers in town. Grade B.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a triple-share (too small) or a basement room (too noisy). If you do, you'll r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eternal_Nomad_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night duing the visit to Petra. Really liked the place. Room was okay. I wasnt expecting any better or worse. The good thing here was that the staff was helpfull. They helped us to book camps in wadi rum. They also had a documentries about Jordan which we saw in the common room - I found it very informative. Hotel is not far from the enterence gate to Petra. One can easily walk - although coming back might be challange since walking inside all day would be tiring and the way back to the hotle is up hill. I didnt like the food much. But all in all good stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbivore_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

After reading the reviews I thought it would be a good hotel, value for the money.... I am user to stay in little one star backpackers hotel. So I am used to small rooms, not much comfort, etc... but entering my room in this hotel was such a dissappointment....Ok it was clean, but that's all, there are cheaper hotels, with much better rooms. So I had a clean room, and the hotel is situated in a good place. Now...why I didn't like the hotel: the room was so so small, we were with two persons and there was just place enough for the two of us, but...to put our luggage? ...and then, the reason why I gave it only one star: everytime, but everytime, someone was using the shower or...in the night the toilet we heard the water running! Secondly our room was next to the big machine outside the hotel for the airco in the rooms (I really don't know the right name). ....Our room was down (like in the cellar) so my guess is that the rooms up are much more better. But we stayed here two days and I couldn't sleep, each time the noise of running water from the toilets..grrrrr...........

Room Tip: don't take the rooms downstairs!! they are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this nice place. Spacious, clean rooms for a good price, very friendly and helpful staff, a good restaurant and a nice roof terrace, internet available. 10 minutes walk downhill to the entrance to the ruins.
They organised a perfect one day- tour to the Dead Sea and we can highly recommend our taxi driver Mahmoud Hassanat (Mobile 0772246962).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GINEANNELIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

You'll never forget this hotels facade that's for certain. And its excellent view on Wadi Mousa from the roof top terrace (bring a coat though).

The rooms are small but have all you need for exploring Petra: a bed, a shower and airconditioning. Breakfast is fine with the usual salads, toast, yogurt and cornflakes. If you're with a group they can organize a buffet on the rooftop terrace. You can get the Wifi access code for a single dinar and then use it for your entire stay.

The hotel is located outside the city center, but getting to it on foot is easy if you don't mind taking the gravel road down hill. Back up is most easily done by taxi which do have meters, however the drivers prefer the 5 dinar quote if you ask for a price onforehand. (use the meter instead!)

Sometimes waterpressure is low, which is followed by the spectacular filling of the watertanks by truck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connaisseur42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra - Wadi Musa
0.0 mi away
Tower Hotel
Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dana
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edom Hotel Petra
Edom Hotel Petra
#12 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Gate Hotel
Petra Gate Hotel
#5 of 11 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#5 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 2,687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#6 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Diamond Hotel

Property: Petra Diamond Hotel
Address: Al-falahat street, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Hotel Class:1 star — Petra Diamond Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Petra Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Diamond Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing