We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petra Diamond Hotel
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed December 20, 2011

To start with let me just say that Mohammed (manager) organized many things for us even with me leaving it until the last minute. He arranged a ride from the airport for us. Then when we arrived at the hotel they provided dinner for us (which was an excellent Jordanian dish - absolutely yummy). Any time that we needed something all we had to do was ask Mohammed and he would help us out the best that he could. He drove us places. Helped arrange a Bedouin experience in Wadi Rum as well.
The only slightly negative things were that the wifi worked best only in the lobby (where lots of smoking happens). Our second dinner and breakfasts were good but not as good as that first dinner. And there wasn't any cleaning that happened in our room for our whole duration. I never mentioned anything about this during our stay as it wasn't a huge deal to us but just thought I would mention it. The shower leaked a bit so our bath mat was wet the whole time.
But I have to say that the staff there just can't be beat. They are the best and will make your time in Petra the best it can be.
The walk up the hill is good for your heart!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HASANAT95, Guest Relations Manager at Petra Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

thanks Allen for your review . here in petra and specially in petra diamond hotel we try to do the best for our guest to make Their trip enjoyable . i hope that you enjoy in your world trip .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

Very friendly and helpful Staff . Excellent standard of cleanliness . Good value for money. Breakfast excellent and dinners also just make sure that do not deliver too much ! Elevated and has a great view across Petra and quick to pop straight down the hill to the entrance of wonderful Petra.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This hotel is not too far from Petra, but nothing really is in Wadi Musa. The rooms are very simple and out-of-date, but since you're going to be spending all day (and possibly evening) wandering around Petra, what do you really need? Avoid a triple share room though - ours didn't have enough room for the beds and the three people to move around. We immediately complained and were given new accommodation.

The staff were very accomodating and willing to help.

Free wifi is available in the lobby/reception area.

There is a small market about a two minute walk away - just turn left out of the hotel and where the road splits into a Y shape, the market is on your right.

Our group ate dinner both nights at the hotel. It wasn't bad, but I would recommend trying something else in the area. The hotel dinner was a little expensive in my opinion for what was offered. The view from the fifth floor terrace was nice though.

It's a simple hotel, but more than adequate in my opinion.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank neferTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Was there with friends after looking for hotels in Petra on same day. Paid like 200 USD for room (all big hotels fully booked). Totally rip-off.

Looked like cheap hostel. I could give a two/three star rating if they would have normal prices, but they take advantage of Petra, being such a small place with so many tourists.

OK:

- Staff were friendly. No problems here.
- Views are not all bad, to the mountains.
- Relatively clean, but very oldish.

Disliked:

- Horrible buffet breakfast.
- Location is far from center, a bit run-down area (anyway, Petra is a small safe city).

Definitely book in advance something better or spend more money in your 1-2 nights in Petra.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danudanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HASANAT95, Guest Relations Manager at Petra Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

thanks sir for your good review . i know its too late to comments in your review . now just i wanna explane something for you and for all guest about what you paid (200USD) . at the first your original reservation was in other hotel , and thats hotel was full ,so they made reservation for you in our hotel . actually you paid (200USD ) for them ( we dont know that ) and we charged them like 55 USD .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Friendly personnel, food was good, but very isolated and very simple rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed here one night, and the hotel was very nice. It was part of a tour that we had booked, and mostly we booked places that were cheaper than this one. The staff were very friendly and obliging. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZhingstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

If you're looking for a luxury hotel, move on to the Mövenpick, and be prepared to pay a lot more.
This one is clean, friendly staff, good food, and a nice lobby for a drink and a talk.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zetep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HASANAT95, Guest Relations Manager at Petra Diamond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

thanks sir for your review . We have general maintenance for the hotel , rooms and bathrooms are new, also the restaurant, we added terrace overlooking to petra mountains . Also new furniture for each supplements in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra - Wadi Musa
0.0 mi away
Tower Hotel
Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dana
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#6 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3,346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Diamond Hotel

Address: Al-falahat street, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Hotel Class:1 star — Petra Diamond Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Diamond Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing