We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpful staff..”
Review of Valley Stars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley Stars Inn
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Value for money, extremely helpful staff, all arrangements were successful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgandlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 181 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2010

Clean, attractive hotel very close to Petra with complementary lifts to and from the gates...very welcome after a long day of walking and riding through Petra. Like all hotels in Jordan and Turkey, the owner makes all the difference to your stay. In this case Ibrahim helped to organize much needed last minute travel plans at a good price and assisted with the best itinerary suggestions for my all-too-short stay in Petra. Highlights, for me, were the sunset tour through Little Petra, the home-cooked banquet Ibrahim's mother prepared one evening at Valley Stars Inn and a glorious afternoon spent on the upper plateau close to the Monastery. It is my great ambition to return to Jordan, and I plan to book this Inn again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoFromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

This place is good value for money - you won't get all the modern looks but it has a homely feel due to the owner. The rooms are clean and simple with basic decor. Internet is available. The home cooked meal by the owner's mother was fantastic and highly recommended, one of the best meals in Jordan. The owner is very friendly and helpful. There are a few hotels closer to the actual site of Petra but they charge a fortune and are not particularly great. There is no point in being right next to Petra as it takes a long time to get in and out so one only does it once a day one wouldn't come home for a break at midday. The hotel also has a complimentary shuttle to the petra site, but even if one doesn't have this it is just a few dollars if needed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Petra.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We arrived in Wadi Musa completely unprepared and tired. We are a family of five with three adult children ages 20, 24 and 26. Ibrahim, the owner, immediately sat down that very second, made calls and rearranged our four days in Wadi Musa (Petra) and Wadi Rum. Without his connections with drivers, tour guides and over all knowledge of what was open and when, we could not have experienced Petra and the Wadi Rum area the way it needs to be done. Plus, he saved us a bundle not having to go through agencies or the recommended "Jordan Jubilee" contacts we had checked out the prior evening in Mabdaba.

One of the high points in Wadi Musa was the private guide/archeologist arranged by Ibrahim who took us on an extensive walk through Petra. I would highly recommend Ahmed to anyone who wants to learn more than what the guide book has to say. He has worked at the site since he was a young boy and is fluent in English, Italian, and of course, Arabic. He is highly educated and insightful and created a perfect first day at Petra for our family. He told us which paths to hike on the second day to get a true feeling for the size and scope of the Petra area. He was not wrong, Petra is magnificent.

We were ultimately driven to Wadi Rum and met up with a resident bedouin guide selected by Ibrahim, and visited this marvelous site for the day. We had no time to sleep in the desert but were driven throughout the steaming valley in an air conditioned 4X4 truck, stopping at the places we wanted to see. Then we climbed a bluff and waited for the sun to set.

The Valley Stars Hotel is not located at the entrance of Petra which we considered a plus. We could walk down the hill to plenty of restaurants, ATM machines and shops. The staff at the hotel were kind, helpful and knowlegeable and provide transportation from the hotel to the entrance of the Petra site.

When I return, I will go back to the Valley Stars Hotel as Ibrahim helped create a most perfect vacation. We are very thankful to his attention to detail.

Susie Flores
San Antonio, Texas

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susieflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Nicely located, small and cozy boutique hotel. friendly and helpful stuff, warm athmosphere. Rooms are clean and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrinkaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

A lovely family run inn. Excellent accommodation, with beautiful home cooked food.
Roof terrace with views over Wadi Mousa and the hills around Petra - especially beautiful at sunset.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broughtonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

my friend and i spent 3 nights here at the end of april ..
and as others have said ... the rooms are basic... no frills... ( but i didnt come to petra to spend my time in my room) ... clean, functional, quiet. A fair distance from Petra, but they provide transport to the site 2 twice daily ( and probably more if you simply ask ..)

We found this family run business to be utterly delightful, helpful, friendly and the best food we ate in Jordan... We were there 3 nights... ate all our breakfasts there and 2 of 3 dinners ... ( eating elsewhere ... was a mistake )

Ibrahim and his family were full of fun .. information.. advice ... and assisted us in making arrangements for further adventures. Dinner with the other guests in this almost b and b type setting was also most enjoyable

as i said... i'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsonlyme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,620 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Petra
Movenpick Resort Petra
#6 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peace Way Hotel
Peace Way Hotel
#12 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Stars Inn

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 88, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $21 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SERVICES: Breakfast: A complimentary continental breakfast is served in the dining room from 6.30 am to 10.00 am daily. Shuttle Service to the Ancient City of Petra. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to the main entry gates daily departing at:• 7.00 am• 8:30 am. Please meet in reception approximately 5 minutes prior to departure. We also offer a complimentary pick up service at:• 3.00 pm• 6.00 pm. Your driver will advise you of the appropriate pick up location. As a courtesy to all guests, please ensure that you are on time for pick up. As we appreciate that you may wish to spend more time enjoying the historic Ancient City whilst you are there and not rush to meet the courtesy bus, should you wish to make your own way back to the VSI, taxis are available at a small cost. We can advise you what a taxi fare should cost so that you can negotiate this with your driver before the commencement of your journey. Depending on seasonality we may be able to offer flexible drop off and pick up times. Please speak to our driver who will advise if he is able to accommodate your request. Customised Tour Service: As we appreciate that coordinating transport, accommodation, and other tour requirements can be tiring and often frustrating, we can personally customize and arrange your tour to suit your requirements. With our local knowledge we will ensure that you receive the best service and value for money. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance to you and we will do our best to meet your requests as well as budget. Taxi Service: We can arrange a 24 hour taxi service to take you anywhere within Jordan. Restaurant: During peak seasons (15 September to 15 November and 1 March to 15 May) we offer affordable, delicious and traditional Jordanian homecooked meals to be enjoyed in either our dining room or on the roof terrace. Please contact reception to confirm whether our restaurant is open during your stay. Alcoholic Beverages: Alcohol is not available however please feel free to bring your own to drink at the hotel. Complimentary Tea and Coffee (one per guest per day). If you would like to enjoy a complimentary traditional tea or Turkish coffee in our lounge, please ask a member of our staff at reception who would be delighted to make your one. Safety Deposit Boxes: Safety deposit boxes are available at reception for the security of your valuables. Please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Packed Lunch: If you would like us to prepare a packed lunch for you at a small cost, please contact reception before 8 pm the night before. Please also advise us the time of morning that you will be requiring your lunch to be made available to you. Internet and WIFI service: We offer a free high speed internet service and WIFI in the reception area. Please contact a member of staff who will be able to assist in setting you up. Drinking Water: Bottled water is available in reception for 1JD per 2 litre bottle. Please contact a member of staff who will be able to assist you. If you would like us to freeze a bottle of water for you so that it can stay cool during your tour or onward journey, please advise us the day before you require it. Postcards: A variety of postcards are available to be purchased in reception. The cost is 5 postcards for 1JD. Laundry: We can offer a same day dry cleaning and laundry service for items delivered to reception before 11.00 am. Items will be returned by 4.00 pm and can be collected at reception. Iron: Please contact reception if you require an iron. As a courtesy to our guests, please return to reception after use or call reception to collect from your room. Hairdryer: Please contact reception if you require a hairdryer. As a courtesy to our guests, please return to reception after use or call reception to collect from your room. DVDs: Should you wish to enjoy watching a DVD please advice a member of staff who will be able to install a DVD player in your room. We have a small selection of DVD movies in reception for you to choose from. Please note that our DVD player is available on a first in first served basis and may not be available upon request. Adapter: Should you require an adapter, please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Check Out: Check out is 12.00 pm. Luggage Storage: Luggage storage is available on the day of your departure from the hotel. Should you require assistance carrying your luggage from your room, please contact reception. TOURIST INFORMATION: Things to do and see. Visit the Ancient City of Petra by Day2. Visit the Ancient City of Petra by Night3. Visit the Ancient City of Little Petra4. Enjoy a Turkish bath5. Take a day trip to Ashwbak Castle and Dana natural reserve 6. Take a day trip to Wadi Rum7. Watch one of the amazing sunsets from various location outside of Petra8. Wander around the streets of Wadi Mousa9. Relax on our roof terrace. Distance to: Ancient City of Petra 1.7 km, Ancient City of Little Petra 12 km, Amman 240 km, Dead Sea 270 km, Karak Castle 175 km, Aqaba 130 km, Wadi Rum 110 km, Ancient City of Petra. Opening Hours: Day sessions: 6:30 am till sunset (7 days per week), Night sessions: 8:30 pm to 10:30 pm. Bus Services: Bus services operate to the following places daily. Location Distance Pick Up Approximate cost in JDs Contact for bookings. Amman 3:30 hrs Bus station Around 8JD ReceptionAqaba 2.00 hrs Hotel 5JD ReceptionWadi Rum 2.00 hrs Hotel 5JD ReceptionDead Sea No buses / / /Madaba No buses / / /Maan 30 mins Bus station 1 JD ReceptionBorder Crossing – Aqaba. The border crossing between Aqaba and Eilat (Israel) is opened from 8am to 8 pm daily. Please note that a departure tax is payable on exit from Jordan. Border Crossing – King Hussein Bridge. Please be aware that tourists require a special pre arranged visa to cross at this border. LOCAL AREA INFORMATION: ATM: There are three ATMs located within 400 metres. Please turn right as you exit the hotel. Money Exchange: The nearest money exchange is location 400 metres in the same location as the ATMs. Post Office: The Post Office is located 400 metres from the hotel. Please turn right as you exit the hotel. The Post Office is located in the Petra Authority Region Building on the left side of the road. You need to walk up the stairs and turn right. Please note that should you wish to send packages you will need to provide your own packaging as this cannot be purchased from the post office. Pharmacy: A pharmacy is located 300 metres from the hotel. Turn right as you exit the hotel and the pharmacy is on your right.Phone cards: Phone cards can be purchased from any phone shop within the town area and you may use it at the hotel without any charge. Bus Station: The bus station is located 350 metres from the hotel. Restaurants For recommendations on local restaurants, please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Please enjoy your stay with us. Kind regards Ibrahim, Hotel Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Valley Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Stars Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Hotel Valley Stars
Valley Stars Inn Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing