We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant recommend to stay at the Valley Stars!”
Review of Valley Stars Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Valley Stars Inn
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Whats good about the Valley Stars Inn
1. Cheap

Whats not good about Valley Stars Inn.
1. Sewage smell coming from the bathroom drain and sink. Apparently the roadwork outside the hotel had blocked the drains overnight. As a result, the putrid smell was so bad we couldnt sleep, and had to open the windows even though it was freezing cold.
2. The dining room is filled with smoke from the staff, who share the same room when the sit around and chat with each other. They expect you to eat with the smoke wafting thick through the air.
3. Long way from the Petra gate.
4. Was recommended a Wadi Rum tour by Ibrahim that turned out to be a complete rip-off and very dissappointing. When i complained to him, he didnt want anything to do with hearing about it. Im sure that he gets a kick back by sending guests to this hopeless tour operator.

Quite simply, id really recommend that you pay a bit more and get a whole lot better Petra experience somewhere else. If its cheap accomodation that you want, then Valley stars inn just gets there..........but bring a gas mask just in case!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colluxSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
save_clean_friendly, manager at Valley Stars Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2009

-Yes, unfortunately, when the guests were staying in our hotel, there was a problem with the sewage system in the whole town Wadi Musa. It has been fixed in the meantime.

-Long distance from the gates of Petra should not be a problem since we do provide free shuttles to and from the gates.

-We do, however, admit the smoking issue, although not from the staff as they are not smoking.We do pay more attention to it now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Valley Stars Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 181 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2009

The Good

-The rooms are clean on your first night and the bed is comfortable

The Bad

-We arranged a very detailed itinerary with VSI before we left for Jordan. Prices, times, locations were all agreed upon over a month before our arrival. Immediately upon pickup at the airport we were asked to change our itinerary. We are open minded people, so we did. We confirmed that we would get to see all the same sites at the same cost, just in a different order. Our driver (Abu Saleem) was perfect and our first day went well. Upon arriving at the VSI we met the owner; Ibrahim. When I asked if we could discuss our trip and re-confirm costs he said to not worry about it. Suffice it to say our itinerary continued to change, we ended up seeing less than promised overall, paid the same price, but Ibrahim whined and complained over the phone from his bedroom for over a 1/2 hour on our check out day that we weren't paying enough and that they had changed our itinerary for our convenience, which could not be further from the truth. He then said he hopes we have enjoyed our FREE trip to Jordan and that he was going to have to pay money out of his pocket to cover our trip. All of this over the phone on the last day, because Ibrahim does not have the professionalism to talk to his customers face to face on check out. He'd rather sleep in and then waste his customers time over the phone. Thank goodness we had a great driver in Abu Saleem or we shudder to think of how our trip would have played out. If you stay at the VSI, do not under any circumstance use them for planning any trips.

-Bedding and bath towels not changed even after request, we received dry bath towels once out of our 3 nights stay.

-No hot water on the last 2 days of our visit.

-Power goes out often, so charge any batteries etc when you have the chance.

-Breakfast is low quality and not fresh. Sliced tomatoes, cucumber, stale bread and pita, eggs, yogurt, corn flakes, skim milk, coffee and tea. They don't offer bagged breakfasts.

-Location is very poor. A 40 minute walk uphill from Petra with nothing convenient nearby (The staff will drive you to Petra for free if they are around). So you'll have to eat on your way up to the VSI or pay 7jd each for what are often left overs.

-The staff knows virtually no English, so you cannot communicate much of anything unless you wait until the evening when Ibrahim may be there.

Summary

Valley Stars Inn is in desperate need of a professional owner who is accountable and present. Ibrahim tried to drastically raise the prices for our trip and for that reason alone we would never recommend anyone stay at this facility.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voodew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

The hotel was ok but they advised us to cancel a perfectly good trip to the Wadi Rum in favour of another company which turned out to be one of my poorest ever travel experiences. The guide was surley and disinterested, claiming to have had a bad night the day before and wanting to stop for a sleep throughout the desert trip. We were charged double the stated fee, were taken to a local shop the night before to buy food for our desert lunch which we ended up eating in the car park..... Not a great experience, extremely poor.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peterabrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

This was a very basic hotel, but run with a family atmosphere (friendly and helpful, and they'll drop you at Petra). The rooms were big enough, the beds comfortable, the showers were big but lacked a bit of water pressure. Spartan breakfast, but good enough, we ate dinner there one night and it was delicious! Cash only on check-out. You can hear others in the hall when they open/close doors or (un)lock them, but we didn't hear noise from inside other rooms. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budaandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Very homely hotel, room was fine, location of the hotel good for access to Petra, and prices seemed reasonable for the area. Dinner in the hotel was good, although you may find you are the only people eating in, which can feel a little strange. The owner speaks good english, is very friendly! and can help organise and advise on future travel plans in Jordan. We heard other accomodation options can be bad in Petra so this hotel seemed a pretty safe bet.

Have correct money when paying cash as change appeared hard to come by. Also not sure why credit card numbers were required for booking confirmation as there was no facility to pay by card when checking out?

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Ibrahim is indeed charming, and the rest of the staff was helpful and courteous. The room was clean and relatively inexpensive (50JD for a triple); the bathroom cold but clean. However, the dinner was a major disappointment. We were running late driving from the north, and could have stopped at a wonderful local restaurant on the road with our guide, but we were told by Ibrahim that a meal was being "specially prepared" for our late arrival. Ugh, it was reheated leftovers. And not even close to being good.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gypsyEvergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2008

This place is awesome. I mean who dosen't love a nice place for $50. The mangager is very helpful and will arrange for you to go anywhere with no commision. Valley Stars is very cozy and will make you feel welcome with their niightly dinner buffets. The rooms are clean with hot showers, wi-fi internet, and tv. Whats not to like.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ntfbball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.6 mi away
Petra Nights Hotel
Petra Nights Hotel
#37 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#15 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sun Set Hotel
Sun Set Hotel
#23 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
Al Anbat Midtown Hotel
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Al Anbat III
Al Anbat III
#25 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Stars Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Stars Inn

Address: Main Street, Petra - Wadi Musa 88, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $23 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valley Stars Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL SERVICES: Breakfast: A complimentary continental breakfast is served in the dining room from 6.30 am to 10.00 am daily. Shuttle Service to the Ancient City of Petra. We offer a complimentary shuttle service to the main entry gates daily departing at:• 7.00 am• 8:30 am. Please meet in reception approximately 5 minutes prior to departure. We also offer a complimentary pick up service at:• 3.00 pm• 6.00 pm. Your driver will advise you of the appropriate pick up location. As a courtesy to all guests, please ensure that you are on time for pick up. As we appreciate that you may wish to spend more time enjoying the historic Ancient City whilst you are there and not rush to meet the courtesy bus, should you wish to make your own way back to the VSI, taxis are available at a small cost. We can advise you what a taxi fare should cost so that you can negotiate this with your driver before the commencement of your journey. Depending on seasonality we may be able to offer flexible drop off and pick up times. Please speak to our driver who will advise if he is able to accommodate your request. Customised Tour Service: As we appreciate that coordinating transport, accommodation, and other tour requirements can be tiring and often frustrating, we can personally customize and arrange your tour to suit your requirements. With our local knowledge we will ensure that you receive the best service and value for money. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance to you and we will do our best to meet your requests as well as budget. Taxi Service: We can arrange a 24 hour taxi service to take you anywhere within Jordan. Restaurant: During peak seasons (15 September to 15 November and 1 March to 15 May) we offer affordable, delicious and traditional Jordanian homecooked meals to be enjoyed in either our dining room or on the roof terrace. Please contact reception to confirm whether our restaurant is open during your stay. Alcoholic Beverages: Alcohol is not available however please feel free to bring your own to drink at the hotel. Complimentary Tea and Coffee (one per guest per day). If you would like to enjoy a complimentary traditional tea or Turkish coffee in our lounge, please ask a member of our staff at reception who would be delighted to make your one. Safety Deposit Boxes: Safety deposit boxes are available at reception for the security of your valuables. Please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Packed Lunch: If you would like us to prepare a packed lunch for you at a small cost, please contact reception before 8 pm the night before. Please also advise us the time of morning that you will be requiring your lunch to be made available to you. Internet and WIFI service: We offer a free high speed internet service and WIFI in the reception area. Please contact a member of staff who will be able to assist in setting you up. Drinking Water: Bottled water is available in reception for 1JD per 2 litre bottle. Please contact a member of staff who will be able to assist you. If you would like us to freeze a bottle of water for you so that it can stay cool during your tour or onward journey, please advise us the day before you require it. Postcards: A variety of postcards are available to be purchased in reception. The cost is 5 postcards for 1JD. Laundry: We can offer a same day dry cleaning and laundry service for items delivered to reception before 11.00 am. Items will be returned by 4.00 pm and can be collected at reception. Iron: Please contact reception if you require an iron. As a courtesy to our guests, please return to reception after use or call reception to collect from your room. Hairdryer: Please contact reception if you require a hairdryer. As a courtesy to our guests, please return to reception after use or call reception to collect from your room. DVDs: Should you wish to enjoy watching a DVD please advice a member of staff who will be able to install a DVD player in your room. We have a small selection of DVD movies in reception for you to choose from. Please note that our DVD player is available on a first in first served basis and may not be available upon request. Adapter: Should you require an adapter, please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Check Out: Check out is 12.00 pm. Luggage Storage: Luggage storage is available on the day of your departure from the hotel. Should you require assistance carrying your luggage from your room, please contact reception. TOURIST INFORMATION: Things to do and see. Visit the Ancient City of Petra by Day2. Visit the Ancient City of Petra by Night3. Visit the Ancient City of Little Petra4. Enjoy a Turkish bath5. Take a day trip to Ashwbak Castle and Dana natural reserve 6. Take a day trip to Wadi Rum7. Watch one of the amazing sunsets from various location outside of Petra8. Wander around the streets of Wadi Mousa9. Relax on our roof terrace. Distance to: Ancient City of Petra 1.7 km, Ancient City of Little Petra 12 km, Amman 240 km, Dead Sea 270 km, Karak Castle 175 km, Aqaba 130 km, Wadi Rum 110 km, Ancient City of Petra. Opening Hours: Day sessions: 6:30 am till sunset (7 days per week), Night sessions: 8:30 pm to 10:30 pm. Bus Services: Bus services operate to the following places daily. Location Distance Pick Up Approximate cost in JDs Contact for bookings. Amman 3:30 hrs Bus station Around 8JD ReceptionAqaba 2.00 hrs Hotel 5JD ReceptionWadi Rum 2.00 hrs Hotel 5JD ReceptionDead Sea No buses / / /Madaba No buses / / /Maan 30 mins Bus station 1 JD ReceptionBorder Crossing – Aqaba. The border crossing between Aqaba and Eilat (Israel) is opened from 8am to 8 pm daily. Please note that a departure tax is payable on exit from Jordan. Border Crossing – King Hussein Bridge. Please be aware that tourists require a special pre arranged visa to cross at this border. LOCAL AREA INFORMATION: ATM: There are three ATMs located within 400 metres. Please turn right as you exit the hotel. Money Exchange: The nearest money exchange is location 400 metres in the same location as the ATMs. Post Office: The Post Office is located 400 metres from the hotel. Please turn right as you exit the hotel. The Post Office is located in the Petra Authority Region Building on the left side of the road. You need to walk up the stairs and turn right. Please note that should you wish to send packages you will need to provide your own packaging as this cannot be purchased from the post office. Pharmacy: A pharmacy is located 300 metres from the hotel. Turn right as you exit the hotel and the pharmacy is on your right.Phone cards: Phone cards can be purchased from any phone shop within the town area and you may use it at the hotel without any charge. Bus Station: The bus station is located 350 metres from the hotel. Restaurants For recommendations on local restaurants, please contact reception who will be able to assist you. Please enjoy your stay with us. Kind regards Ibrahim, Hotel Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Valley Stars Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Stars Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Hotel Valley Stars
Valley Stars Inn Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing