We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Candles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candles Hotel
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The hotel is located close to the main gate to Petra, so it is a good choice for staying some nights when visiting the historic site. The hotel has wifi in the lobby. There is a restaurant on the top floor, where a buffet dinner is served in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Our double room was a bit small but considering the price during the local high season (April), it was a good deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    61
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
29
72
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is very close to the main entrance to the Petra historical site, with convenient free parking. The receptionists are friendly but the hotel (despite the modern fasade) probably lived through better times. The rooms are ok, although you have to pass through the smoking part of the hotel (smoking in corridors allowed) to get to your non-smoking room. Breakfast was fine although the breakfast service started half hour late, which is annoying if you want to go to Petra early. Overall OK for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinussilvestris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at Candles Hotel for 2 nights in mid-May 2014. The location is great; just minutes from the Petra. Very quiet and welcoming atmosphere. The staff members were very sincere and courteous at the reception and in the restaurant. Especially the night shift guy, Lorans, was very accommodating when I was waiting for my 6 am bus to Wadi Ram. He called the bus driver a few times to make sure that the bus was on its way. Great value for the $$$.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emicurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is just a few steps from the entrance and the city center of Petra, the hotel was very quite, ideal to relax after a long day exploring the wonders of Petra Site. the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014

the location from Petra is really convenient which is walking distance within 5 minutes. staffs are kind and offers various information for other tours like wadi rum camping. Room is clean and breakfast was nice as well. I would recommend for sure

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 인준 황
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candles H, Guest Relations Manager at Candles Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Dear 인준 황,

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at Candles Hotel. We are appreciative for your review. We hope t see you again soon.

All the best,
Candles Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Yesterday i returned back from Petra, and i stayed in candles hotel for 2 nights.
The hotel was just 2 minutes walking distance from the sites entrance, the rooms were clean (such as the beds and the towels), The furniture and the bathrooms were newly renovated, the food was very tasty and fresh & The view from the rooms was amazing,
I am planning to re-visit Petra very soon, and will definitely stay at candles hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghada A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candles H, Manager at Candles Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Dear Ghade A,

Your are most welcome at anytime. Thank you for your lovely review. If you need any assistance in Jordan let us know. It was our pleasure to meet you.

All the best,
Abdallah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

if you are looking for a inexpensive hotel, with great food, and close to the visitors center in Petra. Try Candles Hotel!!! The Food is great and the view on the terrace is amazing. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The front desk speaks English and is very helpful. so if your looking for a great place to stay in Petra without paying a lot. Check out Candles Hotel

Room Tip: I would suggest a room on the upper floors to have a better view of Petra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candles H, Guest Relations Manager at Candles Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2016
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is always great to hear when our guest enjoyed there stay in Candles Hotel. It was a pleasure to meet you and be your host during your stay in Petra. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,
Candles Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edom Hotel Petra
Edom Hotel Petra
#18 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candles Hotel

Property: Candles Hotel
Address: PO Box 181 | 200M Off The Entrance of Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Candles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three-star hotel of charm Ideally located in Wadi Musa a beautifully restored historic city. With the atmosphere of freedom, clearness and calmness. The hotel is situated in 300 meters from the main entrance of the ancient Lost City of Petra the new 7 wonders of the world.The hotel's location, will make it easy to conduct your activities, whether for tourism or pleasure. You are just a few minutes away, stroll from Market Circle, the local Centre. The hotel has an exceptional location at the hill foot (facing one of the most picturesque views). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candles Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing