We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and that's being nice!”
Review of Candles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candles Hotel
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting and that's being nice!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

If you don't mind filthy rooms, rude and unhelpful staff then this would be fine. This hotel is cheap and right next to Petra which is great but avoid this place at all costs! I've stayed in some pretty shabby motels in the states but this place is the worst hotel I've stayed in. Firstly the room was a disgrace. Sorry if this makes you sick but there was blood stains on the sheets!!!! To go along with the blood there was black hairs all over the bed and just for good measure a women's hair clip on then floor, obviously they don't clean the place...I won't start on the bathroom! Vile comes to mind! When I asked the reception if they could clean the room they said yes...when I came back had the room been cleaned hell no!! We we're suppose to stay two nights we left as soon as we could the next day. We said to the staff the day before we will be leaving early can you refund us he said no problem. Next day came. Did we get a refund for the night we didn't stay, hell no! Avoid at all costs,

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
28
70
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location for visiting the historic site of Petra & the staff were all very kind. The wifi hardly worked at all, and even in the reception it was slow. The hotel is also right by the bus station where I arrived & left on the JETT service from Amman.

Room Tip: I booked the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank east15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Thought as we were now out of Amman, the standard of hotels would drop dramatically, but for its location, we enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff for their friendliness and co-operation throughout our two day stay. Sleep, was terrific, with probably some of the best pillows we have had on our year long trip.
The supplied meals, breakfast and dinner, were both adequate. Dinner was a three course meal and breakfast an assortment of local flavours and European cereal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Candles for 2 nights last weekend on our trip to Petra. Good points: its a very short walk to Petra entrance, rooms are clean, free wifi, beds comfortable, and all at a very reasonable price. By far the best aspect of this hotel is the staff: the lobby & cleaning staff were always friendly, helpful, and extremely accommodating. This hotel is great for the money. A few negatives: our room lacked hot water. They offered to let us move to a room with hot water, and when we declined: allowed to use the shower of another room. The free breakfast left a lot to be desired! The decor of the hotel overall is straight out of the 1970s, but this actually added a bit of charm to the place. Despite the hot water issue and subpar breakfast, we very much enjoyed our stay. Special thanks to the wonderful staff who more than made up for the negatives!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Value for money - It is 5 min walk to Petra's entrance - The Staff were nice, rooms are spacious, we had the suite for £41. Food - we only had the breakfast and it was basic but ok. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnC12252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had quite a small room in this hotel, which is a but run down here and there. The breakfast was also not that great. I'm not a very critical guest, but when the bread is obviously old, I'm not happy.

The view is good, and it's close to the Petra entrance and some restaurants around the corner.

Overall, it's OK for a Petra visit and two nights around that, but I wouldn't stay here longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelledalot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is a short stroll to the site entrance - handy if you want to make the dawn visit. The rooms are spacious but the bathroom very tiny and only closed to the rest of the room by a sort of iron curtain -not much privacy. The rooms are also strangely designed which in essence means you dont have many windows and sunlight (you need to go on the balcony). However it was clean and the beds are comfy. The hotel also has a nice 10 JD evening buffet - good when you've hiked all day! Staff was moderately welcoming and helpful, but then people are not as nice in Petra as they are everywhere else in Jordan.
In short : not a fall in love with hotel, but does the trick in touristy Petra.

Room Tip: We had a 3 persons room overlooking the mountains which was nice, surely you can ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antigone726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
0.6 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
515 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
871 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Palace Hotel
Petra Palace Hotel
#21 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candles Hotel

Property: Candles Hotel
Address: PO Box 181 | 200M Off The Entrance of Petra, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Candles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three-star hotel of charm Ideally located in Wadi Musa a beautifully restored historic city. With the atmosphere of freedom, clearness and calmness. The hotel is situated in 300 meters from the main entrance of the ancient Lost City of Petra the new 7 wonders of the world.The hotel's location, will make it easy to conduct your activities, whether for tourism or pleasure. You are just a few minutes away, stroll from Market Circle, the local Centre. The hotel has an exceptional location at the hill foot (facing one of the most picturesque views). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candles Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing