We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Why Jordan Tours
from $2,025.00
More Info
from $2,395.00
More Info
from $1,635.00
More Info
Petra Stopover
3 Reviews
from $650.00
More Info
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
149
3
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
149
3
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews desert eco tours border crossing bedouin camp wadi rum day tour dead sea private tour drivers guides allenby bridge bedouin guide luxury camp always on time rode camels israeli border fantastic trip an amazing experience tamara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 157 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We were booked by Desert Eco tours on the Israeli side who were very helpful in getting us across the border. Then Why Jordan took over on the Jordanian side. Picked up at our hotel in Aqaba and transported to Petra. Lots of insight and knowldedge shared on the way to Petra. Petra is a world class sight and our Why Jordan guide filled us in on the details. We then stayed in Petra after our visit and proceeded to Wadi Rum the next day. Our guide, Ali, was first class. Great tour of the Wadi and a fantastic BBQ lunch cooked in front of us while we sat by a rock wall. We were then delivered back to the border for a flight from Eilat. If we did it again we would spend more time in Jordan, ensuring an arrival the day before in Petra to allow for an early morning visit in Petra and more of the day. would also like to spend one night in a desert camp in Wadi Rum to see the starts. Having said that, Why Jordan is the way to go.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Murray_1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Areej F, Director of Sales at Why Jordan Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Thank you Murray for your nice words and positive feedback. you were happy welcome you in Jordan
and would love to welcome you again Jordan with another experience and more discovery! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018

I was thrilled with my trip to Petra and Wadi Rum! Our guide in Wadi Rum, Mohammad Helelat, was delightful. He was so kind and thoughtful, and went out of his way to make sure we had an amazing time. He asked us what we wanted to get out of the adventure, and tailored our day to suit what we wanted. He took tons of photos for us, and made sure to send them to me promptly after the trip. He was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and friendly. We had a wonderful time because of Mohammad, and I'm so happy he was our guide. I would highly recommend Why Jordan and Mohammad!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank miragoldbergpoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

We booked through Desert Eco tours (also part of Why Jordan). They picked us up from our choice of location in Eilat and saw us through the complicated border procedures, then collected us again on the other side and drove us to our hotel in Aqaba. Next morning we were picked up by our small bus (only 12 of us) with our fabulous tour guide, Ali. A couple of hours drive to Petra with plenty of stops for toilets, drinks and souvenir shopping. Petra was beyond fabulous and Ali was an interesting and considerate guide. He also arranged for us to have tea breaks and a simple lunch. After a couple of hours of tour, we had a few hours to explore on our own - the walk up to the Monastery was very worth it. Ali was great at giving us tips for dealing with the hawkers as well (although they were surprisingly not too bad). We were also surprised by how quiet Petra was!
Later we were driven to our Bedouin camp. What a treat! Nestled in the cliffs, a small site of tents, each with bed and duvet, draped with traditional carpet. Cosy and warm (about 22 degrees at night). We were greeted with lots of tea around the campfire, then a delicious chicken dinner, before lying on cushions by the fire and watching the shooting stars. Magical.
After a simple breakfast and a shower in the shower block (!), we were picked up and driven to Wadi Rum for a desert tour. Mohammed was the BEST tour guide, full of interesting local knowledge and brilliant with the kids. This tour totally surpassed all our expectations - do this if you can! There was only our family and 2 others so this was a really personal tour and we were so looked after. We had a new air conditioned 4x4. Plenty of cold water bottles all provided. Mohammed knew exactly what to do and see - we climbed up to Lawrence Spring, ran down sand dunes, climbed on to an insane arch, cuddle camels and explored ancient markings in a remote canyon. And took about a million photos. He then cooked us a fabulous lunch on a fire in his favourite spot under the shade of the mountains - everything from his farm and DELICIOUS. I think this was the best tour I have ever done.
We were genuinely sad to leave as Mohammed drove us back to the border crossing, where again we were seen across and collected on the other side.
I cannot recommend these guys enough. Our guides were interesting, friendly, fun, great with the kids and knew exactly what we needed and when. As perfect as a family holiday could ever be.

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank CatherineS961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018

We booked a 3 Day tour including Petra, Madaba, Wadi Rum and more. As we started from Eilat we checked first with Desert Eco Tours in Israel. As they turned out to be very unflexible and not able to respond to our needs we booked directly with Why Jordan Tours.

Why Jordan responded in every way to our wishes like privat tour for 4 persons, good hotels, good food and visiting the places we had in mind. The picked us up at the Israeli / Jordan border in Eilat and from there we could just relax and enjoy.

We can truly recommend Why Jordan and would anytime book with them again. Thanks for a wonderful trip!

Date of experience: June 2018
3  Thank diveever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2018

We actually booked our trip from Israel to Jordan through Desert Eco Tours. I highly recommend this company. Though more expensive than some other tour companies, we felt safe and secure in their care, border crossings went smoothly, and their Jordan contracted company, Why Jordan?, did a nice job with our two days in Petra and the Wadi Rum dessert. Hisham Helalat, our guide for Petra, picked us up at our Aqaba hotel for a day touring Petra. He was knowledgeable and very helpful as we went through Petra. His English was clearly understood and he was very good about adapting the tour realizing that my husband was experiencing some difficulty due to a flare up of hip problems which made the walking in Petra more difficult than usual. We stayed overnight in Wasi Musa at the Movenpick just outside the gates. Though a bit pricey, it was a wonderful selection. Breakfast catered to a variety of international tastes with a wide and delicious selection of food choices. The second day, our Bedouin guide, Mohammad Hilalat, was excellent. He drove us to beautiful locations in the absolutely jaw dropping Wadi Rum desert. Then, he cooked wonderful chicken and vegetable kabobs over an open fire, and made a delicious cucumber- tomato salad and other vegetable side to compliment the kabobs. He took great pictures as we explored the area and encouraged/ helped us to climb to see a little more. Based on my experience, I'd recommend Mohammad to women with a group, couples, or single men and groups of men wishing to see this beautiful desert. He also eagerly shares insights into the Bedouin lifestyle and way of thinking. My husband and I found him to be very informative and accommodating in addition to being a wonderful desert chef! If you are going to be in Jordan, you are also able to contact him directly at mmh_jordan@yahoo.com in order to schedule time in the Wadi Rum.

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank huhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews