We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”
Review of Cleopetra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cleopetra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel is owned and run by a young aspiring “fix-all” guy Mosleh. Putting it simply, Cleopetra is Mosleh and vice versa. And Mosleh is a sort of “tourist office”, willing and offering all types of tourist services.

The hotel has been recently renovated, which means it has become a reasonably priced hostel/hotel of good tourist quality. Of course, Mosleh is there to make money and he seems to be doing good business, but he does it in a pretty decent manner. He doesn’t rip you off and you don’t feel cheated. Normally, you can trust his advice. Most important of all, he is very friendly and an easy going guy, who makes you feel welcome.

He arranged a Wadi Rum trip for us, which was however not really up to the mark.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanTourist201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2010

On arrival we were greeted by a 50 odd yr old man who seemed pleasant enough and we agreed a price of 30JD per night for our room. We tried to clarify that this was the room price and we were assured it was (and we were confident that this price was similar to that in the lonely planet). When we left after 2 sleepless nights later (very noisy road outside!) we were hit with a bill of 120JD just as our bus pulled up to take us to Amman. So to cut a long story short we were ripped off by the man at reception. At 30 JD per night this represents reasonable value although you want get much sleep because of the road, but at 60JD per night this is very poor value. Left a sour taste in the mouth after thoroughly enjoying Petra itself.
They are definitely trying to cash in on their appearence in lonely planet. There are other budget options in town, stay in one of those unless you too want to be ripped off.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KPH_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Cleopatra hotel wasn't really terrible, but it also wasn't particularly nice. The room was basic, we booked a double room but got single beds. The room was fairly clean but the mosquito guard on the window was ripped and looked awful. What really annoyed us was that the man on reception told us that we had booked a bad deal for our camping trip in Wadi Rum the subsequent night, which caused us unnecessary stress as the camping trip actually turned out to be brilliant. He wanted to book us on a different trip. Overall, he was a bit irritating and we wished we had stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina2624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Visited this Hotel after reading good reviews from trip advisor and lonely planet.

The hotel is in a pretty good location on the top of the hill, just a short ride to the main tourist place.

Rooms are of poor standard, dirty and foul smell in ours. Mosquito guard had huge hole in on the window so needed to keep the windows shut, this did however help to stop the bad smell. No fan available.

Guy on reception has has a very bad attitude. His continuous joking is annoying from the begining and begings to get infuriating as he avoids questions, regarding price etc.

He actually told us that he had turned people with bookings away, because we wanted to stay two nights, which was better for him. Didnt impress me, i would not want that to happen to me if it was me with the prior booking.

Avoid this place, much better places on offer, closer to the main attraction.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Petra - Greek "πέτρα" (petra), meaning rock.

The rooms were of the standard hostel variety – small and efficient, though not immaculate or particularly private (we could hear other people coming and going quite readily). To be fair, this is the desert so sand/dust is EVERYWHERE, not just inside the hotel. The sheets and bathroom were clean which is probably what matters most.

What makes this place so great though is the people who own and operate it. We were picked up from the airport in Amman some 3 hours away and given a tour all the way back to Petra. Sights here, trivia there, picture stops… The ride was about 60 USD (a bus rides would be only 15-20 bucks for both of us but would have taken twice as long). We had limited time and have noticed that Ramadam seems to do unpredictable things to timetables so we went with the known quantity of a private driver which promised we’d get to Petra with plenty of time to walk the park.

(Side note: we found Petra itself to be 10 times better than even our highest expectations.)

We arranged to take a bus back to Amman but it never showed up, the driver citing Ramadan as an excuse for not ‘wanting’ to make the drive. The owner of Cleopetra himself then decided to drive us personally to the closest bus stop in the town of Ma’an some 60 minutes away.

(Side note 2: Jordanians showed a warmth and friendliness that we did not experience anywhere else. For the region they were especially progressive, tolerant, and eager to prove it.)

I HIGHLY recommend Petra, and to a larger extent, Jordan.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

THE TRUE VALUE OF CLEOPETRA HOTEL IS THE GREAT SERVICE. Cleopetra Hotel features newly-renovated rooms, comfortable beds, and a good breakfast. However, we were most impressed with the manager, Mosleh. THE SERVICE HERE CANNOT BE EMPHASIZED ENOUGH. Mosleh went out of his way to make sure we were taken care of. Mosleh set us up with tickets to Petra at Night, a day tour of Wadi Rum, and a taxi back to the Israel border. Each time, he made sure that we got the best price and best service for our needs and budget. In fact, travellers from other hotels came to ours for Mosleh's help. At the end of our trip, Mosleh even called during our taxi ride to the border to make sure that we were happy and safe.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I am a single parent traveller, and my 9 year old daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights while we were in the area hiking at Petra.

From the moment we walked in, we were made to feel welcome. the staff we very nice and offered a lot of information. The common area was a great space for talking to other backpackers and sharing conversation and tips.

The private, double room that I booked (in advance) was clean, was small, but had cupboards and room for all our stuff. There is no A/C, but they had strong fans available for each room. the bathroom was small, but there was a half bathtub and a nice, warm water shower. More than what we needed.

There was access to use the kitchen, which we didn't use, but it's nice to be able to use a kitchen if you need to. For us, there were so manynice bakeries and local food places within walking distance that we ate out. There are supermarkets close for stocking up on water, fruit and provisions for hiking at Petra.

All in all, I can see why this place is always full. They are very accomodating, nice, and in a good location. I think they also shuttle you to Petra gates if you need that as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel/hostel to anyone visiting Petra.

**There was no WIFI in our room, but there was free WIFI in the common areas.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coraclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#14 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,022 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#16 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopetra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopetra Hotel

Address: Queen Rania St. | P.O.Box 125, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $30 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleopetra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cleopetra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopetra Hotel Petra Wadi Musa
Cleopetra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing