We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A proper budget hotel with a proper host”
Review of Cleopetra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cleopetra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Jordan is a fantastic country populated by fantastic people and there could be no better example of this than Petra and the welcome and service extended to us than by Mosleh and his family at the Cleopetra.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and ,as budget hotels go, you couldn't ask for more. But on top of this, we received all the advice and help neede to make the stay just that bit better.
If you want formality and stiffness, then you should avoid the Cleopetra. But if it's hospitality, service, great conversation and the little extras, all delivered as a proper host should, you'll be very hard pushed to top this.
Thanks Mosleh and co. for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabicZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 450 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2010

After a long time of looking through hotel options near the Petra gate & Wadi Musa, I decided on Cleopetra, mainly due to the positive hospitality reviews. I was somewhat skeptical, but figured we could always change hotels if it wasn't right.
There was no need for us to stay anywhere else, the rooms are nothing special but Cleopetra was safe, clean, comfortable and the hospitality was outstanding. Even before we left home we were able to arrange a car via email with Mosleh to pick us up at the airport and stop at various locations that we wanted to see (such as the Dead Sea) on the way to Wadi Musa. The hotel provided transportation to & from Petra when it was convenient for us and made us a special vegetarian meal one of the nights they were serving dinner. Thank you Cleopetra for making our stay in Jordan so easy & enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2airdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Cleopetra is a very busy budget hotel. We booked our room in advance, but it was very good to call them about our arriving time, so they hold a room for us. The hotel is very average, but the team who are running it, take it to the top. You feel like in a family.
The breakfast was good, but nothing else.
For all I could recommend Cleopetra Hotel for everyone who would like to explore Petra all day and to meet other traveller from all the world.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmarci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I read reviews of Cleopetra prior to heading to Jordan and most were great though none could portray in words the excellent warmth, friendliness and hospitality that the Cleopetra offers. As a solo female traveller over from Tel Aviv where I work, this was a top choice hotel both for the helpful, friendly 'peacemaker of Jordan' Mosleh (as he likes to be known) and the other guys running the place and also for the fact that you meet so many others from a plethora of countries whilst there! Mosleh went out of his way to drive me around, take me to the local market with him, arrange a hammam and swim for me, persuade the Petra Kitchen to let me join their oversubscribed (yet truly excellent) cookery class, arrange a desert trip to Wadi Rum and even drive a new acquaintance back to her hotel to avoid any unwanted attention to her walking back to her hotel alone late. The world over I have never encountered such a genuine, helpful, friendly, honest and smiley host:) In case you hadn't guessed, I recommend staying at Cleopetra!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NattyS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

It was challenging trying to read all the reviews at TripAdvisor ...so many different points of view and varying standards from one person to another. The reviews I read about the Cleopetra all raved about the kindness and hospitality of the management. It was not the cleanest or most comfortable accommodations if you are comparing to a Marriott or Hyatt, but it was clean, comfortable and homey The family style meals were wonderful the prices were great and the management could not have been more friendly. My husband and I celebrated our 21st anniversary while there and Mosleh, our host went to so much trouble to order a beautiful cake for us to share with the rest of the guests. He was a wonderful host and the hospitality is without equal...he made my memories of Petra and Wadi Musa extra special. I would enthusiastically recommend this hotel to all but the most picky and demanding...you will come as a tourist and leave as a friend.....thank you Mosleh for your extreme kindess....I hope we can celebrate our 31st anniversary with you!! We have stayed the world over from 5 stars to hostels and I have never been treated with more courtesy and friendliness than you showed us!!
Brenda Gifford
Arizona USA

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msbgiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the Cleopetra and were immediately taken in by the warmth and hospitality of Moslah the host. He made us feel wonderfully welcome and nothing was ever too much trouble for him. He helped us book a hire car for a trip up the King's Hwy and gave great information and advice and was just a great guy to talk to.

The hotel was undergoing renovation and WE WOULD HAVE RATED IT HIGHER but we were probably one of the last to stay in the older rooms (our choice to save money). We looked at the new rooms ad they looked fantastic - large (larger than the old ones anyway), clean, small bath and good shower head (pressure and hot water were variable as is the case throughout Jordan - just check with Moslah what time the hot water goes on) and a good bed. Our room didn't have fan or aircon, which we would have liked, but the new rooms might have these.

The location is OK, at the top of the hill, handy for a few cheap restaurants at the main roundabout in town and with great sunset view over the hills of Petra below. The hotel will drive you to Petra each morning (about 3 or 4 minutes drive) and if you tell them what time you want to be picked up they'll drive you back too (it's a steep long walk back). Otherwise a taxi back is JD2.

The hotel also does home cooked meals every night if you're interested and will prepare a packed lunch of bread, cheese, jam, fruit, biscuits and soft drink for JD3, which is not bad & pretty essential for long days at Petra. Laundry is expensive here so maybe hold off, but there is a (cluttered) roof space to hang a few handwashed items.

Wifi is JD2 for your whole stay and is reliable and fast downstairs but we couldn't get it in our room on the top floor (although Moslah was always offering Jordanian whisky (tea) every time we sat down to use internet, which was great). There is satelite TV in the common area showing BBC World News and such, and Moslah will thrust a copy of Indiana Jones at you if you have a laptop to watch it on, or you can watch it on the communal TV.

All up it was a great stay and I wish them all the best with completing the rest of the new rooms on the top floor. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

If you want to swim with your blonde ..stuff go to Marriott, if you like strange mixture go to Taybet Zaman but if you want to “jordanize” go to Mosleh Kingdom. If you don’t like there you’re too old already, and you have too much money. Lucky me, this time I followed Ruth’s philosophy and I booked Cleopetra (not the same kind of decision was taken by me in Ram and it was a BIG mistake). Good things ? Friendship, easy dialogue, exchange of experience, clean room, hot water all time, young minds, excellent hostel atmosphere, 400m near center of the old town, Mosleh, cheap accommodation, discount, computer with internet, silence, joy, full logistic, no mad customers, no problem with food, good place for parking my car. Bad things ? ……..Man, buy another mouse and another keyboard, it was difficult to chat with my wife. And you really need a brain of a woman to do something with blankets/sheets of my room, you have no vision for this kind of things. Wishes ? Million years of peace and happiness man !!!

My husband wrote this. I understand Mosleh is not married. Yet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
425 reviews
0 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
536 reviews
0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,055 reviews
0 mi away
My Home Hotel- Petra
My Home Hotel- Petra
#8 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
71 reviews
0 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopetra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopetra Hotel

Address: Queen Rania St. | P.O.Box 125, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $31 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleopetra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cleopetra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopetra Hotel Petra Wadi Musa
Cleopetra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing