We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice staff”
Review of Cleopetra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cleopetra Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Veneto
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value and nice staff”
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Good beds but power points were not working. Moquette in the room was rather old and dirty but the staff is very kind and hostel offers free transportation to Petra site entrance. They gave us also a free breakfast. The place is quiet and we slept without noises. Our bathroom was small but clean.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    144
    50
    12
    17
See reviews for
34
178
87
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

The front of the toilet bowl was 50mm from the wall [ to the despair of large folk ] They are currently re-modeling the foyer [ but one does not sleep there and money would have been better placed elsewhere ] The family who own and run the place are wonderful people, and when they put on an evening meal, it is always topical and good fun. No beer in this town, except at a couple of over-priced hotels [pay $7 a small can] , so if you get excited by the prospect of returning from a hard day at the ruins, to be greeted by a hot cup of sweet cinnamon tea, then great! But for those, who love to chat in the evenings over a cold tube, then forget it! If it were not for the exciting ruins of ancient Petra, one could easily forget Wadi Musa.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We had booked for 2 nights at Cleopetra in september for november stay. When we got at the hotel, the guy told us that due to an emergency (wouldnt tell us exactly what it was after asking about 3 times) he had to take us to another hotel (orient something) which was a "great hotel with breakfast". When we got to the new orient hotel we found a VERY dirty room (weve stayed in plenty of budget hotels before) and not too friendly staff. We decided to leave that hotel and went to sharah mountains hotel which was MUCH MUCH BETTER. When we went to see the Cleopetra again and told the guy we were not happy, he would not reimburse our reservation fee.

This is my first review ever on tripadvisor but I thought Id write to make sure other people dont get caught!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Yannick90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I stayed in Cleopetra for 2 nights as I was visiting Petra.
Is a nice hotel, well situated, and with competitive prices. The rooms are ok.. not that clean but not dirty at all, although they can be noisy.
As nearly every other hotel they have a taxi service to Petra whenever you need it.
When I was there they prepared a dinner (you have to book it in advance) with very good price.
If you do not find a room, you can ask for the roof.
Breakfast is included in the price of some rooms, and theres a computer with Internet.
They say they have hot shower, but my water was always cold (not that I care as it was too hot)
Just dont make fun of the son of the owner and everything will be ok.. he is a funny guy making jokes of everybody.. but when someone makes fun of him he can get really pissed off, even with clients.

Mat_el_viajero

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat_el_viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The staff at this hotel are so friendly and helpful (a totally different experience than at the Palace Hotel in Amman). This hotel offers what a good little budget place should be offering... great service!!! This totally makes up for the rooms which were a little outdated. However having said that they were clean.

When we arrived we did not have a booking and no rooms were available so they kept our bags for us and then dropped us down at Petra for the day. When we got back they only had a triple room available which they gave to us for 20JD. This was with a bathroom and bfast.

We had lots of questions about public transport, hiring a car, etc and the staff were so helpful, even going as far as to ring a friend in Aqaba to ask about car hire for us. They then arranged for our overnight trip to Wadi Rum very good rate of just 35JD.

It's funny how good service really contributes to how you feel about a place... like i said even though it was a bit rundown it was easy to look past it because of the great service. Sometimes its just the little things - for example they freeze the large water bottles and still sell them at 1JD. This is perfect for a day in Petra or an overnight stay in Wadi Rum.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

The taxi pulls up to the Cleopetra hotel, and immediately you become worried about the hotel. It's a rather dingy and dated place, but then it only gets better. Mousla (spelling?) greeted us at the door with a lot of energy and excitement. We were led to our room and made to feel at home.

The room itself was adequate, the walls were a little dirty, and bathroom had seen better days. Apparently they are about to start a renovation of the whole place which will go a long way.

Normally if the place isn't spotless, I won't give a good review but they were able to rise above this problem. The best part of the hotel was the family style meal that they offered each night. For 6 dinars you got a full meal (couldn't eat it all) and dessert. It was either Magloba... soooo good, or another Jordanian staple. The conversation around the table was great and Mousla was trying to start the party.

They offer free transportation to the Petra gates and it's only a 2 Dinar trip back to the hotel in a taxi (if you bargain correctly). Breakfast is only 1 Dinar and they offer a box lunch that's also really cheap.

Laundry is sent out to a service, and apparently they are the only one in town - meaning very expensive. If you can, plan to do your laundry somewhere else than Petra (Amman, Madaba, etc. will surely be better).

They don't have Wifi, but have an internet PC ready for use.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

Ok, this is a budget hotel and we knew that when we booked for our family of 4. We were in the middle of 6 months of travel and had stayed in all ranges of accommodation. True, the manager is gregarious and very helpful - this is certainly important but please, the room we stayed in was filthy and depressing. Incredibly old furniture (not old enough to be considered antique!), carpet that didn't look like it had had a proper cleaning for years, grimy walls and moldy bathroom. I wouldn't wish this place on any young backpacker no matter how low their budget. I've stayed in budget places that still paid attention to cleanliness. I felt like buying a spray bottle of Mr Clean and seeing if I could turn the walls white again. It wouldn't take that much to make this place adequate for the price. Also, a word of decorating advice - take down the tacky torn posters in the stairwell and fix the main door.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopetra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopetra Hotel

Property: Cleopetra Hotel
Address: Queen Rania St. | P.O.Box 125, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#6 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleopetra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cleopetra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopetra Hotel Petra Wadi Musa
Cleopetra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing