We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleopetra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cleopetra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
dubai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“VERY Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The staff at this hotel are so friendly and helpful (a totally different experience than at the Palace Hotel in Amman). This hotel offers what a good little budget place should be offering... great service!!! This totally makes up for the rooms which were a little outdated. However having said that they were clean.

When we arrived we did not have a booking and no rooms were available so they kept our bags for us and then dropped us down at Petra for the day. When we got back they only had a triple room available which they gave to us for 20JD. This was with a bathroom and bfast.

We had lots of questions about public transport, hiring a car, etc and the staff were so helpful, even going as far as to ring a friend in Aqaba to ask about car hire for us. They then arranged for our overnight trip to Wadi Rum very good rate of just 35JD.

It's funny how good service really contributes to how you feel about a place... like i said even though it was a bit rundown it was easy to look past it because of the great service. Sometimes its just the little things - for example they freeze the large water bottles and still sell them at 1JD. This is perfect for a day in Petra or an overnight stay in Wadi Rum.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    141
    49
    12
    17
See reviews for
34
177
86
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

The taxi pulls up to the Cleopetra hotel, and immediately you become worried about the hotel. It's a rather dingy and dated place, but then it only gets better. Mousla (spelling?) greeted us at the door with a lot of energy and excitement. We were led to our room and made to feel at home.

The room itself was adequate, the walls were a little dirty, and bathroom had seen better days. Apparently they are about to start a renovation of the whole place which will go a long way.

Normally if the place isn't spotless, I won't give a good review but they were able to rise above this problem. The best part of the hotel was the family style meal that they offered each night. For 6 dinars you got a full meal (couldn't eat it all) and dessert. It was either Magloba... soooo good, or another Jordanian staple. The conversation around the table was great and Mousla was trying to start the party.

They offer free transportation to the Petra gates and it's only a 2 Dinar trip back to the hotel in a taxi (if you bargain correctly). Breakfast is only 1 Dinar and they offer a box lunch that's also really cheap.

Laundry is sent out to a service, and apparently they are the only one in town - meaning very expensive. If you can, plan to do your laundry somewhere else than Petra (Amman, Madaba, etc. will surely be better).

They don't have Wifi, but have an internet PC ready for use.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losttravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Ok, this is a budget hotel and we knew that when we booked for our family of 4. We were in the middle of 6 months of travel and had stayed in all ranges of accommodation. True, the manager is gregarious and very helpful - this is certainly important but please, the room we stayed in was filthy and depressing. Incredibly old furniture (not old enough to be considered antique!), carpet that didn't look like it had had a proper cleaning for years, grimy walls and moldy bathroom. I wouldn't wish this place on any young backpacker no matter how low their budget. I've stayed in budget places that still paid attention to cleanliness. I felt like buying a spray bottle of Mr Clean and seeing if I could turn the walls white again. It wouldn't take that much to make this place adequate for the price. Also, a word of decorating advice - take down the tacky torn posters in the stairwell and fix the main door.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

The Hilton it isn't, but my sister & I found our room reasonably clean, with comfortable beds & plumbing that worked (although the rooms are small & the furniture a bit old). Mosleh made sure we (any of us) had transport to Petra, arranged a day trip to Wadi Rum for us at a reasonable price, recommended a budget hotel in Amman (run by a woman), made reservations for us, and arranged our transport to Amman. And he did his best to teach all of us how to belly-dance! (That evening is one I'll remember for a very long time!)

Supper is available, & it's good food. The guests range from backpackers to middle-aged people like us, and the conversation around the table among people from different ages & countries is not to be missed.

Rates are incredibly reasonable, given the proximity to a major attraction like Petra.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RatinerianMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

We had spent already spent a month in Jordan working and for our 5th week we decided to travel from Madaba near Amman down to Petra for a three-night stay before continuing to Aqaba. We found the Cleopetra in the Rough Guide and we saved money by three of us sharing a triple room (something all of our stop-overs in Jordan facilitated unlike many other countries).

The welcome was friendly, the small family-run B&B style hotel catered for all of our, albeit basic, needs. When we arrived we were offered drinks, which were kind of help yourself from then on (in a nice, informal way), and directed to our rooms, but not after being given information about the star attraction, Petra. We were offered a lift for the next morning down the road to the Petra entrance. The guys were great and only too pleased to help. They arranged to pick us up at the end of the day too. To walk from the hotel to the entrance takes only about 10 mins though.

Food was available if requested in advance I think and I remember it being absolutely fine. The place was lovely and clean and we just chilled out in the small lounge area mostly and chatted about our work, lives and travel. Like all Jordanian places there was a lovely roof terrace to sleep on or just have a beer (ask about getting beer in Wadi Musa, although touristy I think there were only one or two places which our cleopetra hosts kindly took us to). As we were backpacking, they also rang the local bus guy and arranged our seats on his little bus to Aqaba - brill as transport in Jordan can be a rare and unpredictable phenomenon!
To sum up - Friendly, informal, amazingly helpful and obliging and in great proximity to the Petra entrance and all shops. Great value for very little money.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyBella_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

We had so much fun, it was like living in a friendly version of "Fawlty Towers".
Something was always going on, staff was friendly and the other guests crazy and interesting.
We were taken to and from Petra whenever we liked and they were always there in exakt time to pick us up.
You do not go there for the rooms, dont panic if you find something under the bed that previous guest has left. The place is a bit worn down, those who cant stand it better go to another place.
It is still a great value, the atmosphere there is somthing rarely found in other places.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laponian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

Superbly friendly hotel to access amazing Petra. The lift our host gave us down to Petra was one of the most hilarious trips as his infectious sense of humour had us dancing (seated) to some seriously good Saudi music.
They helped arrange a great tour to the desert, and best of all pre-empted a VERY full bus back to Amman, so got the bus to pick us up FIRST with all our bags saving us missing the bus in a jostling heap of 'queueing' locals.

  • Liked — Our exuberant host
  • Disliked — Smokey lounge - a bit like the rest of Jordan
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ArleneandBenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.2 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopetra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopetra Hotel

Property: Cleopetra Hotel
Address: Queen Rania St. | P.O.Box 125, Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#6 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleopetra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Cleopetra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopetra Hotel Petra Wadi Musa
Cleopetra Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing