We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing birds and colonial style accommodation.”
Review of Amazonia Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amazonia Lodge
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Astonishing birds and colonial style accommodation.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had to travel on a motorised canoe boat to reach this wonderful lodge deep in the rainforest. Our group of 7 plus guide walked through thick jungle (marvelling at leaf cutter ants) for about 20-25 minutes before reaching the lodge, by which time we were all feeling very thirsty from the heat.
The staff were waiting for us with jugs of refreshing juice on the colonial style veranda. We sat on lovely bamboo couches and spread before us was a magical garden full of beautiful trees.
As soon as we began to recover from our walk birds of all shapes and colour started to feed on fruit that had been arranged on logs and branches. We all gasped in amazement at all the feeding activity and wide variety of birds.
The rooms all lead off the veranda and are basic but ok,mosquito netting at the windows and no mosquito net over the bed. There is a light bulb in the room.The toilet and shower facilities are in a separate block a short walk away. The shower had very hot water.
There are hummingbird feeders everywhere and lots of different species of hummingbird to observe.
It was an experience in itself going to answer the call of nature during the night! I will never forget the incredible blackness of the night sky, no light pollution whatsoever, just me and the rainforest.
There was an enormous storm overnight and unfortunately the torrential rain didn't stop.
Dinner was lovely, perfectly cooked with 3 courses and jugs of fresh juice. There is one long wooden table so that everyone can chat about the days events.
Breakfast was basic but delicious, excellent fresh fruit salad, scrambled eggs, toast,jam, instant coffee.
It was a real shame to be moving on in such a hurry after breakfast to our next lodge. I would have loved to stay longer. We had to leave wearing wellies and waterproof capes with jumpers and coats underneath and trudge through mud to get to the canoe which was taking us to our next stop about 8 hours up the river!

Room Tip: I think there are only 5 or 6 rooms here. All exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytravellers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Because this is family owned and they live at the hacienda - this is different than the other lodges we visited in the Amazon. Our group of 4 plus guides were the only guests so we each claimed one of the 4 bathrooms out back. Hot water and power were pluses. The twin beds looked like they came from the 1940's complete with lilac shiney bedspread. Dinner was very basic soup, rice and mystery meat. Breakfast was better. The veranda was nice and felt like we were in a begone era. We did the hike up to the observation tower. Steep and muddy and with the guy wires not all tight a little scary because it swayed while we climbed and while we were up there!!! Might have been more interesting to sit on the veranda and spot birds. An OK stop, but not very special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a great lodge for birds. We saw a huge number of special birds with hummingbirds coming into the feeders. The grounds get 5* from me for it's trails and birds. However, the lodge itself is pretty lacking. I don't need luxury but this lodge was at the bottom of the pile in terms of comforts provided (and I have stayed in many lodges in South America). It is good that there is power 24 hours a day, which one of the lodge's on the Manu Road do not have. The food was OK, nothing special but edible. We are vegetarian and not much effort was made there, but that was common in Peru. When you get to the lodge, the path disappears and you are expected walk across grass to the rooms. At this low altitude chiggers is a real problem in grass and so a footpath is really a necessity. The rooms were very basic and bare with no locks on the doors. There were shared bathrooms a little walk away with varying levels of cleanliness. I took to waiting until the bathrooms were cleaned late on, before using them. This was a lodge that I never warmed to, despite the lovely veranda for watching hummingbirds close up. If you are interested in birds, then definitely come here, but really despite accommodation offered by the lodge. I suggest you take mosquito spray with you as there are no screens.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It is surprising how enjjoyable this was considering how basic the accommodation is. Bare rooms with a 2 watt lightbulb. but there is power all day and night unlike nearby lodges. Shared bathrooms but they were spotless and there was hot water. Lovely verandah to sit while watching the birds. Flowers all around to attract the hummingbirds. Hoetzins at an ox-bow lake ten minutes walk away. Lovely food and friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

A boat ride across and down a rushing river took us to this "reserve" where we were in search of lowland birds. The owners and staff of this rustic lodge were simply the kindest and most accommodating people, right down to loaning us their own sandals for trips to and from the shared bathing facilities. Our room, while very simply furnished, was clean and sufficient, and the bathrooms - a short walk away - included hot water showers and were also very clean. The food was delicious; no menus here, just good and healthy prepared meals. There were trails around the sprawling property and along the riverbank, perfect for birding --- and there were an abundance of beautiful birds. This was/is an excellent destination for birders and nature enthusiasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wearytraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The rooms are very basic - literally just 2 beds and a table.

Doors aren't lockable.

Shared bathroom facilities - which need cleaning and checking more regularly.

Surprisingly good food considering the rooms.

Veranda nice, with seats overlooking the bird feeders and tables - excellent viewing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKChris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Two of us stayed at the lodge for three nights. the birding night and day was spectacular.

if you want to see hummingbirds this is a great place to start.

the gardens are full of feeders and flowering plants which attract hummingbirds, flycatchers, tanagers all day.

at night there are owls, potoos and others to see and hear.

the trails are quite safe and varied.

i would recommend this lodge to all.

the staff was great.

Room Tip: don't choose a room close to the end of the veranda near the kitchen. the lights are left on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manu National Park
0.0 mi away
Manu Wildlife Center
Manu Wildlife Center
#2 of 11 in Manu National Park
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tambo Blanquillo
Tambo Blanquillo
#1 of 11 in Manu National Park
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#7 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chontachaka Reserva Ecologica
Chontachaka Reserva Ecologica
#4 of 11 in Manu National Park
21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Amazonia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazonia Lodge

Property: Amazonia Lodge
Address: Manu, Manu National Park, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Manu National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Manu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing