We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manu National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cock of the Rock Lodge
Douglassville
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

In a very remote area, this lodge makes guests feel comfortable and safe. There is no electricity in the cabins and the main building has a working generator for three hours a day. The cabins have nice beds, good bathrooms and lots of candles. The staff helps with luggage, takes care of housekeeping issues and prepares lovely meals. After dinner, they introduced themselves and expressed joy and excitement at sharing this part of the world with adventurous travelers.

Room Tip: Remember that you are in a remote area and enjoy the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DouglassvilleDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here one night as part of a 6 night trip to Manu National Park with Inkanatura. This lodge was excellent and comfortable. I would have loved to stay here longer because the location is perfect for trying to spot the huge variety of birds that are only found at this elevation on the eastern slope of the Andes.

The namesake bird was easily seen lekking at 5am behind a blind. After that a walk down the road allows you to see dozens of species including many brightly colored tanagers.

At the lodge the comfortable dining room has views of wonderful hummingbirds at the planted bushes and feeders, including the spectacular Booted Racket-tail.

The lodge itself has warm and friendly staff, good food, cold beer, and wine available. The cabins are clean and comfortable with private baths and ample hot water for showering, no complaints at all. There is no electricity except for a two hour period in the evening when the generator runs so you can charge batteries for your cameras, etc (at a charge station in the dining room).

The road to the lodge is quite an experience--don't try to drive yourself if you have vertigo or no experience with 4WD off-roading. It is unpaved soon after Pisaq and includes some treacherously muddy areas that are prone to landslides in the rainy season, and lots of streams that run over the road. The road is well-used by huge trucks, though, so it's not too narrow. I was glad we had a professional driver.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kenito799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We visited for one night in mid October as part of the Inkanatura Biotrip. I really hope they consider adding a second night at Cock of the Rock in future trips because it is a wonderful place, especially if you like birds. We saw several Andean Cocks at the lek maintained by the lodge. I wanted to do a bit more birding before we had to leave, so our guide and I did a half hour walk along the road before breakfast. In that short time I saw 17 species new to me, including a Highland Motmot. Monkeys come right down to the lodge for fruit. I wish there was a way to do more exploration of this dripping paradise, but the land is mostly vertical, so wandering is limited to the road. Lovers of flowers will not be disappointed here either.

The huts are nice, with firm beds and hot water private baths. This was the one place on our trip that we couldn't hear every word or cough from our neighbors. The meals were quite good, and dinner even included a choice of wines. I don't think there's much to do if you don't enjoy watching wildlife, but then I don't think people like that would come here. I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Muirenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The COTR Lodge is reached from Cusco in c 8 hours without stopping or 10 to 12 hours with stops and it is worth stopping. The Manu road along which this lodge is situated is not for the faint-hearted as the unsurfaced road is single vehicle width with a few passing places and there is a drop of several hundred feet and no barrier which makes the numerous bends and switchbacks interesting! We saw a lorry that had come off the road and in a ditch, another with a broken axle and we had 2 punctures!

The lodge is in the middle of nowhere and was badly damaged a few years ago by a bad winter storm but all has been repaired. The COTR - the star bird in the area is at the nearby lek and showed well for us so this alone was worth the trip.

The lodge has several cabins dotted around the grounds all en-suite with small balconies at the rear. There are no mosquitoes here but nets are provided just in case. There is a dining room/bar that has great views over to the hummingbird feeders and they put fruit out to attract other birds so we had some good viewings. You would only journey this far down the Manu road if you were interested in birds, wildlife and landscapes and this did not disappoint.

The food was served at appointed times and was plentiful but would not set the world alight, but they do a great job as fresh food has to be transported hours to get here and they only have electricity via generator for a few hours a day. The manager Alejandro was really helpful and has a great passion for conservation in the area.

We stayed 3 night but most just use this as a 1 night break between Cusco and Manu wildlife centre but it is worth staying a bit longer in this great peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Even the rooms nearest to the road are quiet. Take a torch as there is no mains electricity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I am an independent, avid traveller. I spent two months in Peru in 2010 for birdwatching. For two weeks I "roughed it" as a research assistant in the Pacaya-Samiria National Reserve on a ship in the northern Amazon Basin. After this and other travel to bird in various habitats in Peru, and as part of the excellent Manu Road Birding Tour by Virgilio Yabar C. of Amazonia Lodge, I stayed at the Cock-of-the-Rock Lodge. It was excellent. Lovely rooms. Candle light and kersene added to the beautiful ambience. The food was great and the dining area was super for watching birds and monkeys.The lodge is definitely in a great cloud forest habitat and we had very good birding. The Manu Road can be dusty for birding and there aren't many places to get off of the road, but there are many species to be seen by walking or driving. I would highly recommend this lodge. The staff are all very friendly and thoughtful. The rooms are clean and really pleasant. Y.L. Canada.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank YvonLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

You wouldn't make the long journey on broken dirt roads specially for the accommodation or the food. You come to see species you may not get elsewhere. Colourful tanagers are abundant, hummingbirds are feet away on the feeders, and we saw a couple of the eponymous Cocks of the Rick (though no dance). And Quetzals and Motmots. If CORL is important to you allow a couple of days as we only got really good views on one occasion.

The manager was welcoming and tried hard to accommodate his guests’ needs. He had previously managed a hotel in Cusco, and had passed on very high standards of service to his staff.

Food was acceptable but not spectacularly good. The hot showers (propane heated, no electricity in rooms and only for an hour or so for recharging in restaurant) were very welcome.

You go through some interesting villages between Cusco and Manu. The Manu road is quite litter strewn, unfortunately. Huge trucks pass up and down 24x7 carrying coca and other crops.

It rained quite a bit, which you'd expect in a cloud forest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank selimap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We took a 3 day 2 night trip organized by InkaNaturra to get a flavour of the forrest without going down into the Amazon. Also, the place is nearly mosquito free because of the height.

Because of a general strike in Cusco, we had to leave at midnight & arrived there at 9am after taking some non-strike bound side roads. The road after Pisac or Paucartambo is all dirt road with parts of road washed out. A 4 wheel drive SUV would have been a better/safer car for this trip. The drive is long & be prepared for bush toilets on the way.

The main disappointment is that the Cock-of-the-rock birds have moved elsewhere after the landslide this year & we did not see the mating dance, though we did see a few of them. We saw humming birds & tanagers and among mammals - monkeys & weasels.

The rooms are basically cabins with nice bathrooms & with hot water. They are wired for electricity but is not connected up (bring flashlights). The common dining room/lounge has electricity for 2hrs (6-8pm). The food was nothing special except for one meal. One meal was spaghetti - it could be improved with more Peruvian dishes.

The guide was knowledgeable & showed us as much as possible. I would wait until the lek for the cock-of-the-rock is identified.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manu National Park
0.0 mi away
Manu Wildlife Center
Manu Wildlife Center
#3 of 11 in Manu National Park
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heath River Wildlife Center
Heath River Wildlife Center
#7 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chontachaka Reserva Ecologica
Chontachaka Reserva Ecologica
#4 of 11 in Manu National Park
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pacaya Samiria Amazon Lodge
0.0 mi away
Alto Tambopata Lodge
Alto Tambopata Lodge
#1 of 1 in Filadelfia
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Refugio K'erenda Homet
El Refugio K'erenda Homet
#16 of 21 in Tambopata National Reserve
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cock of the Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cock of the Rock Lodge

Property: Cock of the Rock Lodge
Address: In the Kosnipata Valley, Manu National Park 17700, Peru
Location: Peru > Madre de Dios Region > Manu National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Manu National Park
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This location provides the world's best Andean Cock-of-the-Rock viewing in a pristine cloud forest reserve. The Cock-of-the-Rock Lodge is located in the magical Manu cloud forest on the lush eastern slopes of the Andes, and is part of the Tropical Nature conservation system. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cock Of The Rock Hotel Manu National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing