We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eco experience”
Review of Feynan Ecolodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Feynan Ecolodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dana
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“An eco experience”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We walked to here from Dana Guest House - probably the best way to get there. It has been built to provide work for the local community and is really eco based. The rooms are basic with electricity only in the bathroom. In the evenings everything is by candle light. Plenty of good Jordanian food in a romantic setting. In the evening there is a star gazing presentation on the roof with a powerful telescope. A head torch is a must.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fencerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    105
    45
    16
    13
See reviews for
83
247
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This ecolodge is beautiful and such a great example of the Jordanian people and the love and pride they have in their company. It is very unique and the candle lighting makes it seem out of another world. And yet is close to a small town and located in the desert. The next day we took a hike lead by a local RSNC guide. His is a Bedouin whose name is Mohammad Daifalla. He taught about the flora and fauna as well as the local culture. On the hike he made and served us the hot sweet tea that they love. His music and personality charmed us. He made the trip memorable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmhumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great trip out to Feynan - we were their only visitors for the night and we were treated like royalty. The stars are amazing. I would recommend for a couple of nights as part of a tour of Jordan to experience the peace of the landscape and kindness of the local people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice place to spend a couple nights. It is removed from everything else, but I think that is what makes it so nice. The staff was nice although a little overbearing sometimes trying to get you to go on hikes with them. The food was AMAZING! Some of the best hotel food I have had to date. The rooms are nice and cozy. Overall I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is definitely the highlight of 8 days Jordan stay. After leaving Amman, this is a place we found perfect scene of human and nature in harmony. You can also get plenty of fitness by exploring the trails around copper mines. We wish we planned two nights instead of one night stay. Food are vegetarian but all prepared locally fresh, the star gazing at night was very special. Having a bedroom with only 4 candles at night really inspired us to think about how much electricity we do not need to enjoy a perfect evening.

Room Tip: The room with balcony is worth the extra $10 :) You feel like sleeping outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyliu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Feynan Ecolodge recently on a trip through Jordan. It is an absolutely unique hotel in a beautiful setting in southern Jordan. After a 5 to 6 mile 4-wheel trak into the Nature Reserve to get to the hotel, we were shown to very comfortable rooms, with no electricity, except in the very complete in-room bathroom where there is an electric light. The bedroom is lit by small candles around the walls. The meals (all vegetarian) were buffet style and had a wide variety of delicious food. There are also several larger rooms downstairs with fireplaces to gather and hear stories from the Bedouin guides. The service was great and all of the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. As for activities, there are a number of great hikes we took, including a hike at both sunrise and sunset. After dinner, I particularly liked Stargazing on the roof where a powerful telescope is set up. I was able to see Jupiter and several moons clearly. With the naked eye, the sky was just filled with stars like I have never seen before. This is a place I would come back to again in a second. Anyone planning on their stay here should be looking for quiet, comfortable place in a beautifully unique setting, having their mind squared away to enjoy the common quiet comforts here, the wonderful treks into the hills and desert, as well as the wonderful local Bedouin guides.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am rating this eco lodge as very good based on what the experience could be. I choose it because it sounded like a one of a kind place to stay and in that regard it did not disappoint. The adventure begins with the actual 10km jeep ride in, we arrived at about 4pm and it took me a few hours to feel comfortable there, I really felt like leaving but knew it was impossible. Why did we feel like this, mostly because we were the only guests staying there and the reception and front desk were a little strange, almost like they didn't know what to do with us and it was hard to figure out who was actually in charge. There seemed to be a lot of men wandering around, almost like they were just hanging out there. The Eco guide discouraged us from taking the sunset hike mostly because it was a bit overcast but it would have been nice to get out and have a walk at least as opposed to wandering around outside by ourselves looking at cats and goats. Our room was lovely, they at least gave us one of the best rooms in the place and it was very beautiful later in the evening when it was lit by candles. I was a bit apprehensive about dinner, did not know what to expect but when the dinner gong was rung we emerged from our room to the lodge totally lit up with candles and had a wonderful candlelight dinner with a table overflowing with food, it was lovely. Then they lit a fire in the small sitting room and the Eco guide came and chatted with us for a while. It was very relaxing (We had brought a bottle of wine with us, so that helped with the relaxing bit I think ). The next morning we woke to herds of goats passing by and once again a table of food just for us. So I would say the only issue I had was the arrival as stated above and check out where they said we had to pay for the jeep ride in and out which I knew was incorrect because it was part of our package but I could not be bothered to argue with them and paid it again. Our tour company Discover Jordan reimbursed us and will be talking to head office about the issues we had upon arrival and disparture. I understand that the hotel is usually fully booked especially in the spring so I believe that anyone staying there would have a different experience that we had but overall I am glad we stayed there - gotta love the adventure!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana
21.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,559 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tower Hotel
Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dana
310 reviews
22.0 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dana Guesthouse
Dana Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Dana
167 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dana Hotel
Dana Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dana
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feynan Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feynan Ecolodge

Property: Feynan Ecolodge
Address: Dana Nature Reserve | Off the Dead-Sea Aqaba Highway, Dana, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Tafilah Governorate > Dana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as one of the top 25 ecolodges in the world by National Geographic Traveler Magazine, Feynan provides an adventurous, enchanting escape into the Dana Biosphere Reserve. The solar powered lodge is lit by candles and stars by night, with 26 en-suite rooms boasting unique arabesque designs. Enjoy regional vegetarian dishes made from local ingredients. Hike or bike across diverse landscapes, discover local Bedouin culture, and explore archeological sites including some of the world's oldest copper mines. All stays are all-inclusive of 3 meal, accommodation and a range of guided activities and experiences including hikes, Bedouin experiences, cooking classes and demonstrations and stargazing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Feynan Eco-Lodge Hotel Dana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing