We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Feynan Ecolodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dana
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beit Zaman(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Al Anbat Hotel 1(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candles Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Hotel Petra(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petra Moon Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Petra Palace Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Movenpick Resort Petra(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Set Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
427
125
51
18
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
125
51
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal bedouinvegetarian foodsunset walkno electricitysolar panelsbedouin lifeunique placecooking classpickup truckan eco lodgehot water bottlestwo nightsbedouin teadead seareception centeramazing experiencemilky way
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 637 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were really looking forward to this after a guided walk here from Dana Guesthouse at the top of the valley, which is simple but brilliant.

This supposedly more prestigious, 'eco' (ahem) 'boutique' hotel was a big, big disappointment.

First, the building. I'm an architect and know a bit about how to design to a climate. At the outset, this seemed ok - courtyard, thick walls, shaded openings should all keep heat out. But nothing to catch the breezes and the rooms are a dismal failure. There is a basic design flaw which is a lack of controllable through ventilation. In September its hot but not hottest, and our rooms were uninhabitable unless you propped the balcony and room doors open - not very secure and a good way of filling the room with flies. At 10pm the electricity is switched on so each room can use an electric fan, so at least sleep was possible. But 'eco'? Hardly. Bathroom ventilation was also poor and it was stinky as a result. Room fittings were built in and 'sculpted', none of it particularly attractive or practical. 3 chairs, 1 broken, 1 on verge of collapse. Balcony narrow, had a thick canvas curtain for shading but this simply worked as a heat trap.

These are very, very basic design errors for a building purporting to be 'eco'.

When we were there the shaded outside spaces were plagued with flies during the day, reception was about the only inhabitable inside space. At least we didn't have mosquitoes at night, as others have experienced.

Next, the lighting - candles in the room which were a fire hazard, especially the bedside ones close to the mosquito nets, (and no extinguisher in ours), lanterns elsewhere and at dinner, these kept blowing out in the breeze.

Next , the staff - yes, the sunset walk was ok, using the roof top telescope fun, but there was a coolness, aloofness almost, a marked contrast to their counterparts (and also RSCN employees) at Dana Guesthouse. There weren't many parties staying but we all got an after dinner 'lecture' on the roof in the pitch dark to discuss activities for the next day, it was like being back at school, whereas at Dana it was done in a much friendlier, personal way. We were moving on anyway but at least one other guest didn't seem to be getting much help in doing what she really wanted to do.

Meals were ok, we have no problem with vegetarian food, though again we had better at Dana Guesthouse. Table and room water in clay jugs was warm.

Too much 'eco' posing which doesn't work, too little attention to proper care of guests. Very, very disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid - until the design faults have been corrected and the staff have been retrained.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chesterimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed in Feynan Ecolodge for 1 night in a beautiful deluxe room (with own balcony with nice views on the surroundings). Since the lodge is situated quite remotely (can only be reached by 4WD, 25 JD round trip), the surroundings are very peaceful. It is a great way to experience real Bedouin life (people in the area still live in tents), to my opinion much better than in Wadi Rum.

Next to us, there was only one other guest, so we had the lodge for ourselves! The free sunset hike was quite nice, after which dinner (vegetarian, very good) was served on the terrace outside the lodge (lit by a lot of candles). Since we were the only ones there, it seemed that the personnel also had decided to take it easy (no information was provided regarding hikes the next day, which are available for 11 JD per person (half day) or 16 JD (full day)). The breakfast was very good again. During the breakfast a large group of goats joined us, which was amazing.

Feynan Ecolodge is a great place to get some rest, slow down a little bit and enjoy real Bedouin life! Although accommodation is not cheap, I would highly recommend the lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Eco lodge is in a beautiful isolated location and you're in for a ride getting there since it is off road, but it's quite worth it.
Once there you'll see that the building is quite nice and people are very hospitable.
The rooms were very good and the entire candle-lit atmosphere at night is gorgeous.
On arrival we went on a sunset hike where we sat with the guide and drank Bedouin tea.
We spent the night on the roof stargazing and the next day took a half-day hike through the valley.
Food is vegetarian but good and is eaten in semi-darkness which i liked but some might think too dark.
All in all i'd do it again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Nesreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our family of 6 spent one night at Feynan during our 8-night trip to Jordan. We liked the off-the-beaten-track location and natural setting of the lodge, and the "sustainable tourism" idea is an admirable one. It is apparent that the lodge has made a difference to the lives of some of the people in the area: whether this is a good thing or not is probably debatable. I like to support eco lodges in general, and I do understand that the experience is not going to be luxurious. However I do not like to be ripped off. This place is not cheap, but it is very basic. The rooms are small and stuffy. The beds are hard. The bathrooms are minute. The mosquitos are ferocious. The dinner is unimaginative and bland, and is eaten in virtual darkness. Breakfast is mediocre to say the least: stale bread, a few jams, hummus, yoghurt, some olivey things, and cold eggs.

We spent a sleepless night at Feynan as the heat and stuffiness in our rooms was unbearable. The rooms had ceiling fans, but these seem to be purely decorative as they were not activated at all. My husband moved up to the rooftop in the middle of the night in a desperate attempt to escape the sauna our room had become - but was soon devoured by mosquitos and had to return. When we asked the front desk guy about the fans the next morning he was unable to give a clear answer as to why they were not working, and we left unsure as to whether it was just our 3 rooms, or the entire building that was fan-less. Was there a problem - or is this simply part of the eco experience that people are expected to tolerate? We would all have preferred an extra night at the Dead Sea Marriott instead - and this would probably have cost less too.

The guides were helpful and knowledgeable, but the rest of the staff seemed detached and anything but service-oriented. We did enjoy visiting the bedouin tents where we watched bread-making and coffee-brewing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gnjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, having had some great treks in the lovely landscape of the bio reserve in which it is situated.
The Lodge itself was a curious experience. The building is pleasant, in a beautiful natural setting. The rooms are basic but comfortable.(But very hot at night if you go in the summer!!)
Food in the evenings is entirely vegetarian, well-prepared and plentiful, but fairly limited in choice. Expect to eat in near darkness as your table is lit with one small lantern/candle, and torches seemed to be frowned upon!
Service was the odd thing. If you asked staff for anything, whilst they always responded, (to be fair), we were left feeling that we had somehow interrupted their perfect eco experience! So, for example, getting a drink in the evenings (water or fruit juice only, by the way) took quite an effort- no-one ever asked you if you wanted anything. Which given the heat was not an unreasonable expectation!! We were pleased to have visited once, but wouldn't go back again for a second time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eborlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews