We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay when visiting Dana”
Review of Tower Hotel

Tower Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dana
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire , Uk
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great place to stay when visiting Dana”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with excellent views especially at sunset. The food is good quality Jordanian fayre and there is as much as you could possibly want at the generous buffet. The room decor was quirky and fun. The rooms in the part of the hotel we were staying in had shared facilities which were fine if basic.
We were part of a group of 12 on a tour of Jordan and we were all very happy with our stay which was only for one night. The free wifi a was something of a bonus - I had not expected any internet connection in such a remote spot.
It is important to be realistic in your expectations of this hotel which, by european standards, is more of a hostel and is really intended as a resource for local travellers. The village of Dana has little to offer apart from the local craft and tourist information centre and the village itself is in the early stages of restoration.
We had good food and a comfortable bed for the night which is all a traveller needs.

Room Tip: Be flexible especially if travelling as part of a group as accommodation is limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterf124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    108
    26
    14
    5
See reviews for
38
103
58
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisieux, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The situation of the hotel is really nice, on top of a hill that dominates a great valley. The hotel itself has a special atmosphere, with many rooms on different floors in every corner, which gives to the place some originality. The prices are quite ok, and the dinners are included in the price, which is a nice idea because it enables people to meet each other during the dinner, and to share their experience about Jordan.
The staff was kind and ready to help for further transfers or excursions in Dana. We want to thank especially the three Philippine girls, who were working hard in the hotel to do the cooking, and do the cleaning everywhere, at any time. Apparently, they came to Jordan to work, and we were quite uncomfortable with their situation, even though they were always smiling and very positive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you just stay one night here, then don't come.
Because this is the place that you can really be into it.
You should stay here at least 3 nights. Then you will find the true beauty of Dana.
Great food, helpful staffs, clean room, nice view, fresh air.
Special thanks to the staff Ahmet. What a great, nice, kind and funny guy. He took me to have a pinic. I enjoyed the most relaxed time with him in Jordan :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamChenWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Set on the top of a hill the Tower is a real rustic gem.
The staff are all customer focused and looking after you on your stay is their number 1 purpose in life.
The meals are classic Jordanian but have great flavour and quantity.
The rooms are are very basic but again have charm in their simplicity.
All facilities worked well and wifi is free.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BWWW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed there for two nights in November and liked it very much. I'd recommend it anyone and would be happy to go back when time comes.

The staff including Baba and Hazim are very friendly and helpful and eager to organize various kinds of tours of your preference. I ended up walking the Wadi Dana trail that did not require a guide but would like to take one of the guided trails if I visit again by any chance (Ask Baba to show video footage of some of the trails. They are beautiful).

And three Philippina helpers are amazing cooks! The 20-dish buffet dinner was the best food I ever had while in Jordan. Rooms are basic and small but kept very clean so I had no problem with it. Shared bathrooms are also kept very clean and hot shower is available.

Incoming transportation can be a headache because there is no direct public transportation to the Dana village but baba is very quick to help if you contact him in advance (I took a bus from Aqaba to Tafila and the bus driver dropped me at the junction that leads to Dana village. The hotel staff -- I called them before leaving Aqaba -- waited there to pick me up). For outgoing transportation, you can just talk to the hotel staff and they will take care of it.

The whole Dana village is very small, serene town with only nine ( or fewer) households. And the view of Wadi Dana and surrounding mountains are just mind-blowing. I loved just sitting at the rooftop sofa and looking up the mountains, especially at night. Great atmosphere, great food and friendly staff. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed in dana tower hotel for one night. The owner is very friendly and helped us with everything. We were with three couples so i was able to compare three diffrent rooms. For the same price you get very diffrent rooms. I had a lovely room with good private shower, beds and funny interior. However my friends had a more old room with bad shower and no hot water. So its a bit of a gamble :).
The hotel is right in Dana Village (consist of scatered ruins). The starting point for lots of hikes.
The owner arranged a hike for us, the wadi Ghuweir trail which was one of the best hikes i've ever done in my life!!! You walk through a gorge which has an amazing scenery with changing 'environment' from desert to jungle like trees at the end. Everything was well arranged. He said we didnt need a guide because we were with 6, when arraging the hike with RSCN they oblige you to hire a guide. I think when hiking with more then two experienced hikers the trail is easy doable without a guide. Expect to get soaking wet when you do this trail. When hiking with only two its impossible to keep your camera dry :).

In the evening a taxi drove us back (2 hour drive) and dinner was prepared. For,5 jod this was a redicoulousy good meal! Definately best in Jordan we had.

This was also the cheapest hotel we stayed in, price/quality very good value ( i think)

Room Tip: Your experience will depend on what room you get :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yoegibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Let me start by saying that when we arrived there at sunset, we found that there was a double-booking and they did not have availability for the 2 rooms with private bathrooms as we requested (and which was confirmed via email). They showed us 2 rooms in different places (the one was a temporary structure one the roof - 2 single beds), the other room was in the old section (smelled really old, dark and there was no way that we would have stayed there - didnt seem healthy, and the beds and bathroom was very very basic).
Important that you know that not 1 of the rooms we saw has the same location, interior, bathroom facilities etc etc. - so you might not know what you will get when you book.

They tried desperately to give us alternatives - 1st by recommending a nearby hotel and when we agreed they said it was fully booked. Then they suggested their camp and said they have space - we drove there late at night and they were full. We were annoyed by that time seeing that we didnt believe their word could be trusted. They kept on phoning us for the rest of the night and over the next day or so apologising, but by that time we didnt trust them to help us with alternative accommodation. We ended up driving to Petra the same night and luckly our driver stuck with us and helped us to find accommodation.

Re Dana Village - awesome at sunset with the ruins. BUT - it is nothing as was described on TA or the internet. Apart from the 3 hotels/guest houses, there are only 2 families living there. No nice cafees and the village has not been restored. It is really like staying in a ruined city. The Tower hotel would not have given us the chill time reading and relaxing (no fault of theirs) that we were planning - you would have to chill on the roof (would have been great if it wasnt for very noisy tourist kids running around and shouting as there is really nothing else for them to do) as the rooms are dark and small with no outside view.
The village itself is very dirty and not really a village at all like I said, but rather ruins.
Would compare it to backpackers lodging (but then again, even backpackers lodging is not this basic).
You definately get what the price suggests

Room Tip: Every room is different (ito bathroom facilities, decor, location) and I don't think you will kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBdiscoveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana
0.0 mi away
Peace Way Hotel
Peace Way Hotel
#12 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Guesthouse
Dana Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Dana
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Hotel
Dana Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dana
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rummana Camp
Rummana Camp
#3 of 3 in Dana
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wadi Dana Eco-camp
Wadi Dana Eco-camp
#2 of 3 in Dana
23 reviews
22.4 mi away
Belfer's Dead Sea Cabins
Belfer's Dead Sea Cabins
#2 of 6 in Neot HaKikar
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel

Property: Tower Hotel
Address: Main Street, Dana, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Tafilah Governorate > Dana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Hotel Dana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing