We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great food”
Review of Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights in en suite rooms. Area is quiet and sleep quality good. There is a nice communal area to chill and drink tea. Free wifi. Staff helpful and pointed us in the direction of local walks, e.g. to the springs and down the wadi. Also arranged a walk with a Bedouin guide in the Al Barra region. The walk was great and the guide was friendly and knowledgeable and good with the kids. Breakfast and dinner was included in what was a very reasonable price. The food was excellent and plentiful.

Be aware that Dana is a very quiet village. The nearest shops, we were told, are in the new village which is a few km away. The hotel can sell you a packed lunch, along with water and cold drinks, etc.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank 5onholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

It was probably the best accommodation we had in the whole trip in Jordan.
Even if we arrived late in the night they had spared a simple but delicious dinner for us, which we had really loved after the long journey. Then we relaxed under the porch, smoking shisha with Hasim (the helpful guy running the Hotel) and the other travellers staying at the Dana Tower. The atmosphere was genuinely friendly and it was easy to socialise with the other guests.
They showed us all the rooms they had available and let us choose the ones we liked the most.
Our triple room had only a small window but a private bathroom, while the double (the Honeymoon Room - really really nice) had a small balcony with a stunning view of the valley and a shared bathroom. Towels were provided.

Also, Dana village is nice and the reserve worth visiting if you enjoy hiking in the nature.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKU_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Grat value at 10JD per person including breakfast and dinner. I wasn't expecting much in terms of meals as the price was a lot cheaper than other places in Jordan but what a huge spread and everything was so delicious. I would have stayed another night just for the food.

Interesting mix of rooms. Bathrooms are shared but very clean. Nice common area to read, hang out, meet others or snooze. The staff was constantly cleaning and going out of their way to make us feel at home.

The hiking was amazing and staying in Dana was a magical time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Neither my friend or I had heard of this place before and we made the mistake of checking out a day too early from Amman, so our driver suggested Dana Village! We said why not?! It was on the way to Petra, which is where we were headed. Pretty much the standard greeting in all of Jordan is 'welcome to Jordan', here we heard this saying as a second language, the people were lovely, the food simple, yet satisfying, the rooms....I don't know exactly how to describe the decor, so I've attached a photo! Go, for a walk and have a look around and you must take in the sunset!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonePlatzke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

GREAT free dinner and breakfast meals with tons of dishes and vegetarian options. Helpful friendly staff. Amazing view.

Room Tip: I would recommend the highest room on the roof because it overlooks the canyon where the sun sets ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

On a recent trip to Dana our group stayed at the guesthouse but booked dinner here as we heard it was good. Sure enough, there were great smells wafting from the kitchen when we arrived. The buffer dinner was served a little after 8pm and offered quite a big variety of home-cooked local dishes that were all very tasty. The hotel was full and some in our group were the last to arrive at dinner to slimmer pickings, however we asked about this and received a dish of freshly made gallayeh (a local hot tomato dish) to supplement. It's a family-run hotel, run by Abu Ramzi. After dinner one of his sons entertained the guests by teaching them to dance the dabkeh and playing the tableh. We also booked a guide for a hike the next day, who was Abu Ramzi's brother, and he was great. I didn't see the rooms, but I definitely recommend at least dinner at this friendly place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

an amazing place with each room decorated in a diffirent way , with stunning views from the rooftop, very friendly an easy going staff that give tons of good info . great backpacker's atmosphere .

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tremendozapato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana
0 mi away
Petra Diamond Hotel
Petra Diamond Hotel
#30 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Guesthouse
Dana Guesthouse
#1 of 4 in Dana
184 reviews
0 mi away
Dana Hotel
Dana Hotel
#2 of 4 in Dana
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wadi Dana Eco-camp
Wadi Dana Eco-camp
#2 of 3 in Dana
29 reviews
9.9 mi away
Dana Moon Hotel
Dana Moon Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dana
77 reviews
4 mi away
Al-Nawatef Camp
Al-Nawatef Camp
#1 of 3 in Dana
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Hotel

Address: Main Street, Dana, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Tafilah Governorate > Dana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dana
Price Range: $23 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Hotel Dana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing