We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dana Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Al Anbat Hotel 1(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beit Zaman(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petra by Night Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petra Nights Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candles Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Hotel Petra(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petra Moon Hotel(Petra - Wadi Musa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
104
73
22
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
73
22
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseprivate balconylocal foodnew wingplace to stayamazing viewsroyal societythe reservedouble roomlocal ladyarabic breadcliff overlookingchief cheffloor to ceiling glassduty managershared bathroomexcellent location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 204 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

THe view is just splendid...the rooms all have a balcony...the food was just too good, healthy and tasty, service was perfect, birdwatching, walking, trekking, ...
If you travel in Jordan don´t miss this spot!!!
Cheers

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utsuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a hostel run by Royal Society for the Preservation of Nature whom have done a great job in taking good care of the this whole area.

The hostel has ,all local ,very well trained employees, very informative and friendly . All nine rooms but one have balconies that offer a magnificent view of the valley and bring you very close to watching different birds and wild life that exist there from partridges to eagles to foxes.
The whole trip if done through the RSPN is worth the experience.
The rooms are very clean so are the bathrooms.. the local food well prepared and presented..

They have a small gift shop selling products made by local women of the area.

The walks and trails are a must. This is a haven for birds watchers and nature lovers.

Room Tip: ROOM 9 has its own bathroom. Room 4 has no balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameltamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel took a little while to find - maybe some more signage would help! But when we arrived it was just stunning, literally on the edge of the valley the views are incredible... you're so close to nature that you can hear the sound of the birds flying through and past the balcony. My partner and I were very lucky that we were the only ones staying during our one night at the Guest House so we were upgraded to the room with a private bathroom - very nice! The dinner which is included with your booking is very Jordanian and literally a feast! There are some nice little walking trails around you can explore.

Room Tip: Try to book the room with private bathroom, I think this would be the nicest option unless staying with a larger group.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmajaneismyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The other postings re Dana Guest House are correct in that it is nearer a hostel than a hotel, HOWEVER don't let the fact that it is a bit basic put you off. It is a great place on the edge of the canyon, with great views from the balconies. A day or so spent here and in Dana is more about the fact that it is a wonderful place than luxury. The guesthouse served excellent Jordanian food in the evening which created a great opportunity to talk to the other guests. The staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The guesthouse is also a great place to start the main walk through the canyon from.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindfieldSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by Abdullah and the rest of the team, who showed us to our room and suggested to visit old Dana during the afternoon. A good way to get to meet local people and chat to them.

Although we only spent one night, we greatly enjoyed our stay at Dana. We were lucky to make our reservation a few weeks in advance and could ask for the only room with en suite bathroom. There are 9 in total (plans for an extension seem to be going on) with shared bathrooms. The room was comfortable, but what made the difference was the balcony, with the most amazing views. Do not miss the sunrise!

Dinner was buffet style with very good jordanian food, including a variety of salads, pasta, hummus, okras and maklouba (arabic word for "upside down", delicious dish with chicken, rice and eggplant). Watermelon and sweets were also offered.
Abdullah was an excellent host, talking to all guests and making sure that everybody was having a good time.

The next mornig we had the White Dome Trail, a moderate 8 Km trek, with the most enjoyable guides we have ever had! The views were breathtaking and we had so much fun just talking to our guides and sharing stories.

If there was something we would change, that would be the time that breakfast was served. Starting at 8:30h, that meant that the departure for the trek was at least around 9h. To our liking, too late, in terms of temperature and light for pictures.

Otherwise, a very hospitable and friendly place to experience real Jordan.

Room Tip: Room number 9 (suite) has ensuite bathroom
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XenaTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews