We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience in the desert”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rummana Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rummana Camp
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dana
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“An experience in the desert”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I spent an evening at the campground , and where extremely disappointed. Unbeknownced to us you have to bring in some supplies of which we were not aware- a flashlight and towels for the bathroom which are not supplied. The matresses that are supplied were extremely soiled and well worn as well as the pillows.Linen is supplied but very worn. It is quite a walk to the bathrooms which can make it difficult at night. That being said,the hospitality shown by the staff was very good and helpful. The setting was truly wonderful.
From our experience make sure your tour company fully informs you of what to expect.
Dwayne S. from Canada

Room Tip: Simply make yourself aware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dana, Jordan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

when you feel that you need to relax and feel the nature
you should go to Rummana camp
clean and quite and friendly staff
very good food

so please visit
another thing if you want to explore more about Jordan eco-tourism
please contact
www.jordanhikes.com

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikes J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

You are in the middle of nowhere in a nice camp-site. Very clean washrooms are available. You park your car at the entrance of the natural reserve, and you get picked up by a shuttle. There are 3 different trails that leave from the camp. Each one takes you approx. 2-3 hours walk and let you discover the beautiful surroundings without a guide.
At night, the sleep quality may heavily depend on the presence of loud groups.
The lunchbox they offer is clearly overpriced at 6.50JD/person. There is basically not much you can eat inside. Just stop at a supermarket before and make your box yourself before getting to Dana.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Nice and quiet place for relaxing in the nature. Tents for 2, 3 or 4 ppl occupancy and clean washrooms are available. Shower water is very cold. You might need a torch at night. People in the reception area were very friendly at the time of check in. The car you have to park outside the camp, a shuttle will you bring down to the camp. Dinner and Breakfast is also available.

Only "minus" at our 1 day stay was the arrogant attitude of the camp manager on duty at this day.

Summary:
recommendable place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metallfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed here in this tented camp for one night on our recent trip around Jordan. Booked online with Jordan Select Tours. Took us ages to find Dana driving from Dead Sea - but driving in Joran is a challenge! Eventually found the Camp. You have to park at the top at the visitors area car park then an old loory drives you down to the camp. Apart from the park ranger and the chef - we were the only people there! No other guests at all! It was so peaceful and quiet - lovely! Showers and toilets clean as a new pin. Lovely guy called Khalid was our chef - made us traditional Jordanian supper and breakfast - all delicious and spotlessly clean. he was a lovely man and told us lots about Jordan and the people. His name means 'God Sword' - so if you're reading this Khalid - I didn't forget!. Nothing in your tent accept mattress and clean sheets and pillows and blankets. No light to bring a torch. A real feeling of isolation amongst wonderful mountain scenery - just what the doctor ordered!

Room Tip: Al tents are the same - but bring a torch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

Rummana Camp lies in the middle of a national park near Dana village. It is owned by a non-profit organisation that preserves the nature in Jordan. Although it is in the middle of nature there is running water and electricity. Sleeping tents are clean and have good mattrasses and clean sheets. Showers and toilets are in good condition. There is a large bedouin tent where you can relax during the day or in the evening.
The friendly camp staff can tell you everything about the mountains surrounding the camp. And they really enjoy it. They prepare excellent food too.
We stayed only one night with our family with 2 small boys (5,7) but felt sorry we could not spend more time here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana
0.0 mi away
Tower Hotel
Tower Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Hotel
Dana Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dana Guesthouse
Dana Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Dana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Al-Nawatef Camp
Al-Nawatef Camp
#1 of 3 in Dana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wadi Dana Eco-camp
Wadi Dana Eco-camp
#2 of 3 in Dana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rummana Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rummana Camp

Property: Rummana Camp
Address: Dana, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Tafilah Governorate > Dana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rummana Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing