We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Banderitsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Banderitsa
Ranked #77 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
East Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap basic hotel”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one week in February for a ski break with another couple. Our room was clean but basic, although we booked an apartment rather than standard room so we had a separate lounge/dining/kitchen area from the bedroom. The overall room was large which is appreciated when you have a lot of ski luggage. That said, there was minimal cutlery etc. We had a kettle and two tiny cups, no teaspoons. One saucer, no plates, a pyrex bowl and two forks - all very random. We booked half board and paid £500 each incl flights with neilson, so were happy to not expect much! Breakfast was OK, pretty bog standard for this type of place (cereal, toast, few hot things, cheese). Evening meals were not brilliant but again standard for this type of hotel and as mentioned before we had not paid a huge amount for the holiday so were happy to eat out in the evening which we did on a couple of nights. We would highly recommend Molerite which is directly across from the hotel (over the river). Very nice food and as usual for Bulgaria, cheap!! Four of us had a 3 course meal with a couple of drinks for a total of 100 Lev (about £50!). May be worth booking a table though as we were lucky to get the last available table. Many others after us were turned away. This hotel was OK and served its purpose for the week, it was warm which is important after a day on the slopes, staff were friendly and helpful. But, if you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is not for you and if we return to Bansko again, we would stay elsewhere.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyRubble2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    13
    13
    11
See reviews for
23
30
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a last minute Snowboarding holiday over the Christmas period in Bulgaria. It was a Neilson holiday booked through a company we found online called Cheapskiholidays.com.
Our choices were very much guided by the operator as neither of us had ever been on a winter sports holiday and the Hotel Banderitsa was personally recommended by the operator who had stayed with them on a number of occasions.

The Hotel is a three hour transfer from Sofia International Airport – but don’t let this put you off. We arrived at the hotel at approximately 10pm local time and so it was dark and we did not get to see the surrounding area until the morning. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the directions to our room were very clear. The first thing that hit us was the warmth. It was always warm in every part of the hotel. The corridors were clean, fresh and nicely decorated. The décor was very much in keeping with a ski chalet/log cabin theme which was a nice change to the usual white, clinical, characterless, minimalistic look many hotels seem to have adopted.
On arrival to our room, there was a sandwich; an apple and a bottle of water each waiting for us as we had missed the evening meal. This was a lovely touch. The room was lovely. There was a big wardrobe, dressing table, sofa, coffee table, bedside tables and storage for coats and shoes by the door. The bed was huge! It was great. It was like sleeping separate beds but not. Perfect! The bathroom was clean, light and very spacious. We had lovely fresh clean towels every day. The bed was pristine upon every return and not one of our belongings had been touched. I felt very safe leaving personal possessions in the room. There was free wifi, you just needed to ask for the code at reception.

The hotel provided an excellent shuttle bus service (with a very friendly driver) every half an hour to and from the ski resort. It was 5 mins in the bus and even if you missed the bus, the hotel was only a 15 min walk from the resort along the river. I won’t say impossible to get lost but it was very straightforward.

We stayed half board. We were given a card that you had to present at the restaurant each day to prove we were guests. The breakfast and evening meals were buffet style. Again, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the English was fantastic. Typical Brits eh? At each meal, we got a full explanation of what was on offer both Bulgarian options and the other cuisines. My boyfriend has a food allergy and the staff we very helpful in checking with all the staff involved in the cooking, that the food was safe for him to eat. I believe the breakfast sitting was from 7:30. The breakfasts were not the usual ‘continental’ breakfasts that you expect from a buffet style. There were usually three breakfast cereals on offer, white bread which you could toast with the toasters provided, yogurt and a selection of fruits, and then a hot buffet which comprised of scrambled egg, boiled eggs, a Bulgarian flakey cheesy pastry thing (I forget the names of them) frankfurter style sausages… I can’t remember anymore as I stuck to cereal, eggs and toast. I would have liked to have seen bacon etc on offer too but you don’t go abroad and expect everything to be the same, so we tried to embrace the local delicacies on offer.
Evening meals were very interesting and varied. It was clear that the staff had tried to accommodate for many nationalities which was lovely, however it may be of no surprise that the Bulgarian options were much nicer and enjoyable than the carbonara and cottage pie etc. Don’t get me wrong, the food was more than edible, just don’t expect it to taste or look like the cottage pie and carbonara you know. We did not go hungry in the slightest. You could have a little of everything on offer and go back for more of what you discovered you did like. Like breakfast, it was self-service.
The only criticism was the lack of drinks. You could purchase drinks from the hotel to accompany your meals but it was not clear if you had to go to the bar upstairs to do that. You were not allowed to bring drinks with you but it would have been nice to just have some table water on offer to accompany the meals.
We were away on Christmas day and the Hotel put on Christmas dinner for everyone including music and traditional Bulgarian dancing. It was lovely. A really nice touch when you realise you’re missing family and friends back at home. The Christmas dinner was no less than SEVEN courses, again not what you would expect a Christmas dinner to be but if you do visit on Christmas day, no need to eat at all until the evening or possibly until the following evening! So much food! The only unfortunate thing was that the Christmas dinner wasn’t very well advertised to guests. I’m not sure if it was put on for guests of Neilson Holidays or whether it was for everyone staying at the hotel but we only found out about it by chance.
All in all, we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Banderitsa. So much so, that we have already enquired about prices for next Christmas. Next time I think we will book directly and just stay B&B as there are plenty of restaurants up in the old town that are only 10 mins walk away where we can experience different foods and more of the Bulgarian experience. We found that as great as the Snowboarding was, it was exhausting and knowing we had half board made us lazy and not venture out very often. By going B&B we will have to go out and Bulgaria is so cheap that it won’t cost a great deal to eat out every night. It is a holiday after all!
Highly recommended and we can’t wait to go back! Thank you to all the staff that made our stay so relaxed, pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelJCoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just returned from a week in the hotel Banderitsa with my daughter, although we did not get there until after midnight the staff were very friendly, curtious and professional in helping us settle in. The bar was open and the price was very reasonable 3.50lev about £1.50 a large beer. The food was mostly very good although you did not get a drink hot or cold with your evening meal.
The rooms were cleaned and towels changed every day.
The hotel is situated approx. 15-20mins walk from the central action area of town (the gondola) but they do provide a shuttle service every half hour from 8am-5pm. The steam room, pool and spa area are well worth a visit to ease off the muscles and are free to guest,s
You pay for what you get and although cheap, the Banderitsa is well worth the money paid, a superb little hotel with a big heart.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked to go with a mate for a weeks snowboarding. Not much snow but that's not the hotels fault! Good bargain hotel. Booked a room but got an apartment which was feather large and had a fridge, dining area, sofa, balcony, large bedroom and bathroom with shower. The swimming pool was nice but a tad on the cold side. Didn't get to use the sauna or jacuzzi as there was a school group staying who seemed to hog it. Staff were very friendly and helped when we needed it. Not very much variety on the food but I'm a fussy eater and I survived! Would stay again. A bit out of town but only took 10 mins to walk to gondola on a morning in snowboarding gear when I'd missed the free shuttle bus.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodie_crawford2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

When we booked our stay we were told we could have a normal room or a one bedroom apartment which somehow worked out to be the same price. The apartment was lovely with a little hallway, bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and large sitting area with balconies at the front and back. There aren't great views from the balconies but the rooms are comfortable enough. The buffet breakfast and dinners are somewhat random food but do the job. Best not to go down just as dinner begins as there were massive queues (and lots of people who were good at queue jumping!) The pool is small but would have been nice if it hadn't been for all of the splashing children - maybe they should have an hour of adult only time in the evening? Sauna and steam room nice but busy. I had a massage at the spa which was well priced and one of the best massages I've had, the lady was really friendly as well. The staff were friendly and approachable. A bulb went in our apartment which was fixed with no hassle within hours. Its about a 15 min from the gondola and central bars etc. They put on a shuttle bus but the walk is pleasant so we didn't really use it.
A nice place to stay and we got it reasonably priced with some sort of deal.

Room Tip: Try to go for the one bedroom apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I really don't know where to start. This Hotel is ranked with 4 stars, I am sure that 2 stars are more than enough. As you can see on the Pictures it was real disaster. There was 180 guests and the underground restaurant has a capacity for less than 80 persons. Very dirty and the Spa/Pool area stinks on mold. Never again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gligor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bansko hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend over Christmas. We got a great deal and had a fantastic time, but my expectations were high because the travel agent had given a rating which inferred the hotel was four star or '3 star plus.'

If you ignore the travel agent, this place is a gem, especially for snowboarders. They let you keep your ski/snowboard equipment in your room (whereas some other Bansko hotels make you pay extra for storage). The food is basic but hearty - lots of Bulgarian specialities and pasta - and is an all-you-can-eat buffet. There's also a pleasant bar, and the pool and sauna were small but great. The room was hot, spacious and comfortable with good WiFi reception, and the service was great with lots of English-speaking staff. It's a short walk to Pirin Street (the main street through the town) and there's a regular minibus to the gondolas.

However, it does fall a little short of the luxury the travel agent advertised: the TV was old with poor reception and some noddy wiring, there was the odd cracked tile or missing light bulb, the food wasn't anything special (and there were no drinks with the evening meal) and the "gym" was three tatty old machines rusting in a corridor (two had run out of battery power). Front desk were always happy to help, but I didn't like asking so much!

In short, for a budget winter sports stay it's exceptional but you will be disappointed if you want luxury.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena
1.3 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Veziova House
Veziova House
#15 of 131 in Bansko
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bansko Castle Lodge
Bansko Castle Lodge
#23 of 109 in Bansko
9 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mountain Romance Spa Hotel
Mountain Romance Spa Hotel
#20 of 131 in Bansko
37 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Banderitsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Banderitsa

Property: Hotel Banderitsa
Address: Han Asparuh str 2, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bansko
#42 Spa Hotel in Bansko
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Banderitsa 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art hotel “Banderitsa” is located next to Glazne River, just a few hundred meters away from the gondola station or downtown. The Hotel and its staff will make sure that you experience a most enjoyable stay, benefiting from all kinds of holiday possibilities, ranging from sports to fine arts throughout the whole year.The Complex has thirty four rooms, seventy apartments, pub, restaurant, BBQ garden and a lobby bar. The Spa center of hotel Banderitsa includes a swimming pool, authentic Turkish bath – Hammam, sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Banderitsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banderitsa Hotel Bansko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing