We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MPM Hotel Guinness Bansko
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We are a family of five (children aged 8,8,5,) and had an very good stay (week beg 25/2/12) at the hotel. Lovely foyer/atrium with huge log fire, which is stunning. Room immaculate (2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment with more than enough room for 5). Service very good. Pool great for kids and temperature fine. Sauna and steam room. A measure of our satisfaction was that we did not go out in evenings. Evening food as part of half board was adequate rather than great but buffet type food is never fantastic and there was more than enough, with good variety and choice and it was very healthy! Breakfasts good
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    56
    28
    19
    14
See reviews for
69
30
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have been to the Guinness Hotel three years running.

Years 1 & 2 - I just wish to forget the experiences.

Year 3 - what a massive change around. The whole hotel has been taken over by a company called MPM. They have re branded the hotel "MPM Hotel Guinness" ... in line with (apparently) all their other hotels.

The staff where very helpful and from the minute we walked through the door to the minute we left nothing was too much hassle or an issue.

I have to say at last this hotel is now a "real" hotel run by "real" hoteliers ... what more can you ask for.

The rooms are clean and tidy, and come with a kitchen.

We did not eat in the hotel as we have learnt that you can buy food a lot cheaper in the local restaurants and indeed self cater with snacks etc in the room when required.

I cannot stress enough how much this hotel has now changed, very close to the ski lifts (approx 100m) and very very close to all the various shops etc ... amazing views from the room too over the mountain slopes.

I've booked for next year already!

Just before I left I spoke to the manager (Evangeli I think his name was) and asked him why he took on the Guinness, he explained to me that his company was good at what they do, they work in a niche world of taking on flagging hotels and bring in strong teams to run them. They are able to breed success this way and people who use MPM hotels for their holidays know what to expect no matter where they are in Bulgaria. He explained that the hotel is now on the radar of a number of large tour operators and that he expected it to be a busy season this Summer and Winter (2013).

Room Tip: Eat out...it is so easy, venture into the old town if possible (minutes away) .. you will not regret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We returned last week, from a weeks skiing in Bansko, staying at the MPM Guinness Hotel. Very professional staff greeted us and our room was immaculate with lovely cot provided for our baby and spacious apartment.
Warm, cosy ambience in the hotel lobby with massive log fire to relax in front of after a day on the slopes. The evening buffet menu did not look too attractive, but there was an excellent bar menu available at cheaper prices than the restaurant, and better quality too.
All waiters and staff, friendly and professional throughout.
Lovely spa pool, sauna and stem room, although pool could be a couple of degrees warmer!
Also recommend the ski hire in the Hotel basement. Very efficient, great quality skis and boots, and cheap prices too! Also the Hotel shuttle bus leaves exactly on time to take you to the Gondola and pick you up too!
For our fist family ski holiday ever, we could not have been happier!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Just returned from a weeks skiing in Bansko with family. Had a great time and loads of snow!!!!
Stayed at Guinness which is under new management. Friendly staff, clean spacious rooms, beautiful fire in lobby. Only had breakfast in hotel which was ok as ate out every night in a different place. It is so cheap to eat out and lots of choice. Recommend the Queens bar near the ice rink and a restaurant called Torito, although we had great meals in all the places we went.
Hotel has pool, sauna and steam room, i did not use the pool but kids did, they said it was ok once you were in! Bar snacks are great if you dont fancy the restaurant and are better value. Also has a games room and internet room. Overall a nice hotel, would recommend. A shuttle bus available to take to the gondola and you could walk if you wanted as only 5 mins away. Great location for the slopes!

Room Tip: Great views from 5th floor. Also accommodation is on 2 floors, bedrooms upstairs, lounge downstairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

hotel in really good location. its supposedly a 5 star' but we would class it as three star maybe 3 plus. fabulous lobby on arrival.we arrived late so restaurant was closed,we were given a cold plate of piece of cheese some pepperami cucuber tomatoe,couple of pieces of bread and a kiwi fruit each,just a token gesture really was ok,on arrival to room found a dead bat in our room in lounge area,reported it to reception and porter cautiously removed it whensure it was dead.this was a little dissapointing becouse if room had of been cleaned properly prior to our arrival it would of been noticed.now on to positives food really good all week ,good breakfast choice,also good choice for evening meals ,staff were really friendly,pool a spa area were ok ,pool colder than would of liked,but sauna a steam room both good,great real fire feature in lobby area,reception.we had a 2 bedroom apartment,we were half board basis,rooms could of done with tea a coffee making facilities though,rooms were of decent standard,overall take the bat out of the equation we would go back,food were better than we had 3 years ago in rauris austria, with a little lick of paint here and there would make a difference.if you have booked to go to guinness you will have a good holiday.also worth mentioning is the bridge shop supermarket located on route to gondala were bansko royal towers is,good choice of produce at fair prices,thanx mario for that.!

Room Tip: higher rooms have good views of lobby area,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Arrived at 2am from travelling, friendly staff on arrival who helped take our cases to our 2 bedroom appt which was very clean modern and spacious. Lifts available in 2 locations with one taking you directly down to the spa area, who provide towling gowns of which you may take to your room, and an exchange sytem is in place so you have a fresh one each time you use the spa, of which is free to use. The steam room and sauna were clean and the pool area of which there were also 3 items of gym equipment was clean. There is also facility for facials, back massages etc at an extra charge. The hotel lobby is wonderful and has a great open fire burning daily, the only down side is that it tend to get the smell of smoke on your clothes. The whole hotel, bar area, games room and dining room were all clean. All the staff that we came across were very helpfull and friendly. The food provided by the hotel unfortunatly was bordering on cold although there were some nice dishes served. Although you could help yourself to drinks at breakfast time, with the evening meal you could not have a drink unless you bought it, not even water.
There was a shuttle bus offered to get to the ski gondola although you could walk it in less than 5 minutes, also to avoid lenghthy ques for the gondola you ideally need to arrive by 8.30am. The skiing experience was absolutly fantastic, with great ski instructures if you take lessons, there are great views to be had

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle and some cups if you like a morning cuppa
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J0b_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have just returned from a week’s stay here. I was very skeptical with regards to the previous reviews but I was assured by the travel agent that things were different now. I am happy to say that the travel agent was right. The hotel has an amazing lobby with a great fire place in the middle and even has its own ski rental shop. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was very spacious and slept 6 comfortably. The skiing was good too but the black run can be challenging in a white out! (You have to get up early to avoid the queues at the gondola) ENJOY

Room Tip: ask to be close to the lift, obviously the higher the level the better... we were on level 4 and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank British32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.4 mi away
MPM Hotel Sport Bansko
MPM Hotel Sport Bansko
#9 of 95 in Bansko
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strazhite Hotel
Strazhite Hotel
#10 of 95 in Bansko
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
LION Hotel  Bansko
LION Hotel Bansko
#8 of 95 in Bansko
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MPM Hotel Guinness Bansko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MPM Hotel Guinness Bansko

Property: MPM Hotel Guinness Bansko
Address: Yavor str., Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MPM Hotel Guinness Bansko 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern MPM Hotel GUINNESS is situated in a serene and quiet area only 200 m. from the Gondola lift. Comprises of 120 spacious and stylishly decorated studios and apartments with magnificent views of the surrounding mountain and ski runs. The hotel offers an elegant restaurant, authentic Bulgarian tavern (Mehana) and an unique atrium lobby. The spa areas features heated swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, massage and a large number of treatments. A modern, 100-seat, conference hall is also available. The open air parking lot is free of charge for the hotel guests and the heated garage is subject to a local charge. The hotel offers also free Wi-Fi in the public areas, game hall, billiard and table tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your MPM Hotel Guinness Bansko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guinness Hotel Bansko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing