We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Hotel Avalon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Avalon
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is our 3rd year with James, Vanya and team at the Avalon and we will keep coming back. The rooms are basic, but comfortable, clean, warm with plenty of hot water. That fits with the star rating for the hotel. But the rest, as many people comment is all 5 star. James has a wonderful approach with our children and with all children. The bar/reception area becomes the heart for the après ski, where you get to meet other people, many of whom are regulars at the Avalon. The curries are wonderful and if in Bansko get booked in. Had my first massage this year, excellent and very good VFM. James is passionate about making your stay as good as he and Team Avalon can. His honesty is refreshing and if you want to know what the snow conditions are really like you can trust his blog on the various sites. As Bansko develops and seeks ways to exploit the tourist season ( not all of our experiences of Bansko as a place were great this year) James and Vanya will always provide you with a warm, genuine and honest welcome. Truly 'awesome'.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0707NickJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here last week with a group of friends and had the most lovely time. James and Vanya are excellent hosts, with a welcoming smile and lovely treats on the bar. They are very knowledgeable about the local area and very willing to help in any way.Thursday night is curry night and the food was great so make sure you book that before you go. Thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time my husband Bruce and our friends have stayed at The Avalon and once again we weren't disappointed. James and Vanya have made the hotel a home from home experience. As hosts they are welcoming, attentive and have a great sense of humour!!
The hotel is a good walk from the Gondola towards the Old Town area but this helps to give you the authentic feel of old Bansko.
The food is simple but great and plenty of it.
A lovely place to return to after a hard day skiing (and the massages are to die for!)
Thanks to all at The Avalon that make our stay so worthwhile again. The Souths

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a memorable week at the resort and Avalon Hotel!Comfortable and clean rooms! The hotel offers sauna and jacuzzi! The owners are lovely!The staff are very friendly!We had a good time and we will be back next year!We highly recommended it!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank cvetelina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have just returned from a half-term skiing holiday and stayed at Hotel Avalon. This was our first stay at the hotel but have used the facilities in the past. The wonderfully friendly service of James, Vania and the rest of the staff made us feel like old friends.
We had a room on the top floor (3rd) with views of the mountains over the tops of the local houses and our two teenage sons were on the 2nd floor. We never wanted for anything and the homemade curry night buffets (Thurs & Fri) were better than our local Indian.
This may be a two star hotel but don't be fooled into thinking you'll get a low grade hotel. It is homely with freshly made biscuits or cake each afternoon and a pleasant bar area. There is only a 15 mins max walk up to the gondola, although there is transport from the hotel at 1 Lev per person (less than 50p).
We will be booking again for next year!!
Thanks James & Vania and staff for your hospitality & Nick says "Blagodarya ti mnogo!"

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank JohnM2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryram, Owner at Hotel Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Hi John,

loved having you guys to stay, hope to see you again in 2015! Beshay mi mnogo priatno!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

James and his wife are excellent hosts. The hotel has everything you need, clean, friendly and close to the slopes for skiing. There is a relaxed atmosphere in the bar and the food is out of this world. Stayed here twice and will definitely return here next time I visit Bansko

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heys75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Avalon is a two stars Hotel and you only pay for the two stars! But you must be ready to meet five stars service and five stars friendliness. The only answers to your questions or needs was a smile and true interest and a sentence starting with "Thats easy...".
Nice spacius rooms not with new furniture but very comfortable beds which means a lot more.
We are allready looking forward to staying at the Avalon next year.
Thank you James and Vania and all staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claes K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryram, Owner at Hotel Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Hi Claes,

loved having you guys to stay, see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.4 mi away
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Pirin River Ski & Spa
#2 of 95 in Bansko
304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#5 of 95 in Bansko
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
0.4 mi away
Rahoff Hotel
Rahoff Hotel
#10 of 95 in Bansko
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avalon

Address: El Tepe 4, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bansko
#4 Family Hotel in Bansko
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bansko
Price Range: $55 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Avalon 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel is run by an English/Bulgarian family. Based in a quiet residential part of Bansko with great views of the Pirin Mountains, we are just a short walk from the heart of Bansko's old town and the start of the new state of the art ski lift. Family Rooms: We have 4 family rooms, all family rooms have cable TV, fridge, balcony and en-suite bathroom. Our Family rooms have bunk beds and child beds as well as a double bed in an adjoining room; thus can sleep 4 or 5 people. Junior Suites: We have two junior suites with a double bed, balconies, cable TV, en-suite bathroom and great mountain views. Doubles: We have two double rooms on the top floor with great mountain views, double beds, balconies, cable TV and en-suite bathrooms. Twin rooms: We have 5 twin rooms with, cable TV, en-suite bathroom. Triple room: we have one triple room with three beds cable TV, en-suite bathroom. All of our prices include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Avalon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Bansko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing