We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location at Bansko”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel has the best location with the gondola in front. Staff was very helpful, thanks to Stoyan at the reception and Ani at the guest services. Our mattress was very bad, we complained about it to Stoyan, they changed it immediately. Bathroom was clean and new. The hotel has a great spa. If you buy a classical massage of 60 min. they upgrade it to 90 min. massage to hotel guests. Masseuses Angi and Rusalka were real professionals.

Room Tip: We stayed at 130, the corner room at third floor. It was very close to the lift and had more windows...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cignoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.
We are pleased to read that our staff managed to respond succesfully to your needs and expectations.
We will definitely share your valuable comments with the enitre team and especially with those ones mentioning on your note.
We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the beautiful Balkan Mountains.

Best Regards,

A. Manos
/General Manager/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 864 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a day... Realy fantastic interior... Staff was very friendly and nice... Lounge bar is fabulous... Prices were like we expected... Scenic view... Had a realy nice afternoon there... Recommendation definitely!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleksandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your positive comment posted recently on Trip Advisor.
It gives us grate pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your short stay with us.
We are glad that you recommend us and we are already looking forward to have you again as our guest for a longer stay.

Best Regards,

A. Manos
/General Manager/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Kempinski Grand Arena is located directly on the slope of Banski ski area, next to gondola. Ski in, ski out.

It's a nice, neatly furnished hotel with spacious rooms. Mine had mountain view and two balconies. Full of light and really comfortable.

Hotel restaurants are good, providing you with the right level of intimacy despite buffet dinners. At breakfast I couldn't help to notice messy tables at 10:00 and guests struggling to get a clean and prepared place. Room for improvement here. Staff is reasonably helpful and friendly, mostly great.

Piano Bar is pretty cool, yet on Friday night it was covered in smoke despite official smoking ban and a big "smoking prohibited" sign. Well...

Recommended.

Room Tip: Take a room with mountain view, avoid the road. Rooms starting with 5xy are located above Piano Bar...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fst01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here in Bansko on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to read that your enjoyed the intimacy we have ensured for our guests no matter the kind of Restaurant.
We also very much appreciate your constructive feedback and we have already communicated it accordingly within our hotel team.

Looking forward to welcome you once again at our beautiful property.

Yours sincerely,

A. Manos
/General Manager/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent a week here and had a brilliant time. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, service very good and the hotel was perfectly located to get on the gondolas in the morning, especially being able to use the express lines. Didn't know much about Kempinski hotels before we went but were pleasantly surprised.
Breakfast was decent but the meals were otherwise pretty average. The smoothies and snacks at the pool bar were good options.
Make use of the great spa treatments!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreamandLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor.
We were very happy to read your review, and glad indeed that our services and facilities could exceed your expectations. This is the best reward for our staff that will be provided with your very much appreciated feedback. As regards your comments regarding our meals we have taken the note. Kindly note that apart the Main Restaurant where we organize every evening a different Theme Cuisine Buffet, we have as well a la carte Restaurant options for Italian and Japanese food prepared exclusively by Italian and Asian Chefs on satellite Kitchens in front of our valuable guests.

Looking forward to welcome you in the future

Best Regards,

A. Manos
/General Manager/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our group of 6 keen skiers had never been to Bansko before, but were recommended by other friends and we thoroughly enjoyed it! The resort itself is lovely and the skiing is great. The Kempinski hotel was the cherry on top. From the warm welcome you receive after the long bus transfer, to the lovely staff in the restaurant, the hotel excelled in every way. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, not to mention very clean.
The restaurant itself was quite big, and the food was fantastic. Different theme nights from Italian, Chinese to Bulgarian, and freshly cooked omlettes and eggs at breakfast.
I had no treatments at the spa, but enjoyed relaxing there every day after skiing. I recommend the outdoor hottub and swimming pool for an experience. Also try the steam and snow rooms!
It's very handy having the boot and ski room underneath the hotel so you can just go straight into the hotel.

Overall I would definitely recommend the Kempinski hotel to anyone including families, couples and large groups.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank B27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you very much for posting your experience with us on Trip Advisor.
We are happy to see that you have really enjoyed your stay with us, but most importantly that you have evaluated our food is being indeed on high standards while our staff is dedicated to ensure all services provided exceed our guest expectations. This the absolute reward for all of us here at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena Bansko.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the future once again,

Best Regards,

A. Manos
/General Manager/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The stay was truly excellent. We were given a warm reception when we arrived and given a spacious deluxe room, which was well appointed and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly from the maids to the ski storage room staff. We stayed on a half board basis and the food was on a self service basis. It was always of a good quality, with plenty of choice. I particularly liked the Bulgarian themed evening with music and dancing.
This is the only truly ski in ski out hotel in Bansko and is only a minutes walk to the gondola.
It was my birthday whilst we were away and I was really pleased to see a birthday cake in my room when we got back from skiing that day. I hadn't made the hotel aware and it was a really nice touch. It came with a card from the general manager Athanassios Manos. My wife and I enjoyed the cake with a couple of glasses of champagne.
The spa is superb and we enjoyed several massages over the course of the week. The pool area is a great place to unwind and relax after a day on the slopes.
We will definitely be returning to the Kempinski in the future and would have no hesitation in staying at any of their other hotels.
A fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJBerkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir

It is with grate pleasure to read you kind words of appreciation posted on trip Advisor after your stay with us.
This is indeed the best motivation for the entire hotel team that is striving daily to satisfy our valuable guests like your good self.
Looking forward to welcome you next time that your travels bring you to the Balkan Mountains.

Yours sincerely,

A. Manos
/General Manager/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here on a recent ski trip to Bansko and was very impressed. Convience for the gondala is second to none and it's nice being able to ski all the way down the mountain along the ski road (blue 1/1a) pretty much straight into the boot room!

The spa is truly the gem of the hotel with a hamman, aroma steam room, Finish sauna, bio-sauna and even a snow room! Great for unwinding and resting your muscles after a day on the slopes rounded off with a little swim and jacuzzi (there are both indoor and outdoor pools and jacuzzi's which were a gloriously warm temperature). How lovely to sit in a steaming hot jacuzzi surrounded by snow with a cup of tea in hand in a pretty little cup and saucer or a smoothie from the vitamin bar! Pampering perfection! Use of these facilties are all included in your room price so you just have to pay at the spa if you want any treatments. I treated myself to a pedicure after a week in ski boots at the end of the trip and thought it was a little expensive at the equalivent of £30-35 GBP but was very impressed to see that they use exclusively OPI nail products for every step of the process (unusual in London as these are expensive) so I was impressed and very pleased with the outcome.

The breakfast buffet offers a great range so you won't get bored and i highly recommend booking a table where you can watch the chefs cook at the grill in front of you in the Sushi bar (i.e. tepenyaki (sp?)) - great fun!

My only minor complaint was that it was very hot throughout in the hotel but i am a warm blooded person naturally and the rest of my family were nice and toasty so can't really complain too much. Would come back again and so worth it for the gondola VIP pass!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteLondonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHGA, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you for posting your review at Trip Advisor. We are happy to see that your enjoyed your stay with us and it will give us enormous pleasure to be able to offer you our hospitality once again here in Bansko at our beautiful property.

Looking forward to welcoming you.

Best Regards,

A. Manos
/General Manager/

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
1.2 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
0.6 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Pirin River Ski & Spa
#1 of 95 in Bansko
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena

Address: Pirin Street 96, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bansko
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bansko
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bansko
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bansko
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bansko
#2 Spa Hotel in Bansko
Price Range: $81 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether visiting Bansko for business or leisure purposes, Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena is the ideal base from which to work or explore all that the town has to offer. Located at the footsteps of the Pirin Mountains, the luxury hotel is situated right next to the Gondola lift station that takes you all the way up to highest slopes, half pipes and snowboard facilities. The shopping and cultural district of Bansko is also easily accessible within walking distance from the 5 stars hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Bansko
Kempinski Resort Grand Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing