We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Very good location in Bansko, especially if you are there for ski. The Hotel is spacious with large rooms and very good spa area (treatments are cheap and the service is very good)The food is excellent, especially the italian restaurant, even if a bit on the expensive side. For the skiers, the hotel is ski-in, ski-out (under good ski conditions) and the ski room door opens in front of the gondola.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of the ski lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verokaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about our hotel.

We are happy to learn that you are satisfied with location of our hotel, the size of our rooms, the SPA with their exclusive treatments and the quality of our restaurants.
Regarding our Menu prices kindly note that they are defined based on the principle of 'value for money' given the absolute use of very fresh and extremely high quality of products in all dishes. Additionally, and in order to ensure different dining options available for our valuable guests, we offer at the same restaurant special weekly set menus at very competitive prices.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back many more times and reassure you a wonderful ‘Kempinski Experience’.


Best regards,

Orlando Stefani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    129
    43
    10
    4
See reviews for
290
283
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bulgaria
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Very nice hotel, nice touch in every detail. a few steps from the ski lift with VIP entrance to the gondola. The rooms are spacious and bathroom has bathtube and shower separatly which is very convinient. The breakfast is full and exellent and the service is just superb. The hotel has a coverd garage and parking places right from the main entrance so if you plan to come by car you have enough places to park it. Unfortunatelly it costs EUR3 for the out-side parking plots and EUR5 for the covered garage. The hotel offers also an exellent spa center with in-door and out-door swiming pools, jakuzzi - also two in and out, sauna, steam room, hammam, aroma steam room, massage service and... something very nice - a snow room :) The only down thing is that the spa center is too small to the number of guests and somethimes there is no enough place to enjoy it. All and all totally recomendable.

Room Tip: take a room with mountain view - it is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJ_INT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive and consecutive feedback regarding your stay.

We are also very proud of our exclusive VIP ski passes to the gondola, the spacious rooms and the whole SPA area of over 1500m2, just with all features described of yours. Our unique snow room is ensuring our guests all-year-long with the winter flair to cool down after the blistering sauna time.
Allow me to draw your attention to the fact that we do charge for the parking, but the same time we ensure a 24-hours secured place for our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel and would like to assure you of our best personal attention to your future stays at the Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena Bansko.


Best regards,

Orlando Stefani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

After I read the review of some other guests, I want to say mine too.

I staid at Kempinski for a weekend last winter, it was me my wife and my 4 years daughter.

First impression is of a good quality hotel, even if the door men before the welcome it asks you to move your car.
The atmosphere was cold; the temperature was cold as well. The room was OK but nothing more than a new 4star in Bansko.
Food taste of nothing, it was to be feed not to enjoy it. Swimming pool was not bad in dimensions but the water was very cold, the fact that it was allowed (or tolerated) to bring beverages from the bar around the Jacuzzi pool, it was always full with cup of tea or empty/half empty glasses, so dirty.
Kids were not allowed at the a la card restaurant, so we have been refused to eat at the Italian one.
Kids were not allowed at the lobby area, so we have been emigrated to second floor where the waiter comes to you once in a while, this area looks like an old dirty hotel with an empty not functioned bar at the corner and every time you want to order any think you have to go down the stairs order and up again.
Yes it’s true they take and store your skies, but, who does not.

Over all, my advice is that: If you book the hotel based on stars no matter what service they offer you will be very welcomed to spend your money, otherwise go someone else and enjoy you holidays.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is one of the best Kempinski hotel I've seen- rooms are big,even huge,new,great bathrooms,a lot of space.The hotel has a nice spa area-the pool is nice,but the water is not hot and during the winter it will not be very cool.Otherwise the sauna,turkish hamman etc are very good,they have also two jacuuzi-one indoor and one outdoor-the water is hot and good.
For people with kids, there is a nice kid center in the hotel (free of charge),there is a lady taking care of the kids,the problem is the center is open until 6 PM and even by request they do not accept let you stay more even if the parent is with the kid....which is stupid.
The hotel has great breakfast-a real 5 star!Many choice,very good products,the breakfast is one of the best I've seen.The thing that I didn't like was the mediteraneen restaurant (or italien) on the first floor where we went for diner- it was extremply expensive, the service was very poor,even if only two tables were busy,and the food wasn't good neither.So,my advise is to go out for diner-Bansko is full of good,very tipical restaurants,half the price (and more) of the hotel.
As global conclusion, I would definetely recommend this hotel.Have a nice stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elena123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your comments at Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you have enjoyed our Hotel in general and specifically our spacious rooms, the SPA with its facilities, the Kids Club and the breakfast. Kindly note that our Kids Club is indeed operating until 6 PM at the moment, but upon request we are more than happy to arrange a baby sitter at a surcharge for your convenience during the evening.
Moreover, our unique Show Kitchen Area at our Mediterranean Restaurant prepares in front of the guests apart the menu items also tailored made dishes for guests with special food requests from other hotel areas as well.
Therefore, I am positive that during your next visit at our Come Prima Restaurant, your experience will fit ideally your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena in your next trip to Bansko.

Sincerely yours,

Orlando Stefani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have been at Kempinski hotel on January 2011, with my husband and child of 5 years old. The first impression it was fantastic. The hotel looks amazing. We arrive on late afternoon and after accommodation at the room, which was with lot of space and good furnished, we went to the restaurant. We went at the restaurant ala carte to have dinner. But when we went there, the person at the door says to us that is not permitted to sit with the children unless they were 6 years old. We feel very surprised and angry at the same time. We went at the buffet restaurant where there is a fix price for each person (25 euro).
The next day we went at the swimming pool area. It looks good, but it was cold, and the water it was cold too. The don't offer swimming wings for children and we have to buy at the hotel shop for 15 euro, very inconvenience price. At night after dinner we try to stay at the piano bar, when a young lady came to us and says that is not permitted to stay there with our 5 years old child but we have to go upstairs at the second floor.
So, I could recommended this hotel for couples without children or at least with big children.
At this hotel the children under 6 year are not permitted

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gabrielapr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your consecutive feedback from the previous winter season and we are delighted you liked our rooms and the hotel in general.

Kempinski Grand Arena Bansko is very much children oriented ensuring convenience for the parents, as for instance with our Kids’ Club, Kids’ menus and all respective discounts applied for children.
Moreover, the Piano Bar (operating from 22:00 till 02:00) as per Bulgarian law is strictly accessible to adults given the age restriction on both smoking and alcoholic beverages consumption.
Regarding the SPA we can inform you that our pools are continuously and automatically regulated in the winter to indoor 28C and outdoor 32C. We do have a few spare swimming wings and swimming boards available that we can offer for free, in case not already given to someone, but if you need to purchase, we sell them for BGN 15,- ( EUR 7,6) .

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again this upcoming season and if you wish during the evening to enjoy the Piano Bar, we are more than pleased to arrange a nanny during this time.

Best Regards from Bansko,

Orlando Stefani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Typical Bulgarian hospitality, the first thing you notice are the bald and fat mafioso guys, in black t-shirts and a suit that are to be the hotel security. In a five star-hotel you should not even notice that security guys exists... further more the wrong information during check-in produced a major hassle during the dinner (we as a group of 30 people had booked HB and they changed the restaurant without letting us know that it is an a la cart restaurant with a reservation upfront). The restaurant manager was the worst such manager I have ever seen. Not helpful and arrogant which gave the moral right to the waiters to behave in the same way. total mess and we gave up on the dessert....After that we decided to complain and met with the hotel manager on duty (Mateus)...he never offered to compensate in any way our disappointment and simply said he can not intervene in the job of the restaurant manager....in summary it spoiled our evening. In the end I can just say the Kempinski in Bansko, does not reserve the 5 stars in no way because of the terrible service we received there and average food. My recommendation is Katarino Spa, 4 star though, but great food and kind people ready to help and assist in any time.

Room Tip: All rooms are not quiet because of the blaster walls between the rooms, so if somebody takes a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jovan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for your constructive feedback on our product and services. I am really sorry to see that you have been disappointed with us. In fact, I would like to let you know that all of us here at the Kempinski Grand Arena Bansko daily strive to achieve a high level of satisfaction for all of our guests. It is more than evident that our hotel dealt with a high occupancy during the period of your stay and therefore some changes occurred to the usual flow of services which unfortunately reflected in a different way to some of our guests.

I would like personally to profusely apologize for the experience you have had and assure you that your valuable information has been taken into further account.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Kempinski Grand Arena Bansko in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Orlando Stefani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena is for sure the number one place for relaxation and recreation in Bulgaria! The hotel has the BEST location and the best choice of restaurants and bars! It offers everything one could ever wish for - fresh mountain air, 3 pools, amazing Spa and even tennis courts, but the BIGGEST advantage of Kempinski is the friendliest and most helpful staff!
I sincerely recommend this hotel as it is not only my personal favourite, but also all my friends` first choice for every vacation! Only this summer we went there 6 times so this is a truely objective opinion!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsvetelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Tsvetelina,

Thank you very much for the great comments you have shared on Trip Advisor. Please be assured that we will share it with the rest of the team as nothing can be more motivating than our guests' comments.

We are very happy to read that our service was up to your expectations and we are thrilled to find out that you have enjoyed all of your stays with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kempinski Grand Arena in your next trip to Bansko.

Warm Regards,

Orlando Stefani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.6 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 95 in Bansko
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
1.2 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Pirin River Ski & Spa
#1 of 95 in Bansko
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena

Property: Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena
Address: Pirin Street 96, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bansko
#1 Family Hotel in Bansko
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bansko
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bansko
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bansko
#2 Spa Hotel in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether visiting Bansko for business or leisure purposes, Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena is the ideal base from which to work or explore all that the town has to offer. Located at the footsteps of the Pirin Mountains, the luxury hotel is situated right next to the Gondola lift station that takes you all the way up to highest slopes, half pipes and snowboard facilities. The shopping and cultural district of Bansko is also easily accessible within walking distance from the 5 stars hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Grand Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Bansko
Kempinski Resort Grand Arena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing