We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MPM Hotel Sport Bansko
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Recently stayed at the 4 star hotel for a week. The location is superb for skiers, right on the slope leading to the gondola which elevates skiers to the ski area, about a 20 min. ride. The hotel is in excellent condition, staff very courteous and helpful, there is a wonderful spa, fireplaces in various public areas, free internet in the lobby, the room was large with a view to the mountain. Food was wonderful, we had a half board arrangement. There is a ski room where skis and boots are kept overnight. All in all was a wonderful experience and definitely a hotel to return to. The town Bansko itself is lively with pubs and restaurants, as well as tens of ski equipment shops. Both the town and the hotel are highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    51
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
52
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel has the ideal location for skiers- just opposite the gondola lift and next to Kempinski hotel. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are new, very clean and spacious, elegant and nicely decorated with a breathtaking view!.Breakfast is very good and the hotel offers many facilities such as ski rental, spa treatments, nice bar with a big fireplace, Irish pub and also it's a few minutes walk to the centre and the shops of Bansko. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to enjoy skiing and have a great time in Bansko!

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms facing the gondola lift-fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Amalia-Dimitris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having stayed in Bulgaria before at a "4*" that really wasn't, I was pleased to see that this met normal international 4* standards. It's not the best 4* in the world, but it's definitely not the worst.

Rooms are a decent size, modern, clean, with the facilities you'd expect-minibar, large bed, good bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful but you sometimes had to work to catch their attention. Two drawbacks were that the rooms aren't individually temperature controlled and are very warm, and in my room noise from the karaoke bar, but to be honest that finished at 1am so was not a big issue.

The food at breakfast was ok, a wide range of stuff, not particularly high quality but lots of variety so you could always find something. In the nights though the food was much better than I expected. Buffet style, with plenty of variety there was always something tasty. I'd say stick to the local pork and chicken stews, wild mushroom rices (really good), stuffed peppers, massive choice of interesting salads etc. The attempts at western european food didn't look appetising but were easily ignored as there was plenty of good local hearty stuff.

The spa was good, bit noisy with families using it but still a nice, modern, good looking facility. A drawback that it is a genuine 4* is that massage prices are higher than they would be in most other hotels in resort. You can't have the penny and the bun, unless you can be bothered to leave the hotel for a massage, in which case you can!

The best thing however as many have said is the location-the 2nd best in Bansko after the considerably more expensive Kempinski, you can ski to the Gondola in a couple of minutes and back to the hotel off the easy blue piste.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the karaoke bar if you are likely to be going to bed before 1am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Iestyn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very good location if you are a skier.The location is perfect to use the gondola lift.The rooms are comfortable with good breakfast. Spa is excellent. Friendly staff. There is a ski shop/rental with good ski teachers. The restaurant is good too, but just in front of the Sport hotel there is tavern with tasty meals-in a good price.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better- not noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lili020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week at Christmas. Hotel in great spot for the gondola, as mentioned in other reviews. Room was lovely, restaurant good...albeit a little repetitive, but we ate out a couple evenings anyway. Spa treatments heavenly!
The only thing I have to critisize is the noise from the kareoke downstairs...late at night....if only they could've turned it down a tad! HOWEVER...would use this hotel again, just take earplugs!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank enidblyton_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had an unfortunate start to our visit, due to the original hotel we booked cancelling our reservation without telling us (green life - avoid). After stopping on a pull out bed in a family members apartment, we managed to book two nights in a junior suite at this hotel. First impressions were excellent, foyer is very smart. Staff were helpful and we booked in with no dramas. The hotel has a fabulous location, right next to the gondola and a 5 minute walk from lots of bars and restaurants. The room was fantastic. Comfy bed, nicely decorated and very large. The bathroom was modern and nicely decorated. The breakfast was good, a large range of different food so you should find something! The spa is free to use, you only have to pay for treatments. The spa itself is lovely, only criticism is the pool was far too cold, but someone told me this is how they like it in Bulgaria. The price for the room was also very reasonable considering the quality of the hotel. Would definitely visit again if in Bansko, although that is highly unlikely!

Room Tip: Junior suite was good, cannot vouch for other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vikingmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here over the new years holiday, and expected more given the other reviews. MPM Sport has ONE good thing going for it: location. It's right near the ski lift. Okay, now on to the average:
1) Spa Centre. The mens changing area is a mess. Not enough lockers, no keys, and the area was flooded with dirty water. I almost slipped as I entered! They never mop/clean the spa floor. Seems best for kids/families, as the accoustics are poor, so it easily becomes noisy anyway (and not very relaxing) when there are many people. Otherwise, the spa was reasonable
2) Rooms. They lied on room sizes on booking.com - there is no junior suite. There are standard double rooms with different configurations. The "junior suite" is also NOT 40sqm, its 30sqm. Even the hotel manager told me that. So, don't pay more - get the standard double. Rooms also had very little amenities: poor bath items, no slippers, no robe, no kettle, no glasses, no tea/coffee, no iron, etc. I DID get these items after asking, however.
3) Breakfast. Totally average. What can you say, when the juice is fake? I always find that as a good overall quality indicator.
4) Ski store. Overpriced - go down the street for much better deals on ski rental.
5) Irish pub. Average again. Reasonable priced Guinness, but food is sub-par. Service was fine, though.

Overall - pretty average! Not up to 4-star international standards, however.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveInCEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.6 mi away
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Pirin River Ski & Spa
#1 of 96 in Bansko
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 96 in Bansko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Astera Bansko Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
MPM Hotel Guinness Bansko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MPM Hotel Sport Bansko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MPM Hotel Sport Bansko

Property: MPM Hotel Sport Bansko
Address: Pirin Street | Opposite the Gondola lift and ski-runs starting at the hotel, Bansko, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MPM Hotel Sport Bansko 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MPM Hotel Sport Bansko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing