We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay-the hotel was not as good as we expected to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pirin River Ski & Spa
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay-the hotel was not as good as we expected to be”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed 3 days before Christmas booking the hotel because of the good comments we read at tripadvisor booking.com.The rooms were large and comfortable,the hotel was 5 minutes by car to gondola lifts.We were satisfied with the staff,friendly and happy,totally disappointed with the small lobby,contained only 5 tables and the spa area.Breakfast contained fresh bread, bad coffee,variety of cheese and ham ,not fresh sweets.The woods for the fireplace had to be paid.We do not think that the hotel is as good as kempinski ,premier,and katarino which are the best spa hotels at bansko with very good services.It must not be at the fist place of bansko hotels.

Room Tip: Good hotel when traveling for ski,bad hotel when traveling for spa and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Georgia_Dimitris79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    32
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
154
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2012

By all means, if you kids, bring them along, this apart hotel is very accomodating for kids as well as to an adults. The services provided are very fast and very considerate. One day, there is no electrical power supply to unit due to testing and commisioning building around Bansko, not even 10 ten minutes , the reception guy send us a log to burn as we kids and the temperature are like 5 celcius. Thanks. As we are muslim, its quite difficult eat in the restaurant as the meat (chicken & beef) are not slaughtered by Muslim(.i.e Halal Food), in a way we are glad the Pirin River Apart Hotel are a well equipped kitchen with utensil provided. Breakfast are great. Thanks to Mr Yaro & wife and all the Pirin River staff. We sure gonna recommend your Aparthotel to our Malaysian friends.Not forgetting the price for the room are nice.Lastly, transportation like transit van provided to destination as a reasonable price

Room Tip: All rooms are great here, facing to the natural environment. Not that you wake ut in the morning as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawi7591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Pririn River at beginning of September with our two kids - our 2 year toddler and a 5 months old baby. The place is simply great for kids and probably one of the best family hotels we have stayed at in Bulgaria. My wife is a New Zealander and can be quite fussy when it comes to kids accommodation in Europe but this place ticked all the boxes The room on the second floor where we stayed was spacious and easily accommodated two cods. It had a new modern furniture and kitchen was fully equipped everything you need (although we rarely used it.) The room was very clean and well maintained. The internal yard of the hotel has plenty of kid's toys and a lot of space for them to run around. The staff at the hotel is also very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant is convenient and great value. They will prepare special meals for the kids on request and will bring them to our room which was very convenient late in the evenings. My daughter loved their mixed grill! Also - do not miss their breakfast- the home baked local cakes are fantastic! The hotel is also very well located. It is 10 min walk to the ski area and 15-20 min to the old town centre. Overall, if you are looking for a family retreat in Bansko, this is a great choice and hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikolaskolev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Really excellent hotel in every way. Rooms delightful and furnished to very high standard. Staff friendly,helpful and efficient. Really impressed by first class location and facilities at very reasonable cost. Will certainly stay at this hotel in future visits to Bansko which is a lovely place to visit in summer in addition to attraction as Ski Resort.

Room Tip: Choose room with fire place in winter and as for choice of bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterstanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Where does one go very late season and somewhere in the mountains in Bulgaria??
Well Bansko was my choice and with this the Pirin River Spa Hotel. Also along in tow came my teenage son so facilities of the right kind was important. And there this Hotel scored well. We had an indoor swimming pool in the morning to ourselves, a fitness room alongside the Sauna and Steam bath. I really could not fault these facilities although when the Hotel is full it could get rather crowded I suppose.
The Room, a one bedroom apartment the living room settee converts in a comfy sleeping arrangement. It was clean, well equipped with a view into the courtyard.
So, what where the minuses. Well, some eye for detail is lacking and there is a dire need for some kind of green fingers round the place. The restaurant is, well plain and not much happening there apart of breakfast. Probably not helped by a rather unimaginative offer of 10% off on your first visit. If that is all management can come-up with to entice clients then no wonder the place is empty. Even out of season there are some really nice places open and vying for business. The Victoria is one (excellent) and for drinks the Pirin75 but that is another story for another time.
All in all the place is worthy a stay even out of season, if the weather is good even better but lets just say a good long weekend (3 days), friendly staff, good facilities but in some areas can do better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Salve
Am stat la Pirin River ski & spa hotel doua nopti la sfarsit de august
Camere curate, mancare foarte buna si la pret rezonabil, foarte amabili mai ales receptionerul

Recomand cu placere

Apartments are great in every way! Clean, comfortable with excellent set kitchen. The staff and the owners are very nice and helpful people. The food is good and cheap.

Paul

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAFIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was very pleased with the condition of the hotel and friendliness of the personnel and hotel staff. I appreciated the cleanliness in the hotel rooms and generally the variety and quality meals, friendly staff and opening hotel personnel to meet customer wishes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VirgilG446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bansko hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Luxury Mountain Resort, Bansko
1.1 mi away
Saint George Palace
Saint George Palace
#4 of 96 in Bansko
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regnum Bansko Apart Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Elegant Hotel
Elegant Hotel
#10 of 96 in Bansko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Ivan Rilski - Hotel, SPA & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Lucky Bansko Aparthotel SPA & Relax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pirin River Ski & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirin River Ski & Spa

Property: Pirin River Ski & Spa
Address: Ikonom K. Chuchulayn 74-78, Bansko 2770, Bulgaria (Formerly Pirin Rise Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Blagoevgrad Province > Bansko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 96 Hotels in Bansko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirin River Ski & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pirin River Ski and Spa is TripAdvisor’s Travellers’ Choice 2015 Winner in three categories - Best Service – number one hotel in Bulgaria, Family (number one hotel in Bansko, number two hotel in Bulgaria) and Bargain (number two hotel in Bansko, number three hotel in Bulgaria). Many wonder – WHY ARE WE THE BEST? Actually, the answer is very simple – we care about our guests and we love what we do. That is why all of us at Pirin River Ski & Spa always do our best to make sure that our guests will have fabulous, fun and carefree holidays. We think that our guests are the ones that can best describe our property. This is what they say.... “…We spent 9 days and every day was special…” “…Amazing service! The front desk was very nice, patient and helpful...” “…If star ratings were awarded on service alone then this hotel would be a 5*…” “…All staff speak English amongst many other languages…” “…On arrival, we were immediately impressed with the hotel and apartment. Both were 'high spec', spotless and modern, yet retaining the traditional Bulgarian style for authenticity…” “…We were pleasantly surprised by the gorgeous room we had with a balcony and a view of the mountains. The living / kitchen area is spotlessly clean with a comfy corner couch, a fireplace, dining table, tv and all utensils and cooking facilities you could need. The bed was comfy and there was plenty of storage and a safe. The bathroom again was spotlessly clean…” “…TV stations with dozens of channels worldwide, Internet connection (WiFi) that was awesome and fast…” “…The Spa is really well looked after, 2 saunas, a turkish bath, a nice size pool and a jacuzzi is what you would expect to find at a 5 star hotel...” “…The pool is nice and both our girls loved it. It was always clean, warm enough (in most of the days it had 31-32 degrees C…” “…Massage and treatments were lovely and very good value!...” “…The food.. I have never eaten better food for that money! brilliant!...” “…The breakfasts were really fantastic! A really substantial variety of food to eat. The fresh fruit salads were really good. The eggs and bacon and chocolate pancakes were really great too….” “…Lots of variety with meals and plenty of fruit and vegetables. We were a varied bunch but there was plenty of choice for us all. We've always gone self-catering before but we will certainly be back half board again in this hotel…” “…The hotel has a cozy bar serving amazing hot chocolate and other drinks - the 2 Lev (65p?) bottles of local beer are awesome…” “…The bar man was really lovely too, very friendly and made terrific cocktails…” “…One of the real selling points for this hotel is that you can get your lift pass and equipment at the hotel! If the equipment you want is not available at the hotel then they will arrange it for you with other shops in the town, they were really accommodating to us…” “…There is a shuttle bus from the hotel to the gondola, and we never waited more than 5 minutes for the driver to appear. Perfect with the kids. I didn't have to carry 2 sets of skis far at all!...” “…The hotel organised our transfers to and from Sofia and the drivers were friendly and punctual, and the cars very comfortable…” “…An advantage for us was also the parking…” “…Situated half way between the gondola and the old town it is in a perfect location…” “…I liked the location as it was very quiet, not on a main road or next to any night clubs - however a very short walk to those!...” “…Everything was so easy . We didn't leave the hotel except to ski…” “…You really get there, for a reasonable price, significant utility, quality, simplicity... and a warm atmosphere…” What should we say? Fantastic description! A big THANK YOU to all of you for your kind words! You all are the reason why we love what we do… and an inspiration for us to continue improving… You have not been in Pirin River Ski & Spa yet? Well, maybe it is time for you to visit and write your own story about Pirin River Ski & Spa...right here on TripAdvisor... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pirin River Ski & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing