We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evelina Palace
Nearby Hotels
$57
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rahoff Hotel(Bansko)(Great Value!)
$34
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saint George Palace(Bansko)(Great Value!)
$42
$32
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elitsa Hotel(Bansko)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$567
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mura Hotel(Bansko)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tanne(Bansko)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
6
15
6
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
15
6
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplace to stayclean roomsgymreceptionshuttlegondola
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 36 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I stayed at the Evelina Palace for a week's skiing holiday. The hotel was nice, rooms reasonably comfortable. Only ever ate breakfast there, whihc was pretty much teh usual continental experience. Staff were polite but not over friendly, very little smiling going on (but that may be a Bulagarian thing!).

If you are thinking of skiing in Bansko then my advice would be DON'T! the quesues for the gondola even if you get there early, are horrendous! Its nothing to queue for an hour, met people that had queued for 2 hours! Too many apartments have been built in Bansko meaning too many people trying to get up onto the mountain. When you get on the mountain the quesues for the smaller lifts are really bad. The lift operators need the sack as they just stand around whilst people push in, cheat the queues etc. The greeks are the worst but everyone was at it in the end and it was a real free for all, people walking over your skis etc.

If you've already booked then here are my thoughts you need to catch the first bus to the gondola. you will still queue for about an hour. Better if you can get a taxi (get the number from the crystal rep, theri taxis are about 30% of other taxis, make sure their fare counter is switched on and you can see it!). Take teh taxi to the top of teh gondola, you'll miss the inital queuing but within an hour or so the queues on teh mountain will be significant. Good luck, you'll need it!

I'd recommned the hotel but not the resort!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darrencymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at the Evelina Palace as part of a ski-ing package and as i had never been ski-ing before i had nothing to compare it with. Family run hotel, with family spending lots of time in the foyer - including the toddlers but were mostly well behaved.

The hotel was basic but clean and well staffed. All facilities were good and it isnt too far from main centre but far enough away to remain nice and quiet at night. We went away with friends and were given rooms next to each other. The hotel consists of a large reception/lounge area, a ground floor bar, which has a roaring open fire and plenty of cosy seating. In the basement is a sports bar, which has music and few pool tables plus more seating. There is a room for internet and a room for putting ski-wear to dry. There is also a fab indoor pool with loungers, gym and sauna. There is also the service of a masseur which you book and pay for at front desk. There's also a lift and 2 sets of stairs, either side the reception.

The rooms were good, usual stuff - TV with plenty of english speaking programmes, supposedly a radio on headboard but we could never work it out. Lots of storage and a balcony, think most balconies overlooked garden. No kettle though. Room was ensuite with shower, but had robes, plenty of fluffy towels and could request slipper things from reception if going to sauna and pool.

Dining was an interesting experience - Served buffet style, food was mostly local dishes with few international additions each morning and night. As a veggie there wasnt a huge selection, lots of meat based dishes - but i didnt starve and quite liked the challenge of working out what things were - things were labelled sort of. My friends however who love alll things English we're unhappy with the food and after looking at the dinner buffet would often eat out later in one of the restaurants and bars that cater for our tastes, of which there were plenty in Bansko itself. The dining room also turns into a restaurant for paying guests at night, and we made mistake of sitting at one of the made-up tables on our first night, only to be moved by waiters to another area where the half-boarders dine. Waiters are there to fetch drinks from bar which we paid for straight away rather than add to bill.
Watch out for the coffee/tea machine in the dining area - the tea is lemon and curdles when you put milk in it, the coffee is so strong you could de-scale a kettle with it.

This hotel is a bit of a walk to the ski-centre, there is a hotel minibus that goes frequently but it was always busy, so we got up for first one of day 08:30 - which means we didnt get much of a lay in, just to get a seat. The first bus back isnt until 3pm so if you leave the slopes early it means walking back in ski-boots - not good (or take your walking boots and store them in hire shop as i did).

In the night there are plenty of pubs and bars in Bankso, even disco's. We however spent most nights in the hotel bar as we were so tired and it was nice in front of the fire. The staff mostly spoke English and were very nice.

The swimming pool and sauna are great after hard day ski-ing and you can go down in your robe rather than have to change at pool/sauna. The pool was fairly quiet during our stay but even with other people around there is lots of room.

On the whole it was a great stay at a good hotel, plenty of British and other tourists in hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pipsy589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews