We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baryakova Tavern

Baryakova Tavern
Ranked #5 of 118 Restaurants in Bansko
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having been to a wide array of different Bulgarian "mehanas" (or taverns, traditional Bulgarian restaurants), this is easily one of the best. My girlfriend specifically sought this out because she had gone a few years ago and had a similar experience.
The food was plentiful and cooked very, very well - had some soup, sach (like a skillet of various meats), the bread was amazing, and overall the atmosphere is very authentic.
The bill was surprisingly inexpensive, even by Bulgarian standards, so that was nice. I had both wine and beer, which again was great.
Highly recommend and I'll definitely be back - I have kept their business card in a safe place so I remember where to go!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    90
    25
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food very very good, a lot of spices, a large wine menu. The portions were very big we couldn't eat it all!! The service was excellent, thanks to the tall guy that took care of us. The environment traditional and very cozy, love the fireplace. Above all it is not expencive at all, unlike other mehanas in Bansko.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DimitraKam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Enjoy a typical Bulgarian folk atmosphere, good meals and salads, while warming up near the fireplace and listening to traditional Bulgarian and popular international music played live.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicko-BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansko, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The food here is great, the setting is wonderful, the bread yum, but the live band never seems to leave you alone. I've been here several, times and the restaurant is great, but every time I go the live band comes to my table a sticks a clarinet in my ear until I leave some kind of tip. I'd be here a lot more often if it wasn't for the rude pushiness of the band. Bummer.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MastaShreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best traditional Bulgarian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It is a traditional Bulgarian tavern. It has very tasty dishes and a big variety on Bulgarian wines. Do not miss the pork wrinkle. It is very well cooked. It is a dish for 2 people. The soups served are very tasty, too. The place is decorated on traditional bulgarian style. Although the place was almost full, the service was very good. It is located on a pathway and it may be difficult to find it. But, if you ask for it, every local knows it. Prices are not expensive. A dinner with main course, salad, starter and wine may charge 10-15 euros per person. It has traditional musicians, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gtsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baryakova Tavern also viewed

Bansko, Blagoevgrad Province
Bansko, Blagoevgrad Province
 
Bansko, Blagoevgrad Province
Bansko, Blagoevgrad Province
 

Been to Baryakova Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing